We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“doesn't get better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sense Hotel Sofia

Save Saved
You added Sense Hotel Sofia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sense Hotel Sofia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16, Tsar Osvoboditel Blvd., Sofia 1000, Bulgaria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 120 hotels in Sofia
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“doesn't get better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We did not have any issues with this hotel. I was surprised to read the reviews that mentioned issues.

We had a great time. We travelled purely for pleasure.
The room was very modern and comfortable. The restaurant so tasty, we ate lunch there every single day. Breakfast was great too!
The gym is small but has everything you need, and I didn't take a dip in that saltwater pool but next time I will!

Service was always with a smile and very pleasant.
The bonus is that on the rooftop there is a great bar/lounge that has spectacular views and is a lot of fun! The location is perfect, close to all shopping and all kind of restaurant and cafes!
When I go back, I am staying at Sense Hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    10
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
14
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights – a mix of business and vacation – in early September. For years, we’ve been staying at the Radisson next door but decided to give Hotel Sense a try. The room was modern, well appointed and comfortable but there were issues with the AC the first day. I think they don’t turn the AC ahead of time and it takes hours for the room to cool off if it has been previously unoccupied. As others noted, no plug for the hairdryer in the bathroom, which ends up being really inconvenient if you are trying to style your hair and want to have the hairdryer plugged near a mirror. My favorite part were the Molton Brown amenities – a nice touch.

Service overall was very friendly, at times trying too hard, yet unprofessional and at times lacking – we had to make an effort to get a menu or the check at the lobby bar on two occasions.

Major fiasco at the rooftop bar both nights – it seems to always be reserved for some private party and even though on one occasion the sign said the private party ends at 12 and it was past that time, we were initially turned down and had to speak to a manager to get access to the terrace. It seems to me the hotel has a steadier revenue stream from the bar rather than the rooms (there were very few guests staying at the hotel) and acts accordingly but this is an unacceptable treatment of hotel guests.

Breakfast was underwhelming in both selection and quality. On at least one morning there was an extension cord stretching across the floor of the entire breakfast area, presenting a serious trip hazard, so a staff member was tasked with warning each hotel guest upon entering.

Although Hotel Sense is a great deal in terms of rates, until I can see from the reviews that the service has improved substantially, I will be sticking with the Radisson with its impeccably professional service. My advice to the management of Hotel Sense is to spend some time observing how the Radisson is run and learn from them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a brand new hotel and they deserve a great quotation...
- Hotel is conveniently located in the center, very close to sofia airport terminal 2, very nice loacation across a.o. Austrian embassy.
Great view from the room on the third floor towards the main street... (room 311)
Rooms are brand new and everything is high tech... big rooms with lot's of space on the desk to do some work... Unfortunately no time to visit spa and pool section...
Everything is state of the art, top class with very large and comfortable beds...
Bathroom was fantastic and big with bad and rain shower, bidet, and very well designed, just a minus the shower water tends to run into the bathroom, design error but they promised to take care of that...
I noticed they are very eager to learn from comments and they are gratefull when you point out something... they want to learn how to improve, how can you critize a hotel when they have that mentality...this is a big 5++++ for me :-)

- The staff: I travel a lot and I can assure you, especially in a country from the old Eastern block, good service can be difficult to find... not here... they speak flawless English, some Russian and do their best to give you the best service possible...nothing was to much trouble for the receptionist (Peter) and the doormen... they all did an extremely good job in helping out with anything you asked...extremely impressed by this service...

- Another big +++: they don't rip you off:prices in the bar and restaurant are very modest. Room service prices are also very modest... you don't end up paying a fortune for ordering something in the hotel...just another small remark: In most hotels you get coffe making facility with free coffee and tea bags... here it was an very nice nespresso machine but you had to pay 2 euro's for the pads...that's a bit of a setback since you can get a coffee for 1 leva in one of the pubs around the corner (= 0.5 euro)...

- internet: free wifi for all your devices and with an access code which makes it more secured.
Internet connection was very good (excellent) and did not have any connection problems during our 3 days stay...

- skybar on the 9th floor gives an excellent view over the city and you can enjoy same drinks and food as in the bar downstairs... it attracted a lot of visitors... there we had a small setback with a young inexperienced waiter who ended up delivering the appetizers not with the drinks but all together with the main course... we can forgive this, it was very crowded and they did their best... you can not be angry when they try so hard to do it good :-)

Breakfast was very good also, all the necessary was to be found and also there staff is very present to help and assist when needed... good value for the money again there...

Conclusion: very good hotel with an excellent and very helpful staff, great rooms, great view and affordable for this category of hotel in the center...

I hope they manage to keep this kind of service at this price for a long time and I will definitively go back there on my next business trip

Room Tip: rooms with view on the embassy and church are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyko M, Director of Sales at Sense Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your extensive and positive feedback.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

We very much appreciate the candid feedback we receive for all the facilities which you have used during your stay.

I trust that you will find a time to visit also our SPA Centre, where you can have your treatment with ESPA Cosmetics. We are the only Hotel in Bulgaria, exclusively using the ESPA.

Best Regards,
Boyko Manev
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights this week. Let me start by saying the staff here is great, from the front desk, to the bars and breakfast folks, to the spa folks. Everyone was friendly, took care of what you asked for, and did so in a happy way. Nonetheless, there were a few things that a business hotel needs to get right to make the stay experience better.

