We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent hotel in Sofia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Skipka Street, Sofia 1504, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 122 Hotels in Sofia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excelent hotel in Sofia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This hotel is in a central location in downtown Sofia, near to the Parliament and the University. It is from a 15 minute drive from the airport, and it also offers transfer service for a reasonable price with high quality. The standard room is enormous and very comfortable, the mini-bar is well equipped, the bathroom is big enough, with all the services you would need. Staff is friendly, speaks fluent English. The hotel also has a quite well equipped gym, although I had no time to try out the spa area, it left a good impression. The breakfast is decent, although nothing special, the selection of food was not that wide you’d expect from a 4 star hotel. The restaurant on the other hand is really on of the best I’ve been to in the city. Piano music, good wines and delicious food. The only thing I did not like was the cigarette smoke in the elevator. I’d definitely spend my time here again when in Sofia.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPI-Hotels, General Manager at Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank You for the excellent rating and good words for Boutique Hotel Crystal Palace. The management appreciates also Your recommends for serving breakfast. It is really strange that You’ve mentioned cigarette smoke because all rooms in the hotel and areas around are non smoking. Probably this happened only that time and we would like to apologize for the caused inconvenience. We hope to be our guest again when You visit Sofia.

Best regards!

From the Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    52
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
15
20
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This was part of a tour group booking.
Very nice hotel and room and we had a pleasant stay.
Within walking distance to centre of the city and sights to see.
Very nice room and clean.
Food was delicious for the included dinner.
Interesting that for breakfast all the cups were chipped - not a good look to the tourist and it was discussed on the departing bus.
Close to a park.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPI-Hotels, General Manager at Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Mrs. Josie,
Thank You very much for Your nice and positive review. We are glad that Your stay at Boutique Hotel Crystal Palace was pleasant. We appreciate Your recommendation about the details of the service and outlook in the breakfast room.
We wish You all the best!
From the Management
Boutique Hotel Crystal Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel is well situated in the City center, just behind Sofia University. All important sightseeings are available ona walking distance. The rooms are well equiped, clean and spacious. Personal is friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPI-Hotels, General Manager at Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Ludovit K,
We would like to thank You for Your excellent review. We appreciate every good word for the hotel and staff too. We hope You will stay again here when You come back to Sofia.

We wish You all the best!

From the Management
Boutique Hotel Crystal Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
364 helpful votes 364 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights as part of a tour of the Balkans.

This is a beautifully appointed hotel close to the centre and the Alexander Nevsky cathedral. We had a suite (202) and it was fabulous.

The bed was massive and very comfortable in a huge corner bedroom. Strange that only one single quilt was supplied but another single quilt was in the wardrobe !

The bathroom was luxurious BUT the floor is *lethal* - be very careful because the bath tub is very high and has a wide rim - I only chanced one shower as there is no grab rail and being slightly disabled I struggled to stay safe exiting.

The towels were large, plentiful and fluffy but there was only one loo roll all our stay.

We ate in the hotel both nights and the food was good.

Breakfasts were also good with plenty of choice.

I would highly recommend this lovely hotel for a stay in Sofia.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPI-Hotels, General Manager at Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Sirs,
Thank You very much for the excellent rating! Actually You had a free upgrade in deluxe suite. We are glad that You've liked it. The second quilt is usually in the wardrobe because there are big enough and practice shows that if the quests require separate blankets we just put those from the wardrobe. We also appreciate Your recommendation about the bathroom. It is strange that You did not see the grab rail which is on the wall. We already put two paper rolls in each room. We apologize for the caused inconvenience.

We wish You all the best and hope to welcome You again in Boutique Hotel Crystal Palace!

From the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wichita,ks
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Very convenient hotel. Near tourist sights e.g. Alexander Nevsky, but across the street from a park and near non-touristy Sofia neighborhood where foreign embassies are located. Appx. 7 minute walk to the Sofia University Metro Stop. No more than 20 minutes away from the airport. Many good restaurants and bars in the neighborhood. Across the street from a park.
Nice selection of choices on the breakfast buffet. Service was professional, but friendly. Rooms and hotel very clean.
Bathroom was fairly large and very clean.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms were quieter. I heard some people talking in the street late one night when I st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo Heights, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is centrally located near the yellow brick road and Sofia University. It I also near touristy sites and a metro station. It is only 15 minutes from the airport. The lobby is comfortable as is the bar and restaurant. There is a pretty patio associated with the restaurant. The hotel is extremely clean. The stairwell sparkles and smells like citrus. The rooms are just as clean. Beds are comfortable. I did not detect street noise. The bathroom is spacious w large tub and shower. There is plenty of storage space with closet and a safe. There is a flat screen tv with a variety of channels in different languages. This hotel is across the street from a park and is within walking distance of good bars and restaurants.service is top notch and friendly. I think breakfast is a convenient option with a large variety of options.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Nevada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel meets and exceeds any requirements a business traveler or touring passenger might want. Hotel staff speak English and are very patient with guests, who do not speak Bulgaria and do not read Cyrillic. The rooms are clean and spacious, the bathrooms, bathtubs and showers are without issue. The location could not be better: walking distance to non-commission 24/7 currency exchange office, cathedrals, monuments, lovely park begging for picnickers, shops, grocery stores, restaurants, you name it. The room price is reasonable and great value. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Skipka Street, Sofia 1504, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Sofia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
#20 Business Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel is a 4 star hotel located in downtown Sofia, next to the famous Doctor's Garden, Sofia's National Library, the University of Sofia, the Alexander Nevsky Cathedral and other main institutions, cultural sights and places of interest. The stylish hotel offers 63 spacious and cozy rooms and apartments behind a facade that is defined as an architectural monument. The elegantly furnished hotel is well equipped with modern amenities and has 2 conference rooms, a lobby bar, a sophisticated restaurant and a SPA & Wellness center. Crystal Palaces' restaurant and lobby are very popular amongst members of the Bulgarian government and high society. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Palace Boutique Sofia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.