We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Anel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Anel to your Saves list
Hotel Anel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Todor Alexandrov blvd., Sofia 1303, Bulgaria (Serdica)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 125 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“I like it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

It is not a big hotel and this is good, because it is quiet. You have there all you need: a swimming pool, sauna, gym, health center, beauty salon, restaurant, bar. My room was very big, never seen in my life such a huge bed. The hotel is located not far from the center of the city, just five- ten minutes of walk, but in the evening it is not a pleasant walk. You'll find not far from the hotel only McDonalds, the main restaurants are situated in the center and other districts of the city. The same for the shops. The hotel dispaly a big collection of paintings et scuptures of local painters, some of them are really good. The live music in the restaurant is not bad too. The breakfast was excellent. The hotel is good for those who go to bed early, but if you want something more active, it's better to go to another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with trip.ru

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    87
    19
    9
    1
See reviews for
25
61
17
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novalja, Croatia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Hotel Anel was our second option because the first four star hotel that we reserved had some technical problems in our room. It was good that we were transferred in a higher class hotel than we reserved, but it was quite disappointing. We were expecting much more from the five star hotel. First of all we parked our car on the street in front of the hotel on the fast road and nobody helped us with our luggage although it was raining! They told us that hotel garage is full. The staff is polite but their english is not so well, some rooms and parts of hotel need to be renovated, for example our room had broken bathtub, and wi-fi was very slow or didn't work. It's a little bit outmoded building. For this amount of money or even less you can afford a lot better hotel in Sofia.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faro
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This hotel is located near the center.
very close to a big shopping area so you can walk there and back and be away from the more expensive shops in central sofia
rooms are a bit old fashion but good size and the staff of the hotel are all very nice and friendly
the hotel has a service car that can provide you a private/excellent service to drive you around sofia or oorganize anything you need.
will definately stay here again on my next trip

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I used to stay here quite often and think it is a great place. I once found a big bag of coke and one of weed hidden in my room. Took me 10 minutes to decide what to do with them.

* Hand them into reception?
* Hand them into the police?
* Sell them to friends in the city?
* Donate them to the maid?
* Consume them?
* Flush them?

Flushing seemed like the safe option and it still gave me a good story to tell at dinner.

I live in Sofia now and always send my clients and friends to stay there when they are in town.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room. They aren't expensive and are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Anel while in Sofia for business. It is quite different (eclectic perhaps?) from other hotels I've stayed at but I think that adds character. Definitely a bit dated but well appointed and spacious rooms.

The breakfast buffet was great - lots to choose from. I really liked the crepes and fresh fruit.
The dining room was not as much to my liking (felt very formal) so I ordered room service most of the time.

The Hotel Anel was close to our office and within walking distance of most if not all of the major site seeing attractions. Even though the weather was not the greatest I still enjoyed walking around and seeing the sites.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed 4 times for business trips. Huge rooms, but evidently a bit old. Very rich breakfast. was amazed by design of the restaurant (just like in gallery). Got company discount, but the regular prices are very high, price/quality ratio is not good for regular price. Really liked swimming pool and sauna! Wi-fi router in...

Room Tip: tayed 4 times for business trips. Huge rooms, but evidently a bit old. Very rich breakfast. was amaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

A very big rather dated but acceptable place for three nights with large comfortable rooms, free super fast wi-fi, friendly staff and a central location within a short distance of tram and bus stops.

Huge room, nicely presented with adequate toiletries, up to date TV on cable and a good breakfast. The bar and nightclub dives are worth a miss, but take a 5 minute walk to the old covered market where cheap local beers are served at a couple of bars with character and staff who speak pretty good English and love to talk about working in the UK. This month the equivalent of £1.20 a pint and they brew it with plenty of hops!

Room Tip: Try for room at the rear, the lifts and stairs are a warren and very confusing so leave time to find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#4 of 125 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 stars 496 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 125 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 stars 787 reviews
3.6 mi away
Suite Hotel Sofia
Suite Hotel Sofia
#2 of 125 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
0.9 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#9 of 125 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anel

Address: 14 Todor Alexandrov blvd., Sofia 1303, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia > Serdica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sofia
#2 Casino Hotel in Sofia
#6 Business Hotel in Sofia
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Anel 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION Centrally located in midtown Sofia, Hotel Anel offers easy access to business, government and banking institutions as we as exclusive shopping areas, tourist attractions and the lively nightlife for both business entertainment and personal downtime. With it unrivalled proximity to the heart of Sofia and less time to commute guests can enjoy longer meetings with clients and business partners or just explore in depth the sites of the city without the hustle of time. CONFERENCE FACILITIES With 8 meeting and conference rooms and 3 additional venues including a roof top terrace, Hotel Anel offers some of the best and most innovative facilities for any event in the Bulgarian capital. With more than 730 square meters (8000 square feet) of meeting and event space guests are provided with one of the premiere settings for conferences, seminars, annual meetings, board meetings, product launches, discreet business lunches, gala dinners, cocktail receptions, weddings and social occasions. RESTAURANT ANEL Savour fabulous cuisine prepared by our dedicated and professional chefs who are inspired by fresh and healthy ingredients to bring a truly extraordinary and delicious meal. The carefully selected wines to accompany the dinning experience will capture the guests' imagination. The soft brown interior with oil paintings from classical Bulgarian artist creates for the perfect ambience and style, which are further underlined by the floor to ceiling windows giving a quiet view of the surrounding city. Every night form 20.00H - 22.00H the restaurant features live music from our in house pianist.Capacity: 115 seats (with roof garden) Cocktail capacity: 140 peopleOpening hours: 12.00H - 23.00H THE M BAR Tucked away right above the Reception Desk and overlooking the hustle and bustle of the street below M Bar is the quintessential meeting place for morning coffees, light and delicious lunches or dinners, healthy refreshments, alluring cocktails and other swanky beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Anel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anel Hotel Sofia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Anel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.