We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - almost all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sofia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Sofia to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sofia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Alexander Malinov Boulevard, Sofia 1766, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #16 of 125 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent - almost all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Everyone there was excellent - superb, friendly and professional service. Great facilities - clean and welcoming - and they have an adequate (quite fine, though not luxurious) pool, steam room and sauna. Typical for and an asset to the HI brand (in my experience). The staff there were superb though - very welcoming - and they helped make my first trip to Bulgaria an absolute pleasure. Thank you to all concerned. They even offered to negotiate with taxi drivers if they tried to overcharge me (which they didn't). My only reservation would be that it's quite a long way from the centre. Fabulous for a business hotel, but possibly not so good for tourism - unless, of course, their rates are competitive. The roads close to the hotel are being widened (Sept 2013) so transport into town should become swifter in the next few months. Also, the restaurant laid on some excellent local food.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your memorable experience with the Holiday Inn Sofia. It is truly rewarding to know that we managed to make your first stay in Bulgaria an absolute pleasure.

We highly appreciate your lovely comments with regard to the friendly and professional attitude of our team and the superb facilities and services offered at our hotel. We are also pleased you have noticed the high level of cleanliness and maintenance which we are particularly proud of.

Further to your comment about the distance of our hotel to downtown Sofia as you will have noted we are very conveniently located for the city centre by the hotels shuttle bus or by taxi. You may have be aware that the exciting metro works are in their final stages and a major new road network is shortly to be opened right near our hotel, as a result of which it will take about 10 minutes to the city center, making Holiday Inn Sofia even more attractive for leisure tourist.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback online. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    97
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
27
22
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Xanthi, Greece
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Once again for a weekend in Sofia, once again in Holiday Inn, which is our favourite hotel there. First of all I have to write that it is a business hotel, situated about 10km away from Sofia center. That means that during weekends it remains very quiet, without many guests,which adds to the whole hotel's quality. I think that Holiday Inn Sofia is one of the best across Europe. The contemporary design meets the prompt staff, and both creating a superb result. Although it's not in the center with about 10-11 LEVA (about 5-6 EUROS) you get where you want by taxi. We stongly recomend Holiday in Sofia for both your holiday or business trip. Note that they offer a very modern gym and a top quality spa.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your great experience with the Holiday Inn Sofia.

It was a real pleasure to have welcomed you again in our property and even more to have read your lovely feedback. There is nothing more rewarding than to know that our guests recognize our efforts and consider Holiday Inn Sofia as their only hotel of choice.

Once again, thank you for your custom. We are looking forward to your next stay with us!

Kind Regards,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed here for a few week and was very happy with my stay. I found this to be a nice property well maintained by a helpful and friendly staff. Very consistent in most ways. Very convenient (walking distance) to the nearby business park. Great mountain views. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Let us thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Sofia.

We are pleased you have noticed the high standards of maintenance and the professional service provided at our property. Making our guests happy and providing a place where they can relax and be themselves in a friendly and comfortable atmosphere is what we are here for, and your comments serve as the evidence we are succeeding.

We are delighted to know that you had a memorable experience with us and are looking forward to welcome you again at our property,

Kind Regards

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I had to stay one night in this hotel on my last business trip to Sofia. The hotel was quiet nice and comfortable for the price, service excellent, but location not ideal. Not much do to or to see around, and because it is located in a business area, there were no restaurant open in the evening close by. Perfect for an over night stay, as it is not so far from the airport, but you will not see much of the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Let us take the opportunity to thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Sofia.

We are pleased to have read your feedback related to the high quality of services and accommodations provided at our hotel. It is our main goal to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations and it is real pleasure to know we are succeeding in this.

Further to your comments regarding the location of our hotel, Holiday Inn Sofia is situated in a tranquil and modern area at a close proximity to the largest shopping mall, the Vitosha Mountain and the Pancharevo Lake, to name but a few, which makes us the preferred place to stay for many leisure guests as well. As taxis in Sofia are very reasonably priced, you may reach any point of the city very easily within 10 minutes for a nominal charge.

In addition, had asked our very knowledgeable concierge team they would be more than happy to assist you to find a lovely local restaurant although we do of course offer guests our superb Brasserie Restaurant & Terrace with resident pianist.

Once again, thank you for comments. We appreciate your custom and hope to see you again at the Holiday Inn Sofia.

Sincerely

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is really an ideal hotel for working at the business park in Sofia. We've been using it for years and they have steadily improved and improved. The rooms are excellent, the facilities superb and the service is first-rate. The restaurant is very good indeed with a nice choice and some superb wines. They frequently have specialist buffets in the evening. To be fair, it is very much a Holiday Inn in not one of the greatest location, but it is well-run and very pleasant, especially for business in the area. One criticism: restaurant and bar prices are high for Bulgaria, although pretty much set at European norms. Well done guys!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for your review following your stays at the Holiday Inn Sofia. We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and your feedback is extremely valuable to us.

