We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suite Hotel Sofia

Save Saved
You added Suite Hotel Sofia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suite Hotel Sofia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1A, Yordan Yossifov Str., Sofia 1700, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 121 hotels in Sofia
Krakow, Poland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel is absolutely perfect! The staff is very kind and helpful and - most importantly - they actually speak English (not a given!). The food is delicious and the service at their Zest restaurant is immaculate. The rooms are spacious, very clean and comfortable. Moreover, you get to check out 24h after you check in, so if your flight out is in the late evening, it's not a problem at all! It is by far the best hotel I stayed in in Bulgaria. Definitely will come here during a next stay in Sofia.

Room Tip: Choose high levels for the views; some rooms have view on the courtyard of the hotel but others have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lora K, Front Office Manager at Suite Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for such a nice and positive review. It's amazing how positivity works! Your description of Suite Hotel Sofia is the feedback that any hotelier can only dream about. We strive to provide only the best service to all our guests and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our “Zest” restaurant.Your praise of our staff members will be shared.
We extend warm wishes to you and hope to welcome you to Suite Hotel Sofia again very soon.
Best Regards:
Lora Krastanova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
10
2
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is an excellent hotel and all the good points mentioned are true. Just 2 negatives ...

1. The beds are not very enticing, and rather hard. A bit like sleeping on a sofa bed.

2. Breakfast filter coffee is really lousy, and served from a machine. It's no way to start a day, and most people don't want to go to the opposite extreme and order espresso. When I complained to the manager (since the restaurant said that was all they could do), they did manage to bring something a bit stronger to my room -- but I strongly suspect it was the original machine coffee strengthened with a bit of Nescafé. Also, when you order a "pot", you basically get no more than a cup. They need to work on this.

I don't want to spoil the fun by awarding 3 stars, but ...

Room Tip: The basic room is very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lora K, Front Office Manager at Suite Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review posted on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Suite Hotel Sofia.
We hope you will have reasons to come back to Sofia and we will be honored if you choose our hotel. Please, inform us about your coffee preferences at that time, so we can meet your requirements. Coffee is a ritual, and we would really like to know that we can satisfy the needs of our guests. I will be delighted to meet you personally if your travel plans take you back to Suite Hotel Sofia. Thank you once again for the high remarks you have given on the hotel itself and the level of services that we provide.
Best Regards:
Lora Krastanova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed four nights in Suite Hotel Sofia and loved it. I had the standard Atelier room (€42 a night)with a big queensize bed that's more than adequate for two people. I didn't have a view but I loved the comfort and space of the room and the big bathroom. Anyway you can go up and sit on the balcony on the 12th floor restaurant and watch the changing colours on the mountains at sunset.
I paid an extra €12 Euro for breakfast which was adequate with a couple of cappachinos ... Also you get a very light dinner thrown in. You can eat cheaper around Sofia but I liked the convenience and the service was very good.
Loved the gym. There was an arc trainer, a running machine, bike peddle machine, free weights, a couple of machine weights and a bench to do sit ups. Towels and water r provided or u can buy bottled water there.
The hotel also has free wifi that can be a bit frustrating because if u do not keep surfing it cuts out so uve got to connect again.
The location can be a draw back because it's not easy to come back and relax for a while and then continue on with the day. But, the metro is a fifteen minute walk away and the hotel provides free shuttles to the metro which u must book. It's pretty quick on the metro. Trains are regular. Can't complain. Taxis are cheap and it only costs 10 lev to get into the city. Also there's plenty of buses passing by. The Museum of Totalitarian art is a fifteen minute walk from the Hotel and a five minute walk from the metro. There are plenty of statues from the socialist area in the garden and theres a propoganda video to watch, a gallery of socialist posters icluding a couple of huge oil paintings.
Remember if u book online it's cheaper as well as updating ur room to say the studio. To do this at the hotel is double the online price.
Also staff are incredibly attentive, polite and provide five star service. The Hotel is a great deal @€42.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lora K, Front Office Manager at Suite Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful comments about Suite Hotel Sofia. It is very pleasing to read your words of praise and we thank you heartily for taking the time to share your feedback with everyone.
We are delighted that you find our staff to be “attentive and polite” because it is people’s attitude that really make the difference. Welcoming guests is more of an art than just a business for us, thus paying attention to the details is of great importance. We are delighted that our efforts have been noticed.
We are looking forward to welcome you back as a guest of the Suite Hotel Sofia.
Best Regards:
Lora Krastanova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

