We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Sofia

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Sofia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Sofia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1, Gurko str., Sofia 1000, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 122 hotels in Sofia
Netanya, Israel
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I've been staying at this hotel for the second time this year, it's simply perfect. The service is outstanding, cleaning and catering crews are always at your service. The rooms are huge with a great view. I would recommend to stay on the 7th floor since you will get a tea kit , and I haven't seen these at my colleagues rooms on the 4th floor. Also, the view is a bit better, you can take a glimpse of the mountains surrounding Sofia.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking some time to share your comments with the TripAdvisor readers. The guest feedback is the best way for us to rate the quality of the services that we provide.Considering Grand Hotel Sofia as ‘simply perfect” is of great importance for our ongoing efforts to meet guests’ expectations.

We really hope that you will find reasons to come back to Sofia and I would like to assure you that my colleagues will make it another worthwhile experience for you.

Sincerely

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    96
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
25
75
35
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent 3 days in the Grand Hotel in June 2012. Hotel staff is very professional and efficient. The room is probably the biggest hotel room I have ever been to. We booked the executive room which included a pick up at the airport. It totally worth it. Someone was waiting for us at the airport with our name on a card and drove us to the hotel. Concierge is also very helful. I definitly recommend this hotel and if I will stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,
I am very pleased to learn you have enjoyed your stay at Grand Hotel Sofia and that our level of service met your expectations.

Thank you sincerely for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor and for commending our service team in this regard. Your kind recognition has been very well received.

We look forward to welcoming you back!
Kind Regards,

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna, Bulgaria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed for an overnight while attending a concert and the hotel did not disappoint - excellent welcome service, superfriendly Front Office staff, Bellboys and Duty Manager. We were allocated in one of the largest rooms ever as we were happy to receive an upgrade. The room was comfortably pre-airconditioned, well appointed, boosting beautiful view to the city center. There was a small complimentary refreshment tray with tea and coffee, bottle of wine and a mineral water. The bathroom, however, could have benefited from some maintenance and the shower heads were tired and in desperate need of replacement. The toiletries were surprisingly basic and they could have been of a better quality, not the standard hotel series used in 95% of the hotels wich would make a perfect sense in a 5-star property. Everything was remarkably clean and you can trust me on that one as I'm in the hospitality industry myself.
Overall it was a very pleasant experience and would definitely recommend the hotel for a short city break or for a business trip. The pace of GHS on the top of Sofia list is well deserved. Congratulations!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share this review. We're flattered and thrilled that you enjoyed our amenities and, above all, that the service exceeded your expectations. It is very much appreciated that your first remark is on the friendliness of my colleagues because it is people’s attitude that really makes the difference. Reading your review would be a great motivating factor for all of them.

Thank you for your overall rating of Grand Hotel Sofia as an excellent hotel. We are delighted that we have come to the level of your expectations considering the fact that you are familiar with the market and with the hospitality industry itself. We hope to be able to welcome you again as a guest of the hotel.

Kind Regards
Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

For a reasonable fee, I received a huge room, spacious, clean, and very comfortable.
The room is about 60 square meters, with 2 beds, work desk, 2 living room sofas, big hall, and bathroom (with shower and bath).
The hotel place in the city center, so it comfortable to walk and visit the interesting places in Sofia.

Strong recommendation!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us and for choosing Grand Hotel Sofia. We are proud of our property and your feedback shows that we have managed to pass the experience to our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We spent a week in this most hospitable and brilliantly located hotel.We had a 'smoking' room for my husbands benefit - and the air- conditioning was so good and the room so large that I almost forgot that he was a smoker!
The only thing that slightly marred the otherwise spotless decor were large marks on what seemed to be good quality and very clean carpet ,(we actually noticed this in several areas of the hotel) We don't think they were stains, but perhaps the wrong kind of glue used on the backing? Please don't let this put you off this hotel - it is a super place to stay ( ...and you might even discreetly spot a famous film star in the breakfast buffet .... there is an international film studio nearby !!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your review posted on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Sofia. Your kind recognition has been very well received. We really appreciate your positive comments on our hotel. We would like to thank you for your recommendations as well.
Naturally, we would love to be at your service again in the future and hope that your travel plans will take you back to Bulgaria.

Sincerely

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a perfect place to stay in Sofia. Located right in the heart of the city, within short walking distance from all major attractions. The rooms are really spacious and impressively decorated. Bathroom was huge. I stayed on the top floor, so my room had a terrace overlooking the Cathedral. This hotel really looks posh and luxurious. Breakfast was excellent with a wide selection of cold and hot meals, fruit and yogurt. Staff is very helpful. I had a problem with WiFi coverage, which was fixed at first request. Overall this is the best place to stay in Sofia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about Grand Hotel Sofia. We are delighted that you have enjoyed our amenities and, above all, that the service has met your expectations.
Naturally, we would love to be at your service again in the future and hope that your travel plans will take you back to Bulgaria.

Sincerely,

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I really enjoyed the hospitality of the staff at the hotel, especially the lady at reception desk who is very professional. The breakfast buffet provides quality food and service although I missed most of them because of jet lag... The location is great too. It is close to a business street and a small super market.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review.
We are delighted that you find our staff to be hospitable and professional because it is people’s attitude that really makes the difference. We are glad that our facilities are responding to your needs.
Maybe on your next trip to Sofia you will have more time and you can enjoy the variety of tempting dishes in our Grand Café Garden.
We are looking forward to welcome you again as a guest of the Grand Hotel Sofia.

Sincerely

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Sofia

Address: 1, Gurko str., Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sofia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
#4 Family Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Sofia 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This five-star hotel's unique central location and easy access to major sights makes this an ideal choice when staying in Sofia. It offers extremely spacious rooms where to enjoy a 5-star level of luxury, style and comfort. The modern Convention Centre features 4 conference rooms, varying in size to accommodate from 10 to 150 delegates in different set-up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Sofia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.