We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lion

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lion
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Maria Boulivard, Sofia 1202, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 122 hotels in Sofia
Catania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

It is a nice hotel, near the city center by walk 5-10 minuts, or in a minuts by metro.
It is clear with nice and good rooms :) i found a gentle reception people and a nice bar too :)
If you don t want spend a lot this is the best in my opinion

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LionSofia, Manager at Hotel Lion, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Fabio_Vitale_11,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive impressions from staying at LION Sofia hotel!
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and remained highly satisfied with the hotel location, room ambiance and the service of our team members! We shall do our best to keep up the good service.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Vladimir Tsekov
Manager
Hotel LION - Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    47
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
5
30
18
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ST. ALBANS
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at The Lion Hotel, which is well situated for the Bus and Train stations, as well as the city centre. With a new metro station right outside the door all of Sofia is easilly accessable. The luxury room that we stayed in was big, clean and comfortable. The only downside was the traffic noise outside and the hotel can hardly be blamed for that. The hotel receptionists were very helpful,but the service in the cafe next door where we ate breakfast was a bit "Bulgarian"! I have now stayed at this hotel three times and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Sofia. By the way, while other websites were advertising our four night stay at around £160, Gala's price was £124, so I highly recommend them as well and will use them in future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yambol, Bulgaria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My Wife and I have stayed not once but several times at The Lion Hotel, Maria Louisa Boulevard ,Sofia, Bulgaria.during the past eight years. We first stayed there in 2005 following a twenty minute taxi ride from the airport. The staff made us so welcome as they do every time we stay and all speak English. We have stayed in different rooms and found them all to be very clean, with on-suit bathrooms. Our family have also stayed with a baby for which extra care was provided Down side no tea/coffee making facilities.. but a fridge full of drinks and chocolates.There is an excellent restaurant on the ground floor where the breakfast is provided and adequate.They also do evening food ..but close at 9 pm Next door is a KFC and many other eateries, The hotel is central for the indoor and outdoor markets and shops and a stones throw from the railway and bus stations, The hotel staff are only to willing to collect or take you for free, or to the airport.
Yes we enjoy our stays and will be back in October,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Two couples, retired professional educators stayed 4 nights at the Lion Hotel in Sophia. Adequate location. Close to the bus station where we arrived. Some may consider it in the lower levels of Sophia but we found it perfectly adequate. In fact it is close to a market where most tourist probably would not look for. Rooms were a bit run down, some dirty carpet and clean glasses were not always provided each day. Adequate for the prices we paid. WiFi was excellent in each room. Breakfasts were probably the least bountiful and expansive we had in our entire month in Eastern Europe. Apparently they have a contract with a downstairs bakery shop to serve breakfasts. Service initially was poor with grumpy young waitress. After the second day it got better. Had a choice of 4 or 5 different breakfasts. No extra coffee without paying extra. However, whatever misgivings we had were erased with our experiences with the front desk. A clerk. Rasho, arranged to have a special taxi take 4 of us to Rila Monastery which saved us a substantial amount of money, allowed us to print out our flight tickets for Wizz air which would have cost us each 60 Euros had we done it at the airport and gave us lots of useful information about the city. The taxi driver, an off duty policeman was extremely helpful giving us directions to places of interest and directions to one of the best traditional Bulgarian restaurants in town. Many thanks Rasho and other Hotel Lion personnel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Very convenient location, close to rail and bus stations. Professional, English-speaking staff at reception, very large and quiet room, but be sure to ask for a room away from the street if you want quiet, because the hotel is at a busy intersection. Cleanliness generally OK, but desk drawer was full of old chocolat wrappers etc. Breakfast is a choice of various menues,no great experience, but sufficient. Deafening disco music in coffe shop from early morning. Computer station with internet free for guests.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plovdiv, Bulgaria
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

The Lion Hotel is situated conveniently close to the central train and bus stations, and only a short walk away from most of the main visitor attractions in Sofia. Our room was clean and comfortable and, for a smoking room, remarkably free of cigarette smell! The staff were polite and very helpful.

Our only complaints were some minor stains on some bedlinen that were slightly offputting, and the amount of light entering the room in the mornings, due to a thin blind on a velux window. For a busy area, we had little if any road noise - our room was on the fifth floor at the back.

Breakfast was an interesting variation on an English breakfast - very tasty and not too heavy, very good value for the budget allowed as part of the room rate.

All in all, we would be happy to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from what is a busy main road to avoid traffic noise; we had room 55 which is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didim, Turkey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed at this hotel because of reviews we had read. We paid extra for a room with balcony only to discover that the "balcony" housed the airconditioning unit, and there is no room to step out onto the balcony. The location was extremely noisy with traffic. The room was large and clean. The staff were the most unfriendliest we have ever encountered in all our travels. No one ever smiled or acknowledged us when we walked past reception. Unhelpful. Had to wait for one person to finish a personal phone call before he could attend to us. Even when we checked out, the staff member could not smile or be friendly. The only friendly person we encountered was the cleaner. Breakfast in the coffee shop was a challenge. They try to get you to have what is on the "buffet" (very ordinary, not much to chose from), but another couple alerted us to the menu which you have to ask for. It's close to the station but the location is noisy. Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lion

Address: 60 Maria Boulivard, Sofia 1202, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 122 hotels in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lion 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Hotel Sofia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.