We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice design and big rooms, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Sofia

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Sofia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Sofia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1, Gurko str., Sofia 1000, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 122 hotels in Sofia
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice design and big rooms, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I liked the very big room and bath, the Location, The cafe in the garden, the view from the room in 7th floor. I was upgraded to a better floor, so cannot say about a normal room. The breakfast is good. Staff are friendly, except some in the reception.

There is no Iron in the room or an Iron room in the floor (I saw lot's of guest complain about that). Gym is small and close early, No pool.

Room Tip: Try to get upgrade to higher floor so the view will be nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your overall rating of Grand Hotel Sofia as a good hotel.
We would also like to thank you for the valuable feedback you shared with us, because it all will help us in our ongoing efforts to meet guests’ expectations.
Please, accept our apologies if the service did not meet your expectations all the time.
We do not have iron and ironing board in the rooms for safety reasons, but we do provide laundry and ironing service from very early in the morning until late at night.
We hope it will not be long before we welcome you again as guests of the Grand Hotel Sofia.

Sincerely

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    96
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
25
75
35
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Graz
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Me and my girlfriend we stayed for three nights during a weekend at the Grand Hotel Sofia.
The rooms are, as mentioned before by others guests, enourmous. The bed was comfortable and the furniture in a good shape. The only problem is that due to the size of the room, the TV is a little bit far away from the bed. If you have bad eyesight you wont have mutch fun watching. But this was not important to us, we weren't there to watch TV.
The Bathroom was really great. Everything in green marble, a big sized shower and a big bathtub. Everything was clean and looked pretty new. The ammendities were restored every day. Room service on the whole was perfect, you get your bed ready for the night with a little present and a cart with the weather forecast. We also got an information letter because of the time change that happened during our stay.
The breakfast was also very good, I got everything i wanted. One problem occured on Sunday, because there were a lot of guests, much more than the other days. So the breakfast room was completely full as we got there, but no one frome the staff tried to help us. So we got back to our room and tried it 15 minutes later, when we got a table. It would have been nicer if someone would have talked to us, how long it will take to get a table or where to wait etc. But the staff seemed very stressed, I think they did not expected this rush.
In my opinion the Hotel was very good, the overall experience was great. I would definetely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the kind words. We are more than thrilled that our facilities and services exceeded your expectations. Welcoming guests is more of an art than just a business for us, thus paying attention to the details is of great importance. We are delighted that our efforts have been noticed.

We really hope that you will find reasons to come back to Sofia and I would like to assure you that my colleagues will make it another worthwhile experience for you.

Sincerely

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Really pleased we chose this hotel. As per other revues the rooms are colossal. Expensively furnished as well. Large granite bathroom with separate tub & shower, water temp variable though.
High quality breakfast in a very pleasing room. Large and comfortable with a nice thick carpet so much quieter than most. Breakfast staff noticeably inattentive towards all guests on all three mornings. Strange, as all other staff seemed very friendly!
All in all a really nice place to stay, but not the most vibrant city to visit..

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share this wonderful review.
It was a real pleasure reading it. Our service team is grateful for the kind recognition.

Thank you for your overall rating of Grand Hotel Sofia as an excellent hotel.
We are delighted that we have come to the level of your expectations and our team will do their best to exceed them next time you are in town.
We are looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely
Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel is great. The rooms are extremely large, comfortable, clean and classically decorated with beautiful marble bathrooms.
The food was excellent, both for breakfast and evening meal. There is also the option of eating in the hotel cafe, which opens onto the park at the back of the hotel and has an outside seating area.
The hotel is located right in the heart of Sofia, so it is very central for everything, but you can see the mountains too. In spite of being in the centre of a city, the rooms were quiet. Shopping varies, from top, expensive shops, to considerably cheaper, small, independent shops, all within a short walk of the hotel.
We travelled as a couple, but were part of a larger group when we got there. All aspects of the trip, including the airport transfer, the dinner night and the drinks reception went very smoothly. All staff were always very helpful and they coped a gluten free diet with no trouble at all.
Overall, it was extremely good value for money and made our first trip to Bulgaria very memorable.
We will definitely be returning to Bulgaria and using the Grand Hotel Sofia.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear valued guest,


Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor readers.
Your description of Grand Hotel Sofia is the feedback that any hotelier can only dream about. Welcoming guests is more of an art than just a business for us, thus paying attention to the details is of great importance. We are delighted that our efforts have been noticed.

