We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and cheap hotel, close to center, friendly staff, fast wireless internet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diter Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Diter Hotel to your Saves list
Diter Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65, Han Asparuh Str, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 124 Hotels in Sofia
Schoenenbuch
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Small and cheap hotel, close to center, friendly staff, fast wireless internet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Diter Hotel is a small and cheap hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. the rooms are small, but equipped with everything you need. Everything is clean. I found the wireless internet connection to be smooth and fast (a very impoertant criteria for me).
The location is very good as it is in walking distance to town centre. There are plenty of restaurants in the neighbourhood of the hotel.
For taxi drivers the hotel doesn't seem to be easy to find.
I found the breakfast table not fully ready on time as e.g. the bread came 15 minutes later. The offer is small, but sufficient.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
13
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The service in the hotel is amazing
I arrived early and they checked me in with no problem
It was raining so they hand me an umbrella on my way out shopping
Next day my flight was at 6 am so the arranged free car to drive me to airport
That was so unbelievable super
Also they served breakfast just for me in the lobby because was too early for the all together breakfast
I was so delighted from the service
The receptionist were very nice too
If you want to shop it's perfect location
If you love clubbing you are good too
It's big blue house the hotel but I think it's well managed
Looked like the owner took care of many details
Well done
I recommend it if you want to be in center of Sofia

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Diter hotel is neither a new nor refurbished place. It is a low grade and not clean hotel. Showers not speaking of massage gadgets do not work, bedding, chairs, tv set, air conditioning, etc. are old, shabby and disgusting. on the plus side the hotel is on a quiet street of central outskirts. The price we paid and the hotel conditions do not create good value. I am not sure of the hotel market in Bulgaria but the best price I would pay for the hotel based on my experience is US$30 a night.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing the main street. Though the street is quiet, the hotel lights would not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel is situated in an old blue building. The staff is very friendly, the room clean and comfortable and the breakfast good compared to the others we had in Bulgaria. The restaurant is quite good but there is a best restaurant in the next building. The wifi didn't work in the room but only in the common areas.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed here for just 1 night but it was excellent, friendly service, cool a/c and super helpful staf for parking in the small street. I rcommend to call ahead and make sure you have a parking spot before you drive up with a car. Would stay here again in the future!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The staff were brilliant as soon as we arrived, helping us with our bags, happy, smiley and chatty. Giving us all the local information for Sofia, helped us book a car, advised us on places to visit. They were extremely helpful and lovely.

The rooms are large with air con, fridge and a nice bathroom, they are clean too.

The restaurant is nice, the food is good, the staff working there are very nice and chatty too.

Overall this is an awesome place and I would recommend it to anyone - especially if Sofia is a starting point before travelling around Bulgaria. They really show how hospitable the Bulgarian people are.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I can honestly say that I have never been treated so well by the staff of a hotel. Friendly, ready to help, charming....they were all you could wish for from hotel staff. The owner of the hotel was the one driving me to the airport and he told me that he has had the same staff since he started the business - he picks them himself and looks after them - which is very nice to know

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diter Hotel

Address: 65, Han Asparuh Str, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Diter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DITER business hotel is just a few minutes away from government and state institutions, major banks and offices.DITER is the nearest hotel to the European commission and the European Union representative office in Bulgaria. Within walking distance of the National Theatre, the National Palace of Culture and the main shopping street "Vitosha". The Airport is only 15 minutes away by car. The Vitosha Mountain, offering ski and other sports facilities is just 10 km from the hotel. The ideal location makes DITER hotel preferred place for business travelers. Built in the end of 19-th century and now after a complete renovation the building preserves the charm and spirit of the house. Since 1895 it was the residence of Todor G. Vlaykov - Bulgarian writer and politician.The building is a cultural memorial and embodies the charm and spirit of Old Sofia. A special corner dedicated to the memory of Todor G. Vlaykov has been set aside near the reception desk for the benefit of our guests. The name "DITER" holds a special meaning. It is derived from the first letters of the names of the owner` s family. DITER hotel is built on 3 floors. It is equiped with an elevator, free Wi-Fi internet - unlimited use, offers 21 rooms - 7 singles, 6 twins, 6 doubles and 2 suites, 24-hour security and front desk, restaurant with garden, air-conditioned public areas with anti-fire control system and wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Diter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diter Hotel Sofia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diter Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.