We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position - quiet and relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown Hotel

Save Saved
You added Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Downtown Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Vassil Levski Blvd, Sofia 1040, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 122 Hotels in Sofia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great position - quiet and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Good Service, Good breakfast.
Not a BIG 5 star, but a 4+ with all the services you need.
there is also a car park underground connected to the lobby, a gift in the city centre.
I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeliHTsonova, Public Relations Manager at Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for the great review and recommendation.
However, there has been a minor misunderstanding. We have only a street-side parking and not an underground one.
As in all major cities there are few free spots for cars in the center. Knowing this we always try to help our guest who require a parking for their stay at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    42
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
9
8
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very good, it's location is fantastic, only a short walk from the city center. The rooms are spacious. The staff were very friendly and they were all speaking English. Breakfast was ok. Overall I enjoyed it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GretaZGergova, Public Relations Manager at Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback about our hotel!
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and we will be delighted to welcome you back!
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This was a good hotel, with clean spactious rooms located in downtown Sofia, close to public transport routes and government offices. There was free wifi provided in all rooms, a good basic gym and a good breakfast buffet. The staff were nice and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to business travelers and others.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GretaZGergova, Public Relations Manager at Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for highlighting our best features as a hotel.
We are more than pleased that you appreciated and recommended us.
See you next time when you are in Sofia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara, Ontario
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Traveled with another couple on their first visit to Bulgaria. Hotel staff all spoke English and were very helpful. Breakfast had a good variety of food familiar to North Americans and items for the adventurous. Easy walk gets you to restaurants/bars/shopping. This property we used as our travel base(home) as we had multi-day trips away and returned here after. They had no problem with us keeping our excess luggage so we could travel light to Black Sea and Turkey. Downtown Hotel had a great price, a smaller hotel and suited our needs. Will use this property again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GretaZGergova, Public Relations Manager at Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, services and central location.
Our team is constantly trying to improve the facilities and rooms but most importantly to make you, our guests, get the feeling of a home away from home.
It is nice that you appreciated Sofia as a place of interest and a travel base as well. The next time you visit us we will be delighted to help you with car rentals or trip ideas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The hotel has a good location and friendly staff the room was nice and clean we stay one night. you can walk out of the hotel and there you are in the center of Sofia could walk where you like, we were 10 mins from nice bar and good restaurants. I will stay again, good price and quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariana_LT, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for your kind feedback. We are pleased to know you are contented with the complexity of services, amenities and features we offer to our guests. You are most welcome during your next visit to Sofia to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Clean rooms, english speaking personel, central, good breakfast everything was relaxing and joyful (good whiskey collection at the bar). good for fast bussines trips. good acces to parking, not so expensive

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariana_LT, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Mirel,
Thank you for your positive feedback. To make our customers feel joyous and contented and to cherish them is our only striving, so you made us believe one more time being on the right path. Thank you for encouraging our drive to continue in the same way. It is delightful to know that you could enjoy our Whiskey collection and appreciate its privileges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Small but very clean with excellent breakfast and very helpful staff. Only a short walk from the town centre. We arrived on an early flight and they allowed us into our room at midday. They supplied us with a map and helped us get our bearings. The drinks were great value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariana_LT, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear RuthMitch,
Thank you for your very positive annotation. We are happy that you could experience variety of services here at Downtown and enjoy your stay. We will be truly glad to welcome you again and make your stay even more unforgettable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Hotel

Address: 27 Vassil Levski Blvd, Sofia 1040, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Sofia
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Downtown Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the day absorbing all the vibrant culture, exclusive shopping and distinctive cafés that the capital has to offer, then return to the deluxe hospitality of the 4-star hotel Downtown, Sofia, Bulgaria.Located in the Sofia city centre the boutique hotel is within walking distance from the major financial institutions, historical sites and tourist attractions, in close proximity to the National Palace of Culture.Sofia International Airport as well as the Central Bus & Rail Stations are 15 minutes drive.Known for its unique architecture, elegant interior and attentive service, this luxurious 9-storey building combines home-style coziness and a peaceful atmosphere.Hotel Downtown comprises of 59 stylish rooms and suites with intimate atmosphere, all of them elegantly appointed and offering a comprehensive range of facilities: soundproof windows, working area, free high-speed Wi-Fi internet, individually controlled air conditioning, in-room safe, satellite/pay TV, minibar. En-suite bathroom with bathtub, hairdryer, telephone and extended choice of bathroom amenities, bathrobe and slippers are available to the guests.Restaurant seating 45 guests, lobby bar, 24-hour room service, 2 conference rooms, business centre, minibus transportation from/to Sofia Airport, non-smoking floors, laundry, pressing and dry cleaning, free of charge car parking complete the guests’ pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Hotel Sofia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.