We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little hotel with lots of Character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Skipka Street, Sofia 1504, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 124 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gibraltar
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Little hotel with lots of Character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have stayed here on numerous occasions and it keeps getting better. Ever since Bulgaria became a member of the EU both the Hotel and the surrounding area has improved considerably.

Rooms are decent (always very well kept) and WIFI connection is stable, always a plus when on a business trip.

Good selection of Whiskey's at the bar. If you are not much of a drinker I recommend the freshly made juices. The carrot and orange one being my favorite.

Hotel restaurant is also surprisingly good but expensive in comparison to standard Sofia restaurants.

Staff is always very polite and helpful.

My only concern is that the Gym is a tad on the small side.

I will be going back though :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    60
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
16
21
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at the Crystal Palace in September 2012 for 2 nights when we arrived in Bulgaria, and 1 night before we left Bulgaria. Crystal Palace hotel was clean, quiet and best location in Sofia in my view. Small hotel with nice staff, great breakfast and all amenities included. We were in Bulgaria for 10 days traveled from Sofia to Black Sea. Crystal Palace was the best hotel we stayed for the price. I would recommend this hotel to anyone at any time!

Room Tip: Corner room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I attended a wedding here recently and I thought that it was a very nice place. The food we had was delicious and the service was well executed. Our friends who stayed in the rooms were pleased.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a very good hotel, part of a small group but with an individual feel to it. Very well appointed rooms (though tea and coffee making facilities would be nice) and spacious, high quality public areas. The hotel is in a great location, just a short stroll from Nevsky cathedral, with most other city centre attractions within easy walking distance. Food good (though the restaurant is very quiet at weekends).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I wound up at the Crystal Palace for a work function over several days. I live in Sofia, so am generally sceptical about the service offered by local establishments, especially those with ostentatious names like crystal palace.
However, I have only good things to say about this hotel - from the competence and courtesy of the staff, to the quality of the rooms and food, location - all excellent. Fantastic value too. I gave the rooms a 4/5 only because old world heavy furnishings aren't my cup of tea, but the quality in all other aspects well outweighed my style biases.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great food especially the breakfast the staff were friendly and spoke English . Took around 30 minutes by cab to the airport. Found a beautiful mosque in central Sofia opposite the McDonalds too which is around 15 minutes by cab from the hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was here checking out hotels for an upcoming tour and it is perfect...it had everything you could want in a lovely area of the city. Lovely helpful check in and my room was quiet and had all I could need. Now, no tea kettle but called room service and hot water was up in minutes.

Breakfast is a buffet style and plentiful to say he least.

I would agree with the internet. I was on the 6th floor and had problems too but not all the time....that was ok though as I needed sleep!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Skipka Street, Sofia 1504, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Sofia
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
#17 Business Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel is a 4 star hotel located in downtown Sofia, next to the famous Doctor's Garden, Sofia's National Library, the University of Sofia, the Alexander Nevsky Cathedral and other main institutions, cultural sights and places of interest. The stylish hotel offers 63 spacious and cozy rooms and apartments behind a facade that is defined as an architectural monument. The elegantly furnished hotel is well equipped with modern amenities and has 2 conference rooms, a lobby bar, a sophisticated restaurant and a SPA & Wellness center. Crystal Palaces' restaurant and lobby are very popular amongst members of the Bulgarian government and high society. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Palace Boutique Sofia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.