Positives: Hotel arranged a transfer from the airport and it was there, on time, and made it to the hotel, efficiently and pleasantly. Front desk check-in including being welcomed with a glass of champagne--hard to beat. When I asked about changing money, the front desk does not do that but the front door supervisor walked me down to the change place, about 3 minutes around the corner. Excellent printer and copier in the business center. Great spa center staff, who were happy to get you a water or a towel whenever needed. Excellent room service food and staff who brought it--they even prepared a tea for us after closing. Rooftop bar has phenomenal views of the city center from the topic including Alexander's Orthodox Church. Great internet; no limit on the number of devices and no additional costs. Does require daily log-in. Good yogurt, fruit, and pastries for breakfast.

Negatives: Every room does not have an iron and an ironing, unlike say the local Hilton does. In fact, you have to call and ask for one from housekeeping. Then, depending on the number of folks using them, you may or may not get one. If you have a meeting or dinner to go to, plan ahead. But really, is it that unreasonable to have one in each room. One manager suggested the reason they did not do that was because of a fire risk. Really?? The shower in the room has such a narrow clearance on the floor that you cannot open the door and have it clear the bath towel on the floor, thus requiring lots of water on the floor. Unlike many hotels, this one has lots of water pressure and when you turn on the tap, you can guarantee you'll get splashed and wet. The gym has one treadmill, one incumbent bike, several weigh machines, and some free weights. This is inadequate when more than three people want to use the room at the same time. There is a gym next door but didn't seem to have an arrangement with the hotel. Room on the front-street side can be a little loud, the beds are not terribly comfortable, and the heating system has issues the first night of our stay. Same scrambled eggs and sausage served every day; need some variety folks. Often runs out of juice and you have to ask for more. Housekeeping had to be called daily to come in and clean up. Turn down service is basically handing you a bottle of water and a card telling you tomorrow's weather.

Good to know item: If you are traveling with a spouse or significant other, they will add a charge of 20 Lev to the tab. That covers breakfast and the use of the facilities.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is quieter but with a view; street side, above say the 3rd floor has great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyko M, Director of Sales at Sense Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.
We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts.

I have taken your comments forward with our Executive Housekeeper, SPA Manager and F&B Manager, as we take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide a friendly welcome and we are so sorry this was not the case. Please be assured that the personnel concerned have undergone re-training.

We look forward to welcome you again at the SENSE Hotel Sofia!

Best Regards,
Boyko Manev
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Once you enter this hotel you could be anywhere in the world. I found this to be well designed as far as "design" hotels go, but gimmicky in the same old way.
All in all it's clean, comfortable, and swish. Could be the right place depending on the nature of your visit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This place has opened just few months ago and it is a real achievement!! the views from the roof bar or the suite of the eighth floor are just amazing.
From the light features to the lifts or the modern furniture everything there is very modern...If you are allergic to modern hotel, just keep walking.
there is no specific concierge service or not very well signed maybe but the hotel is just across the Russian church near Parliament square, few steps from Alexander Nevski cathedral: in one word: IDEAL!!

Room Tip: a suite on the 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyko M, Director of Sales at Sense Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review and for your kind comments regarding our team and the magnificiant view from the rooms.
We are pleased to learn that you found our hotel to be ideal when visiting Sofia.

Your positive comments will be shared with the Team! Thank you once again for your review.

Best Regards,
Boyko Manev
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed here for two weeks in August while on business - 15 nights in a hotel definitely gives you a good idea of what is working and what isn't so here goes:

What is:
- Lovely rooms, spacious and many have great views
- Free Wifi
- Solid amenities
- Excellent breakfast
- Great restaurant and room service
- Bar/restaurant staff is friendly, helpful and gracious
- Great view from the upstairs bar

What isn't:
- Housekeeping clearly has no check-list - every day I returned to find something missing. One day I had no towels, another no toilet paper, I ran out of shampoo, no dry cleaning bag, etc.
- Laundry service took my ladies clothes and returned the clothes of a rather large man. Took considerable discussion to straighten it out
- My floors went days and days without being swept or cleaned (laminate floors so really was noticeable)
- They allow smoking in the restaurant and bar so both are miserable if you are sensitive to smoke
- Balcony rooms allow smoking so again, if you are sensitive to smoke you may have a problem
- Staff needs to be treated better - several quit during my stay, resulting in restaurant closures as there was no back up
- Showers have a horrible wood floor that is already showing signs of wear, was installed unevenly, seemed unhygienic
- Showers are missing the stripping at the bottom of the door, resulting in a bathroom mini-flood after every shower
- Lobby has only 2 CDs on rotation - the music is maddening

Again - LOTS of potential and upside, but definitely some kinks need fixing

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyko M, Director of Sales at Sense Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your positive words and constructive critisim.

We take all of your feedback very positive, and at the same time in a way that will help us to improve our level of service.

We are relatively new hotel and it takes time while "all the stones are placed where they are supposed to be".
All of your comments will be shared with the respective Head of Departments - Housekeeping Manager,Food and Beverage and the HR Manager.

I believe that on your next trip with us you will experience the changes in a positive way.

Best Regards,
Boyko Manev
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sense Hotel Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sense Hotel Sofia

Address: 16, Tsar Osvoboditel Blvd., Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 120 hotels in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sense Hotel Sofia 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the most aristocratic boulevard in the very heart of Sofia, Sense’s focus on refined, and modern contemporary design is mixed with luxurious and sensual elements to create a unique "new classic" venue which will not date as casually fashionable hotel. The superb location also offers numerous restaurants, bars and nightlife spots, as well as an easy walk to the main government and cultural buildings, tourist sights and shopping areas.All rooms are comfortably designed and offer full range of amenities a guest may need. Elegant furniture and smart materials (tactile stone, natural wood, corian and leather) with an ultramodern twist created by the integrated technical advantages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Sense Hotel Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sense Hotel Sofia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.