We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Sofia

Save Saved
You added Novotel Sofia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Sofia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Tsarigradsko Shousse Bvld, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 121 hotels in Sofia
Zlin, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Fine hotel not so far from airport (7 min by car) and with good connection to the hearth of Sofia. Close to hotel is located big shopping mall, main road to citi-centre is oposite to main entrance. Perfect service, very nice rooms and soft drinks on the room daily for free. Tasty breakfast and very good business lunch (3 courses). Room, restaurant and all public spaces was very clean. Only one problem was with business corner and impossibility to use printer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent D, General Manager at Novotel Sofia, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Novotel Sofia with us!

I would like to express my gratitude for your kind words! I am really happy that you liked all our services and amenities and moreover you had the chance to taste our delicious business lunch!

We would be really glad to welcome you again with us!

Kind Regards,
Vincent Dujardin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    54
    12
    14
    4
See reviews for
15
25
3
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Very good Novotel, one of the best. Only complaint was the wifi in room was accessible only near the door and. Even then it dropped out a bit. However it's nice not to be connected sometimes. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent D, General Manager at Novotel Sofia, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Jason,

I would like to thank you for your review on Novotel Sofia!

Thank you for the kind words and regarding the wifi, I am happy to inform you that we have already changed the whole network and devices and you will find the big difference in speed and connection on your next visit to Novotel Sofia!

Once again thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us and looking forward to welcome you again!

Kind Regards,
Vincent Dujardin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Great service and very service minded personnel with above average English knowledge. A new hotel with high standard rooms. We had to get up early to catch a red eye flight from Sofia and the staff arranged a breakfast to go for me and my colleague because we had to leave before the breakfast was served. Located 10 minutes from the airport and a taxi costs under 5 EUR. Highly recommended!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent D, General Manager at Novotel Sofia, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Mattias,

I would like to thank you for this review on your stay with us!

I want to thank you about your positive comments about our team! I am really glad that you were satisfy with our services and amenities and I would be really happy to welcome you again with us!

Once again thank you for your wonderful review!

Kind Regards,
Vincent Dujardin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I have been surprised of my experience compared to the fellow members of Tripadvisor. Yes the Novotel seems recently build and is very conveniently located, being closed to the shopping and on the main road to rapidly commute to the airport, the center, or the business park. But is has the worst breakfast I have ever seen in a Novotel, the rooms are much too warm without possibility to decrease the temperature. The staff was not helpful, when asked to book a taxi for a certain time, they would just call it when I was coming down to inquire where it was. the person at the check-out struggled for a good 10 minutes to cancel the pre authorization on the card, making me being late for a meeting. Finally I found the quality of the pillows also substandard, this hotel is at best offering the services of an Ibis.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent D, General Manager at Novotel Sofia, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Sir,
I would like to first thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at Novotel Sofia!

I was really disappointed to read that we could not meet your expectations on this stay with us! We strive at providing the highest quality of service and we take a great pride in our team and their training so I was really unpleasantly surprised of the above described situations. I could assure you that I will personally look into the matter and I really hope that we would be able to welcome you again and compensate you for your troubles on your last stay with us!

Please accept our sincere apology and hope to see you soon with us!

Kind Regards,
Vincent Dujardin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sofia

Address: 117 Tsarigradsko Shousse Bvld, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 121 hotels in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sofia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Novotel Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Sofia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.