We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel- shame about the wifi costs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sofia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Sofia to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sofia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Alexander Malinov Boulevard, Sofia 1766, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 125 Hotels in Sofia
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel- shame about the wifi costs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

This is a great business hotel and offers a great range of high quality services. Lovely rooms and spa facilities and welcoming staff.

However, I wouldn't stay here if I was a leisure user again. Firstly, the hotel is located on a business park on the outskirts of the city. Better to stay in the centre even if its more costly. Also as a leisure user, the wifi costs seemed extortionate to me. I think we'll over 10 euros a day. Sadly, they have chosen to not make these charges explicit- from what I can see. This is often complimentary on many other hotels and so adding taxi fares and wi fi costs will add a lot to your bill!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay at the 5-star Holiday Inn Sofia.

We appreciate your great comments relating to the hotel, its excellent facilities and our friendly team members.

We do offer a wide range of rates and packages to suit the different needs of our guests including free internet and free shuttle to the city center. This, in addition to our superb Leisure & Spa facilities which is one of the best in town, and our location in a tranquil and modern area at a close proximity to the largest shopping mall, the Vitosha Mountain and the Pancharevo Lake, to name but a few, makes as preferred place to stay for many leisure guests as well. If you contact us directly when you plan your next visit to Sofia, we will be pleased to offer you the most suitable for your needs package.

Once again, thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again at the Holiday Inn Sofia.

Kind Regards

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    80
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
21
20
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Not a bad hotel; clean, modern, good amenities. Excellent location if you are working in the Sofia Business Park. However, it is very much on the outskirts of Sofia - a 30 min taxi ride to the city centre.

The rooms were large, modern and well maintained. Reception staff were welcoming but could not sort out a problem with internet access - the service was down on my first night and Reception had a problem issuing me with access codes for the rest of my stay.

Food? Breakfasts good but not an extensive spread. Wholesome and good service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the 5-star Holiday Inn Sofia. We were delighted to have read your very positive comments relating to the high quality of our guest bedrooms and the immaculate condition of our property.

I apologise that the internet was not fully operational on the first night of your stay. The reason for this is that we were in the final stages of a complete upgrading of the entire infrastructure of our high speed internet system across the hotel including installation of the latest new wireless access points throughout the hotel. I am pleased to advise that our high-speed internet access is now perfect across the hotel and you will definitely notice the difference during your next stay at our hotel.

Once again, thank you for your review. We look forward to your future visits at the Holiday Inn Sofia,

Kind Regards

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Just spent 2 nights here on a business trip and thoroughly enjoyed it.
Location is great for the new business park.
All the staff are friendly, polite and attentive. The Hotel is nice and clean and the rooms are a decent size too.
Nice bar area and fantastic food at very reasonable prices.
You can eat and drink out on to the terrace too and just watch the world go by.
Didn't have time to do the spa thing, but it looked amazing.
Free shuttle bus to and from the airport reduces the stress.
My only gripe was the Internet was a bit hit and miss in the room and as a business traveller, it's an important issue, so I perhaps harshly have docked a star.
However the WiFi was great all downstairs and on the terrace too.

Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Sofia.

We are always pleased to receive our valued guests' feedback of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to share it with the travelling public.

We are listening to our guests' feedback and are excited to inform that we have just completed a total renewal of the entire internet system with the latest technologies available on the market. Our high-speed internet access is flawless at each point throughout the hotel and you will definitely feel the difference during your next stay at our hotel.

Also, we highly recommend you to not miss the Esprit Leisure & Spa Club during your next visits - it is claimed by our guests to be one of the best in town and we are sure you will enjoy it!

Thank you once again for your lovely review. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had 1 night here & enjoyed a nice coffee at a coffee bar across the road by the pond. There was also a small supermarket that meant we could easily stock up on water. We had a nice bathroom with a great shower & bath. Tea, coffee, fridge& air con. We had an excellent meal & bottle of red wine on the hotels onside sitting area.The staff were very helpful& friendly. Surrounded by offices meant it was very quiet in the evening. A good car park & a lovely indoor 19 meter swimming pool. We would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guests

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your lovely experience with the Holiday Inn Sofia.

It is our main goal to provide top quality services and accomodation, and we are delighted to know you have enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate you mentioning our great guest room and bathroom facilities and amenities, the delicious meals served at the Brasserie Restaurant & Terrace and the tranquillity of the surrounding area.