We are looking forward to welcome you again as a guest of the Grand Hotel Sofia.

Sincerely

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Grand Hotel Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The rooms are ridiculously large. Perfect if you want to practice your cartwheels.

Very clean. Bathroom equally huge, separate bath and shower. Great location.

Staff very helpful. Lovely cafe set on a terrace on the edge of the park. Price did not include breakfast but I ate in the terrace cafe which was much nicer than the breakfast room anyway.

It is possible to stay here for a very low price on a Saturday night as it is largely aimed at a business traveller and so prices fall sharply at weekend. Well worth splurging.

Had a massage in the health centre which was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about Grand Hotel Sofia. It is very pleasing to read your words of praise and we thank you heartily for taking the time to share your feedback with everyone.

Naturally, we would love to be at your service again in the future and hope that your travel plans will take you back to Bulgaria.

Kind Regards,

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Rooms the size of a tennis court. All new and clean. Great location. we paid about £100 per night over a weekend which included airport transfers. It was room only but the hotel cafe which overlooks the park has coffee for about £1.50 and omelettes for about £3.50 - therefore £5 for breakfast - which is probably expensive for Bulgaria but is very cheap for a 5*. Location is really central. Staff very helpful. Would go again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear valued guest,

I can’t begin to tell you how happy it made me to read about your experience at our hotel. The team here strives to make each guest experience as close to perfect as possible. When we accomplish that goal we’ve done our job. I am so honored that you choose Grand Hotel Sofia while you here. I really appreciate it and know the team will as well when I share it with them. We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in town. If I can do anything for you during your next visit to our hotel, please do not hesitate to call me. The front desk would be happy to connect you to my office.

Sincerely,

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I was given a superior room on the top floor, with a huge balcony, which was great. The downside was the mosquito bites I got in the room, when I was asleep. I had been warned by a colleague who had stayed there the previous week and took some repellant, so didn't get bitten the first night but did on the second with no repellant. We also noticed them flying around the restaurant, when eating our evening meal. The breakfast, which was included in the price was lovely but the set price evening meal didn't quite live up to expectation, so we ventured out the second night and the meal was much better. A well appointed hotel with lovely spacious rooms and good facilities, it's a shame that the bites and evening meal let the facility down.

Room Tip: If possible get a room on the upper floor, as the views are better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear valued guest,


Thank you so much for taking the time to share this review and for the overall rating of Grand Hotel Sofia as a good hotel.
We were very happy to know that you enjoyed the amenities and that our service team has met your expectations.

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced because of the mosquitoes. During the years we have never had such complaints. Unfortunately, this year due to the heavy rains in the summer, the whole city was invaded by mosquitoes. The action of the municipality did not give the expected results. We have done everything possible to prevent this reflecting on our guests and I am deeply sorry that it affected your otherwise pleasant stay with us.

We hope it will not be long before we welcome you again as guest of the Grand Hotel Sofia. I can guarantee you that my colleagues will make sure that it would be another worthwhile experience for you.

Best Regards

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Sofia

Address: 1, Gurko str., Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sofia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
#4 Family Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Sofia 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This five-star hotel's unique central location and easy access to major sights makes this an ideal choice when staying in Sofia. It offers extremely spacious rooms where to enjoy a 5-star level of luxury, style and comfort. The modern Convention Centre features 4 conference rooms, varying in size to accommodate from 10 to 150 delegates in different set-up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Sofia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.