As you have noticed, we place our guests and their comfort at the heart of everything we do, and take into consideration all their comments toward our goal to aim higher and be a Great Hotel Guests Love. Your lovely comments serve as a reinforcement to continue our efforts in making the Holiday Inn Sofia a leader in excellence and a preferred place to stay.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Kind Regards,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raanana
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Its hotels like this that fortify my resolve to stay loyal to my membership as a Priority Club Member.
On my first trip to Sofia and without having prior recommendations I chose the (only) Holiday Inn in Sofia.
Not disappointed.
The room was modern, cheerful, light, clean and just fun to return to after a long day of work.
Very comfy bed with selection of pillows.
Modern bathroom with good shower and bath.
Selection at breakfast was plentiful.
Staff went out of their way to be hospitable.
One small complaint: With a 200$ a night room and a loyal club member of over 10 years they could have given free internet access.
See you on my next trip to Sofia...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely comments following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Sofia. We place our guests in the heart of everything we do and it is truly motivational when we receive wonderful feedback like yours in recognition of our efforts.

Regarding your comment about the internet service, kindly note we have a variety of accommodation packages to suit the individual needs of each guest, including a great deal internet inclusive one. Should you contact us directly when you plan your next trip to Sofia, we would be pleased to assist you in the choice of the most suitable rate. In addition, you can quickly reach Elite IHG Rewards Club Level by staying at any IHG branded hotel and benefit from free standard internet in our hotels worldwide.

Thank you once again for your review. Your loyalty to IHG and custom in our hotel is highly appreciated. We are looking forward to your next stay at the Holiday Inn Sofia.

Sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Excellent stay with very friendly crew from the reception , restaurant till room service. A big plus to me to be welcomed with a hello and a smile. The pool, spa and fitness club are amazing... very nice, big, clean and modern. You also benefit from a nice lounge for you to sit, discuss with colleagues for example, even have a meeting. The restaurant proposes themes. If the weather allows, you can sit on the terasse which was absolutely great. There is a snack/bar too.
In the room, I did like the bed very much, matrass was excellent really. The hotel is located a few minutes away from the airport close by business centers, quiet in the evening.

Negative points to me: Internet is not free, fairly expensive and signal was not great in my room, it got interrupted several times but better in the lobby; you are outside the city center, you will need a taxi to go there (not expensive but time consuming)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Sofia.

We place our guests and their memorable experience at the heart of everything we do, and it is truly rewarding when we receive such a positive feedback. Your wonderful comments are highly appreciated and inspirational for us to continue our efforts in making the Holiday Inn Sofia a leader in excellence.

As we have completed a complete upgrade of the internet system last month with the latest technologies available on the market and the signal is now perfect at any point in the hotel, we believe the issue you have experienced in your room was a temporary decrease in the signal strength by the supplier.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write about your enjoyable stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Holiday Inn Sofia,

Kind Regards

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
4.8 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 125 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 stars 787 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#4 of 125 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
5.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Suite Hotel Sofia
Suite Hotel Sofia
#2 of 125 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sofia Hotel Balkan
Sofia Hotel Balkan
#28 of 125 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 stars 605 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#9 of 125 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sofia

Address: 111 Alexander Malinov Boulevard, Sofia 1766, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sofia
#4 Family Hotel in Sofia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
#12 Business Hotel in Sofia
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm "Welcome" to Sofia's newest 5 Star hotel. Winner of the InterContinental Hotels Group ‘Best Newcomer Award’ 2008, the 'Building of the Year Award" and the InterContinental Hotels Group ‘Torchbearer Award’ 2009, 2010 and 2011 the Holiday Inn, Sofia features the highest standards of international contemporary design, comfort and service alongside unparalleled facilities in one of Eastern Europe's most vivacious, dynamic and charismatic cities.Enjoy the best of both worlds with extensive SPA and Conference facilities at the exceptional 5 Star hotel Holiday Inn Sofia, Bulgaria. Just 10 minutes from Sofia Airport and Sofia City Center on the hotel’s shuttle bus, the hotel is ideally located in the foothills of the Vitosha Mountains within close proximity of Sofia city centre.Winner of numerous international awards, the Holiday Inn Sofia is proud of its unrivalled levels of standards and services. The Holiday Inn Sofia offers 130 luxurious spacious bedrooms, including Executive Rooms and Suites, many with breathtaking views of the imposing Vitosha Mountain.The hotel’s extensive Conference & Banqueting facilities are unrivalled in Sofia, combining the latest technology with personalized service. Dedicated staff on our self-contained conference & banqueting floor will help to ensure the smooth running of your event in 11 state-of-the-art function suites with space for between 10-300 guests. The Holiday Inn Sofia provides a variety of gourmet dining experiences, ranging from a seasonal A la Carte menu or quality bar meals to a variety of delicious lunch and dinner buffets. We are certain you will enjoy the “Esprit Fitness & Spa”, including a 19m pool with separate children’s pool, indoor & outdoor Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room, Gym and Solarium, not to mention our numerous Treatment Rooms for those who prefer to relax and be pampered ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sofia Hotel Sofia
Sofia Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sofia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.