On business located to the University of National and World Economy the location of this hotel is perfect, but if you are a tourist aiming at the sights downtown Sofia it may take you approx 20 minutes by a fast taxi to get to the Alexander Nevsky Cathedral. There are other combinations (Metro) which may seem faster but which probably are not in total ...
However, several local restaurants and a number of bars in the vicinity of the hotel may alternatively be worth while visiting ...
The hotel is brand new, so seems the fine staff to be, the result is rather slow checking in/checking out service - and you may expect to wait for half an hour to get your light lunch in the restaurant - and need to call for the breakfast coffee to be served....
But the general service attitude is fine and the young staff are all fairly fluent in English - it just takes time ...
My guest room was a very spacious standard room and had all amenities, in a "five star style", clean and with fine textiles in bed and bath room.
The room rates as well as the prices in restaurants/bar and minibar are on a comfortable level. The restaurant is on 20. floor, with outdoor terrace and a fine view.
If you at not confined to central locations and generally are in a relaxing mode, this hotel is a very good choice...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lora K, Front Office Manager at Suite Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your honest feedback about your recent stay at Suite Hotel Sofia. Our goal is to make our home feel like yours by providing the best hotel services. I am sorry to hear that your experience was not as outstanding as you expected. I already discussed your comments with our staff, in order to do full improvement with the service timing. Thank you for appreciating our team and their eagerness to create meaningful connections with our guests.
I do hope you will allow us another opportunity to provide you with the service and gastronomy you expect and deserve.
Best Regards:
Lora Krastanova
Front Office Manager
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is new with all the modern amenities and conference facilities. Stayed here for an international meeting between 3rd and 6th October. The only thing letting it down was the unimaginative food, served buffet style and not very hot. The menu was almost the same at every meal and some items ran out at every meal, with no more being offered.

Room Tip: My room was very spacious and had good views. every one in my party commented the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lora K, Front Office Manager at Suite Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share this review.
We would also like to thank you for the valuable feedback you shared with us, because it all will help us in our ongoing efforts to meet guests’ expectations. We can assure you that your recommendations and remarks regarding the restaurant food will be taken into consideration.
Naturally, we would love to be at your service again in the future and hope that your travel plans will take you back to Bulgaria.
Best Regards:
Lora Krastanova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed there 2 weeks ago. The opening party was the day before I leave the hotel. So the hotel is brand new. I work in the construction field, and can say that they built it properly. The service is perfect, all the staff is young and very enthousiastic, always smiling and helping. Rooms are large, bathrooms too. I ordered at the room service, and food was very good, as usual in Bulgaria. The only problem is that the hotel is a bit far from the center. You won't walk, you have to take a taxi who'll be booked by the reception, and you will never wait more than 5 minutes for it. The fare is about 5 € for the city center. I'm now writing from a bad hotel which will also have a review, and I plan to come back to Suite Hotel Sofia next time I'll be in Sofia.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lora K, Front Office Manager at Suite Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your wonderful comments on the hotel, the restaurant and the staff. We are flattered that we have managed to bring some positive emotions during your stay. My colleagues are thrilled to know that you have given such a high remark on the interactions that you have had with the staff.
We are looking forward to your next trip to Bulgaria and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again as a guest of the Suite Hotel Sofia. Please, contact us at that time
Best Regards:
Lora Krastanova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

High ceilings, huge windows, brightly lit, friendly staff, and located among several blocks of bars, restaurants and markets with students out and about at all hours of the day. Nevertheless, a modern quiet hotel room with excellent sound isolation. Simply terrific!

Not so near the downtown. However, with taxis so cheap, the Sofia Suite Hotel is a terrific bargain.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lora K, Front Office Manager at Suite Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a great review - we are always pleased to read that we provide only the best service and standards to our guests. We are looking forward to your return and making your next stay even better! Please, contact us at that time.

Kind Regards:
Lora Krastanova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Suite Hotel Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Sofia

Address: 1A, Yordan Yossifov Str., Sofia 1700, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 121 hotels in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Sofia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Suite Hotel Sofia is the newest 4-star property conveniently located in the “Students city” of Sofia featuring a contemporary hotel concept: innovative design, combined with home comfort, and services to meet the modern active lifestyle. The Suite Hotel Sofia offers ateliers, studios, suites, all extremely roomy (30-80 sqm) with large opening windows, free Wi-Fi, extra-wide LCD, satellite TV channels, tea & coffee making facilities, free 24-hour access to gym and web corner, indoor parking and shuttle service. 24 hour room availability concept The panoramic Zest restaurant offers healthy home made food within a modern designed interior, full of colors and emotions. Deal for meal concept is available – chef’s 2-course meal selection of the month with 30% off. No delivery fee for room service.An original conference centre is available on the 11th panoramic floor with 5 meeting rooms with natural light and fresh air. The capacity varies from 10 to 120 participants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Suite Hotel Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suite Hotel Sofia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.