Thank you once again for your custom. Looking forward to your next stay with us,

Sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John O'Groats, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
147 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

It's a good hotel. I chose a suite this time and enjoyed the luxury of a separate living/dining room - very large table. Breakfasts are as good as ever and the staff is generally happy and helpful.

There are a couple of quickiemart type shops in the business park and this time I discovered a Burger King! The BK is located as part of the cinema complex.

The hotel does make a good cheeseburger - but I'd never had a BK in Bulgaria before so had to try it. Like many young Bulgarians, the BK guy was happy to practice his English.

Pool is still good - even managed to go outside for a roll in the snow before going to the sauna.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room with no connecting door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your lovely comments about your experience with the Holiday Inn Sofia.

It is real pleasure to know we are meeting and exceeding your expectations and are among your prefered hotels! This is truly rewarding and we shall share your comments with out entire staff as a reinforcement to continue making our hotel a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for being our loyal guest. We hope to welcome you again at the Holiday Inn Sofia in the near future!

Sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

It was my first time to visit Sofia and we were booked in this hotel. Their breakfast was good and the staff were very accommodating. Their location was great since it was just a short 10-minute walk to the nearest mall. Their gym and swimming pool facilities were also neat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for your review following your stay at the Holiday Inn Sofia.

It is with pleasure that we have read your very positive comments related to the services and facilities we offer. Our main goal is to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations and we are delighted to know we have succeeded.

Once again, thank you for your custom. We look forward to welcoming you again at the Holiday Inn Sofia!

Sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

You will like the staff, the breakfast, restaurant and bar, the room and the bed, the pool, the gym.
You might not like very much that you need to get a taxi to reach the city center (it is quite cheap anyway), that that the internet connection might not be good in all the rooms, not all the things in the bathroom are always working well (water temperature, shower drain).
I've been there a lot of times and I would go again to see thay beautiful Vitosha view

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Sofia. Your comments are greatly appreciated since they give us the opportunity to uphold our standards and make sure our guests receive what they are expecting from their stay with us.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed and would recommend the wonderful dining experience we offer, as well as our exceptional leisure and sports facilities, and that you were able to relax and be yourself in your guestroom. As you correctly mention, the taxis in Sofia are very reasonable, and for a minimal amount of Bulgarian levs you may reach any point of the city very easily.

In relation to your comment about the internet, I am pleased to advise we are currently in the process of upgrading the internet system and very soon – maybe during your next visit – you will be able to notice the difference.

Once again, thank you for your custom. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the near future

Sincerely,

Tha Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sofia

Address: 111 Alexander Malinov Boulevard, Sofia 1766, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Sofia
#9 Business Hotel in Sofia
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm "Welcome" to Sofia's newest 5 Star hotel. Winner of the InterContinental Hotels Group ‘Best Newcomer Award’ 2008, the 'Building of the Year Award" and the InterContinental Hotels Group ‘Torchbearer Award’ 2009, 2010 and 2011 the Holiday Inn, Sofia features the highest standards of international contemporary design, comfort and service alongside unparalleled facilities in one of Eastern Europe's most vivacious, dynamic and charismatic cities.Enjoy the best of both worlds with extensive SPA and Conference facilities at the exceptional 5 Star hotel Holiday Inn Sofia, Bulgaria. Just 10 minutes from Sofia Airport and Sofia City Center on the hotel’s shuttle bus, the hotel is ideally located in the foothills of the Vitosha Mountains within close proximity of Sofia city centre.Winner of numerous international awards, the Holiday Inn Sofia is proud of its unrivalled levels of standards and services. The Holiday Inn Sofia offers 130 luxurious spacious bedrooms, including Executive Rooms and Suites, many with breathtaking views of the imposing Vitosha Mountain.The hotel’s extensive Conference & Banqueting facilities are unrivalled in Sofia, combining the latest technology with personalized service. Dedicated staff on our self-contained conference & banqueting floor will help to ensure the smooth running of your event in 11 state-of-the-art function suites with space for between 10-300 guests. The Holiday Inn Sofia provides a variety of gourmet dining experiences, ranging from a seasonal A la Carte menu or quality bar meals to a variety of delicious lunch and dinner buffets. We are certain you will enjoy the “Esprit Fitness & Spa”, including a 19m pool with separate children’s pool, indoor & outdoor Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room, Gym and Solarium, not to mention our numerous Treatment Rooms for those who prefer to relax and be pampered ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Venere, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sofia Hotel Sofia
Sofia Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sofia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.