We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location within walking distance of sights, comfortable rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Anel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Anel to your Saves list
Hotel Anel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Todor Alexandrov blvd., Sofia 1303, Bulgaria (Serdica)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 125 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good location within walking distance of sights, comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights and enjoyed our stay. We were given a (very!) large room that was very well equipped, clean and comfortable. The location was very good - we could easily walk to the sights and shopping/restaurant areas of central Sofia. WIFI was fast and reliable.

The only disappointment was the breakfast - it finished at 10am sharp and the staff were a bit slow to replenish the items as they starting running low from 9.30am and not very friendly; the eggs were not freshly cooked but just sitting in metal dishes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    82
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
25
54
16
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We recently stayed in the Hotel Anel in our continued effort to find a decent hotel in the city and it was actually far better than most.

It wasn't a promising start - the hotel isn't particularly attractive from the outside and on a busy and rather run down looking road. However it is quite centrally located only about 5 minutes walk from Blvd Vitosha and the hotel is quite pleasant. The lobby and lobby bar are attractive and filled with some interesting sculpture.

The rooms are large and well appointed. We booked one of the fifth floor suites which was very spacious and had two very nice bathrooms, one with a spa bath. We booked this because it had a terrace but the terrace didn't come with any furniture, it was just a concrete terrace which was a bit surprising. A table, parasol and chairs and a couple of loungers wouldn't go amiss. Our air conditioner didn't work so it was too hot and we had to be moved to a normal room. These are actually pretty large and as the terrace isn't particularly useful I wouldn't bother reserving a suite in future, just book a double room.

Another attraction of the hotel was its indoor pool which is actually very pleasant. It's quite narrow but a reasonable length so you can swim decent lengths. And the poolside area is quite attractive and relaxing.

However what lets this hotel down is the service which is still rather eastern block. We were given a ticket for the swimming pool when we checked in but when we went to use it the receptionist at the pool said we had to have two tickets. We explained that we were only given one so she said we had to go downstairs to reception and get another one. We had to explain that as it was a hotel mistake she should 'phone down and rectify it (why we needed tickets was a bit mysterious as she could have taken our room number from our room key - and what if we'd wanted to swim twice?). She then said we had to wear swimming or shower caps. Again there was only one in our room (which we had to go back up and fetch) and it took a bit of arguing to persuade her she could fetch us another. My husband wasn't that pleased at having to wear a cap anyway. The rules by the pool were hilarious. It actually stated that you must have a shower (with shower gel) before you could use the pool. It felt a bit more like a boot camp than a relaxing spa, made us wonder what sort of guests the hotel attracts that need to be told that and puzzled why they don't just fit a better pool filter.

We had similar service later when we'd gone to bed in our suite then discovered we couldn't sleep because of the heat and broken air conditioning. Someone did come up, agree the air con was broken but when we asked to be transferred to another room, again they wanted us to come down to reception to get new room keys. We had to explain we had been in bed, weren't dressed and as it was a hotel problem they should send someone up with a key to take us to the new room.

It's a shame as it is one of the pleasanter Sofia hotels. The guy serving in the hotel lobby bar was very good - perhaps he could train the other staff about service? All together pretty good facilities, more character than most but poor attention to detail or service. A good 3 star, not the 5 star advertised (but if you've stayed in any Bulgarian hotels you'll know that).

Room Tip: Just choose a double - they're big enough and the suites aren't worth the extra. And do che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Been there for two nights. It is called spa because of in doors swimming pool. The room was very big equipped with a everything you might need. Very good digital tv channels large screen. The stuff was polite and helpful. Dinner at the restorant was very good and the breakfast was good. Coffee was awful. Location is very good. Each room has it's own wifi router so reception is great. But because of that anyone outside can notice that you ate not in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Very surprised when we arrived, exceeded our expectations. Clean and had a large hotel room. Lots of sculptures and artwork to look at in the lobby and breakfast room. The staff were very helpful and booked us a cab to the airport on our departure. Stayed for 3 nights and slept like a log each night. Even with being located on a busy road into the centre we didn't hear any traffic. Lots of variety of food at breakfast time, good to stock up before a day of sight seeing around the city. Good location as only a 5 mins walk into the main centre. The pool is a good size to do plenty of lengths in and was able to relax in the hot tub afterwards. The only niggle was that they only gave us one towel for two people on arrival but after room service had been each morning they gave us a towel each, perhaps an oversight that morning. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Been there for two nights. It is called spa because of in doors swimming pool. The room was very big equipped with a everything you might need. Very good digital tv channels large screen. The stuff was polite and helpful. Dinner at the restorant was very good and the breakfast was good. Coffe was awful. Location is very good.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strahilovo
Level Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Smart hotel full of some really good artwork. The breakfast room has somewhere around 200 paintings and they are not small works! The pool is something and nothing, water was cold - this was the only disappointment. Food good and seemless service. Habdy for the main shopping areas and easy to get to and from the airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

It was very nice and comfortable stay. A well priced hotel. Food at the restaurant is also very good and with good service. It is a typical business hotel, with services that a business traveler expects.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Anel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anel

Address: 14 Todor Alexandrov blvd., Sofia 1303, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia > Serdica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Sofia
#2 Spa Hotel in Sofia
#9 Business Hotel in Sofia
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Anel 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION Centrally located in midtown Sofia, Hotel Anel offers easy access to business, government and banking institutions as we as exclusive shopping areas, tourist attractions and the lively nightlife for both business entertainment and personal downtime. With it unrivalled proximity to the heart of Sofia and less time to commute guests can enjoy longer meetings with clients and business partners or just explore in depth the sites of the city without the hustle of time. CONFERENCE FACILITIES With 8 meeting and conference rooms and 3 additional venues including a roof top terrace, Hotel Anel offers some of the best and most innovative facilities for any event in the Bulgarian capital. With more than 730 square meters (8000 square feet) of meeting and event space guests are provided with one of the premiere settings for conferences, seminars, annual meetings, board meetings, product launches, discreet business lunches, gala dinners, cocktail receptions, weddings and social occasions. RESTAURANT ANEL Savour fabulous cuisine prepared by our dedicated and professional chefs who are inspired by fresh and healthy ingredients to bring a truly extraordinary and delicious meal. The carefully selected wines to accompany the dinning experience will capture the guests' imagination. The soft brown interior with oil paintings from classical Bulgarian artist creates for the perfect ambience and style, which are further underlined by the floor to ceiling windows giving a quiet view of the surrounding city. Every night form 20.00H - 22.00H the restaurant features live music from our in house pianist.Capacity: 115 seats (with roof garden) Cocktail capacity: 140 peopleOpening hours: 12.00H - 23.00H THE M BAR Tucked away right above the Reception Desk and overlooking the hustle and bustle of the street below M Bar is the quintessential meeting place for morning coffees, light and delicious lunches or dinners, healthy refreshments, alluring cocktails and other swanky beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Anel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anel Hotel Sofia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Anel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.