We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great potential, but LOTS of rough edges” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sense Hotel Sofia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sense Hotel Sofia to your Saves list
Sense Hotel Sofia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16, Tsar Osvoboditel Blvd., Sofia 1000, Bulgaria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 124 Hotels in Sofia
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great potential, but LOTS of rough edges”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed here for two weeks in August while on business - 15 nights in a hotel definitely gives you a good idea of what is working and what isn't so here goes:

What is:
- Lovely rooms, spacious and many have great views
- Free Wifi
- Solid amenities
- Excellent breakfast
- Great restaurant and room service
- Bar/restaurant staff is friendly, helpful and gracious
- Great view from the upstairs bar

What isn't:
- Housekeeping clearly has no check-list - every day I returned to find something missing. One day I had no towels, another no toilet paper, I ran out of shampoo, no dry cleaning bag, etc.
- Laundry service took my ladies clothes and returned the clothes of a rather large man. Took considerable discussion to straighten it out
- My floors went days and days without being swept or cleaned (laminate floors so really was noticeable)
- They allow smoking in the restaurant and bar so both are miserable if you are sensitive to smoke
- Balcony rooms allow smoking so again, if you are sensitive to smoke you may have a problem
- Staff needs to be treated better - several quit during my stay, resulting in restaurant closures as there was no back up
- Showers have a horrible wood floor that is already showing signs of wear, was installed unevenly, seemed unhygienic
- Showers are missing the stripping at the bottom of the door, resulting in a bathroom mini-flood after every shower
- Lobby has only 2 CDs on rotation - the music is maddening

Again - LOTS of potential and upside, but definitely some kinks need fixing

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyko M, Director of Sales at Sense Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your positive words and constructive critisim.

We take all of your feedback very positive, and at the same time in a way that will help us to improve our level of service.

We are relatively new hotel and it takes time while "all the stones are placed where they are supposed to be".
All of your comments will be shared with the respective Head of Departments - Housekeeping Manager,Food and Beverage and the HR Manager.

I believe that on your next trip with us you will experience the changes in a positive way.

Best Regards,
Boyko Manev
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    43
    19
    3
    6
See reviews for
11
35
15
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is by far the most stylish and tastefully furbished hotel in Sofia I stayed in (previous hotels included Central Park, Grand Hotel, Radisson, Park Plaza, Les Fleurs). It is adjacent to the modern art gallery and there is some really good artwork in the hotel as well. I loved the swimming pool and rooftop bar (with excellent view of the cathedral) in particular. Personally, I'm happy with just fruit and yoghurt for breakfast and found these of excellent quality as well as the coffee (sometimes a rare thing even in 5 star hotels), but if you are on vacation and looking forward to a huge breakfast buffet, you might be disappointed as the selection is rather small compared to other hotels of this calibre. Molton Brown toiletries are a nice touch, even if they were not replenished during my 3-nights-stay.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room with windows to the Blvd. for the best view. Mine overlooked the yard with res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Quite a lovely hotel located right in downtown. For the price, the value exacted is well worth your effort. No issues with the rooms. Very spacious and each room is nicely decorated with comfortable furnishings. Bathrooms are very clean and service is prompt and accommodating. The front desk is responsive at all times and willing to help facilitate a comfortable and stress-free stay. Recommendations:
Visit the roof-top bar even if it is only for the view.
Overall, the Hotel is worth the cost.

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor for outstanding views of the city. The front of the hotel and rooms on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

As à business traveller, I see many hotels. This hotel for me stands out for the total package.
From the elegant surrounding, and atmosphere (a pleasure for the eye and also the musical ambience is very pleasant), an excellent Internet connection throughout the complete building, good food, nice fitness
And a stunning rooftop bar. It allowed me to combine work, relaxation and sports in a very pleasant way. Exactly what I look for.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

First time visiting Sofia, I was so lucky I chose that hotel! Everything looks like magazine photos! The decoration is great, the service is very good and the stuff is really very polite. But the best part of all is the roof garden where you can drink your coffee watching all the city from above! Totally recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stepping into the main lobby you can already feel the stylish and exquisite ambiance of the hotel.
The rooftop bar impresses first of all by the scenic view on Nevsky cathedral. The terrace is well designed, live DJ plays an unobtrusive chill-out music. It's a lovely place for a romantic drink or a small intimate celebration.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was a real gem of a hotel to find. Only a few months old yet staff and systems working faultlessly. Nice (cool, chic, funky) reception and bar, great roof bar with stunning views and cool south-of-France vibe. Plus very unusual stainless pool with sauna, steam room, spa and small but very well equipped gym.

Location is good too, right side of city for airport and 10-15 minute walk to Vitosha Boulevard and other shopping areas.

I loved staying here, as you can tell. Bed was big and comfy with real air conditioning and lots of nice touches in the room - Moulton brown toiletries, big walk in shower, Iilly coffee machine, quality linen and towels. Real wood floor and even the door had a leather coating and was padded!

Only downside is the drinks and food is a little high, but quality and service superb so I think this can be forgiven. If you can get a good rate - stay here.
PS: Oh yes, breakfast is great too - freshly squeeze orange, bottomless coffee and lots of choice at the buffet. Also, room had big screen TV but did not use, and free good-quality Wifi that I did!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quietest but front rooms have view of Cathedral. Search the hotel booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sense Hotel Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sense Hotel Sofia

Address: 16, Tsar Osvoboditel Blvd., Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 124 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sense Hotel Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the most aristocratic boulevard in the very heart of Sofia, Sense’s focus on refined, and modern contemporary design is mixed with luxurious and sensual elements to create a unique "new classic" venue which will not date as casually fashionable hotel. The superb location also offers numerous restaurants, bars and nightlife spots, as well as an easy walk to the main government and cultural buildings, tourist sights and shopping areas.All rooms are comfortably designed and offer full range of amenities a guest may need. Elegant furniture and smart materials (tactile stone, natural wood, corian and leather) with an ultramodern twist created by the integrated technical advantages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sense Hotel Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sense Hotel Sofia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.