We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in the City center, outstanding services” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Skipka Street, Sofia 1504, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 122 hotels in Sofia
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect location in the City center, outstanding services”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel is well situated in the City center, just behind Sofia University. All important sightseeings are available ona walking distance. The rooms are well equiped, clean and spacious. Personal is friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPI-Hotels, General Manager at Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Ludovit K,
We would like to thank You for Your excellent review. We appreciate every good word for the hotel and staff too. We hope You will stay again here when You come back to Sofia.

We wish You all the best!

From the Management
Boutique Hotel Crystal Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    51
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
15
20
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
356 helpful votes 356 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights as part of a tour of the Balkans.

This is a beautifully appointed hotel close to the centre and the Alexander Nevsky cathedral. We had a suite (202) and it was fabulous.

The bed was massive and very comfortable in a huge corner bedroom. Strange that only one single quilt was supplied but another single quilt was in the wardrobe !

The bathroom was luxurious BUT the floor is *lethal* - be very careful because the bath tub is very high and has a wide rim - I only chanced one shower as there is no grab rail and being slightly disabled I struggled to stay safe exiting.

The towels were large, plentiful and fluffy but there was only one loo roll all our stay.

We ate in the hotel both nights and the food was good.

Breakfasts were also good with plenty of choice.

I would highly recommend this lovely hotel for a stay in Sofia.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPI-Hotels, General Manager at Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Sirs,
Thank You very much for the excellent rating! Actually You had a free upgrade in deluxe suite. We are glad that You've liked it. The second quilt is usually in the wardrobe because there are big enough and practice shows that if the quests require separate blankets we just put those from the wardrobe. We also appreciate Your recommendation about the bathroom. It is strange that You did not see the grab rail which is on the wall. We already put two paper rolls in each room. We apologize for the caused inconvenience.

We wish You all the best and hope to welcome You again in Boutique Hotel Crystal Palace!

From the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wichita,ks
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Very convenient hotel. Near tourist sights e.g. Alexander Nevsky, but across the street from a park and near non-touristy Sofia neighborhood where foreign embassies are located. Appx. 7 minute walk to the Sofia University Metro Stop. No more than 20 minutes away from the airport. Many good restaurants and bars in the neighborhood. Across the street from a park.
Nice selection of choices on the breakfast buffet. Service was professional, but friendly. Rooms and hotel very clean.
Bathroom was fairly large and very clean.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms were quieter. I heard some people talking in the street late one night when I st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo Heights, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is centrally located near the yellow brick road and Sofia University. It I also near touristy sites and a metro station. It is only 15 minutes from the airport. The lobby is comfortable as is the bar and restaurant. There is a pretty patio associated with the restaurant. The hotel is extremely clean. The stairwell sparkles and smells like citrus. The rooms are just as clean. Beds are comfortable. I did not detect street noise. The bathroom is spacious w large tub and shower. There is plenty of storage space with closet and a safe. There is a flat screen tv with a variety of channels in different languages. This hotel is across the street from a park and is within walking distance of good bars and restaurants.service is top notch and friendly. I think breakfast is a convenient option with a large variety of options.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Nevada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel meets and exceeds any requirements a business traveler or touring passenger might want. Hotel staff speak English and are very patient with guests, who do not speak Bulgaria and do not read Cyrillic. The rooms are clean and spacious, the bathrooms, bathtubs and showers are without issue. The location could not be better: walking distance to non-commission 24/7 currency exchange office, cathedrals, monuments, lovely park begging for picnickers, shops, grocery stores, restaurants, you name it. The room price is reasonable and great value. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

What a nice friendly well run hotel...located right by the university and within easy walking distance from Sofia center. Nice clean, large rooms, with a tasty breakfast. English speaking staff. Reasonable rates. Located on a quiet street, across from a small park, and by several restaurants.

Room Tip: No worry...street side rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a lovely hotel that is excellently located within a short walking distance from the main tourist attractions, the city centre and the Alexander Nevsky Cahedral. There is a large park opposite where one can have a morning walk and an outlet of the famous "must do" Jimmy's Ice Cream parlour" next door. The only downside I felt was the overlarge lobby that lacked "warmth" and the huge breakfast area, which while necessary for groups, was too minimalistic for a boutique hotel.
The rooms were adequate and comfortable and quiet. We did not get to use the swimming pool but it looked rather attractive! I would not hesitate to strongly recommend this hotel to all my friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Skipka Street, Sofia 1504, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sofia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
#20 Business Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Palace Boutique Sofia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.