We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't go wrong” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Skipka Street, Sofia 1504, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 122 hotels in Sofia
Southern Nevada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel meets and exceeds any requirements a business traveler or touring passenger might want. Hotel staff speak English and are very patient with guests, who do not speak Bulgaria and do not read Cyrillic. The rooms are clean and spacious, the bathrooms, bathtubs and showers are without issue. The location could not be better: walking distance to non-commission 24/7 currency exchange office, cathedrals, monuments, lovely park begging for picnickers, shops, grocery stores, restaurants, you name it. The room price is reasonable and great value. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    52
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
15
20
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

What a nice friendly well run hotel...located right by the university and within easy walking distance from Sofia center. Nice clean, large rooms, with a tasty breakfast. English speaking staff. Reasonable rates. Located on a quiet street, across from a small park, and by several restaurants.

Room Tip: No worry...street side rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a lovely hotel that is excellently located within a short walking distance from the main tourist attractions, the city centre and the Alexander Nevsky Cahedral. There is a large park opposite where one can have a morning walk and an outlet of the famous "must do" Jimmy's Ice Cream parlour" next door. The only downside I felt was the overlarge lobby that lacked "warmth" and the huge breakfast area, which while necessary for groups, was too minimalistic for a boutique hotel.
The rooms were adequate and comfortable and quiet. We did not get to use the swimming pool but it looked rather attractive! I would not hesitate to strongly recommend this hotel to all my friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have stayed here on numerous occasions and it keeps getting better. Ever since Bulgaria became a member of the EU both the Hotel and the surrounding area has improved considerably.

Rooms are decent (always very well kept) and WIFI connection is stable, always a plus when on a business trip.

Good selection of Whiskey's at the bar. If you are not much of a drinker I recommend the freshly made juices. The carrot and orange one being my favorite.

Hotel restaurant is also surprisingly good but expensive in comparison to standard Sofia restaurants.

Staff is always very polite and helpful.

My only concern is that the Gym is a tad on the small side.

I will be going back though :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at the Crystal Palace in September 2012 for 2 nights when we arrived in Bulgaria, and 1 night before we left Bulgaria. Crystal Palace hotel was clean, quiet and best location in Sofia in my view. Small hotel with nice staff, great breakfast and all amenities included. We were in Bulgaria for 10 days traveled from Sofia to Black Sea. Crystal Palace was the best hotel we stayed for the price. I would recommend this hotel to anyone at any time!

Room Tip: Corner room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I attended a wedding here recently and I thought that it was a very nice place. The food we had was delicious and the service was well executed. Our friends who stayed in the rooms were pleased.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a very good hotel, part of a small group but with an individual feel to it. Very well appointed rooms (though tea and coffee making facilities would be nice) and spacious, high quality public areas. The hotel is in a great location, just a short stroll from Nevsky cathedral, with most other city centre attractions within easy walking distance. Food good (though the restaurant is very quiet at weekends).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Skipka Street, Sofia 1504, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Sofia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
#18 Business Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Palace Boutique Sofia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.