We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best location on an average pedestrianised shopping Street” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sveta Sofia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sveta Sofia to your Saves list
Sveta Sofia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Pirotska Str, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 124 Hotels in Sofia
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not the best location on an average pedestrianised shopping Street”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Single room I was first allocated was small and depressing despite the fact that there was hardly anyone staying at the hotel at the time.
Took the mainly male dominated reception area staff 2 days to move me to a much better brighter and larger room.
Breakfast room basic with basic below average food.
Plainly they have awarded the fourth star themselves, no way should this be a 4 star hotel. it is more like 2 Star. I feel there are much better options in Sofia.

Room Tip: Avoid holiday times like Easter, especially, when I feel the key members of staff are away visiting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    28
    24
    16
    10
See reviews for
6
19
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I am a tour guide from Portugal and I use this hotel in Sofia for my groups. During my last stay in 23 of February, one of my company travelers got his passport stolen. We asked the hotel staff to help us to go to a police station and the staff couldn´t more helpful. I highly recomend this hotel for the compreension of the staff and for the great breakfast. I must also say that, Mrs. Boriana, hotel manager, couldn´t more available for our requests. In Sofia this definetly the best choice and your money will not be wasted if you use this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratieva, Manager at Sveta Sofia, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Sir,
thank you for your nice words. For us is always pleasure being helpful and try to do the best for each guest.
Thank you for booking Sveta Sofia hotel and thank you for your stay.
We hope we'll see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Good location, big rooms, but very poor conditions, awfull food (e.g. expired milk)... for sure not a 4 stars hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

The rooms were small, no-frills, and reasonably clean.

The air conditioning either didn't work or wasn't very powerful, so if you are sensitive to heat be careful staying here during the hot summer.

The location was good, right on a pedestrian shopping street in the old Jewish quarter of the city.

Hotel staff were helpful and kind. They charge an additional fee if you want to pay by credit card.

The free breakfast was somewhat disgusting--foods looked like they had been sitting out for a while, and the selection wasn't great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Excellent position, very close to city center. The room was comfortable and generally satisfactory and clean. The mini bar was empty all the days.
Breakfast very good, but the restaurant did not qualify for its 4-star rating: very dirty tableclothes and chairs-covers!!! Dented (and sometimes not very well cleaned) plates and teapots... Saturday night, after dinner, they offered us apples in a plastic basin (see relative photo) put on the central table !!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratieva, Manager at Sveta Sofia, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Dear Mrs. Kate,
responding to your review, I would like to inform you of the actions taken at the Sveta Sofia hotel, because we never do not tolerate reluctance of the staff to perform their duties. Unfortunately we are unable to move back and make you feel the 4-star service, but the waiter showed willfulness and served the fruits in this absurd way, was FIRED. All staff of the restaurant Sveta Sofia has been changed and currently is working a new staff who perform their duties strictly and ensure that such nonsense will not be repeated anymore.
Regarding the mini bar - yes, it is really so, but you were with us as part of a group accommodation and do not want to insult you, but there are many tourists who do not pay for the consumed mini bar. It is therefore agreed with the guides that the room mini bar will be emptied and there won’t be any misunderstandings with the group departure.
I do apologize again for your disappointment and that we have not answered of your expectations. Hopefully in the future if you have the opportunity to visit Sveta Sofia hotel again, you will feel the difference in service at our restaurant.
Sincerely,
Boriana Stratieva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed at this hotel from the 31st August to the 3rd September 2011 (3 nights).
We were visiting Sofia as England were playing the Bulgarian national team in a Euro 2012 qualifier.
Have to say we really enjoyed our stay at the Sveta Sofia, the staff were helpful and friendly, the standard triple room we had was very spacious and the hotel was situated in a location which was very quiet at night. We didn't try the hot food at breakfast but found the cold buffet plentiful and a lot better than had been stated in some of the reviews on here.
If we return to Sofia in the future would have no hesitation in booking this hotel again as we certainly found it great value for money. Thanks to the staff at the Sveta Sofia for making our stay such a pleasurable one.

The Hammond family.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratieva, Manager at Sveta Sofia, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you very much for your nice words and mostly thank you for being our guest. Each review is very important for us as we have a feedback how we are doing. Thank you once again and hopefully you will be our guest again.
Boriana Stratieva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padova
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

This hotel has a number of very big rooms full of light in the pedestrian precinct of the City without noise from the street. The marketing manager of the hotel is really friendly and professional: she helps me a lot of time solving problems with the organization of some trips in Bulgaria (finding the best price for me), printing documents (I was there for a Congress) and go on...thank you Boriana!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratieva, Manager at Sveta Sofia, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you were happy with your stay and we met your expectations. It is always our pleasure serving our guests and do everything possible for your pleasent stay. We do believe will see you again in future.
Regards,
Boriana Stratieva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sveta Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sveta Sofia

Address: 18 Pirotska Str, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sveta Sofia 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sveta Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sveta Sofia Hotel Sofia
Sveta Hotel Sofia
Sofia Sveta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sveta Sofia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.