We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bristol Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Bristol Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bristol Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69, Bul. Hristo Botev, Sofia 1303, Bulgaria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 124 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

As read in another trip advisor review of the same location it is an ' affordable luxury'. I must agree with this because it was a bit expensive considering the price in Euros, however, since it has American standards and quality, I must admit that the hotel's staff did an awesome job in giving us a warm welcome and Bulgarian hospitality. Valentin and Ivana, were very kind to us , and would stay again if we were to come back to Sofia.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    95
    25
    5
    5
See reviews for
32
70
27
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lillesommerfugl
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. From the reviews, the pictures online and the price level, we expected more. This is not a four star hotel, more like a three star hotel. If it had been advertised as three stars, I would have given it a rating of four.

It is quite well located, although tourists should be aware that this area is known to not be the best. We did not know that until we had booked it, and when our friends came to meet us they told us more about the street the hotel is on, and we were not impressed.

Our room was quite small, the bed not very comfortable. The rooms were a bit dated, and the luxury was definitely missing. The bathroom was quite nice, but the toiletries were very cheap and bad. There was a mini bar in the room which was nice. The rooms were clean and the sheets and towels were clean.

The tv had a great selection of English lanuage cabel tv channels, which was a great change from many other Eastern European hotels.

The breakfasts had a selection of different kinds of cheeses and meats and pastries, which I did not try. There was also fruit and vegetables, which were fresh and nice. The coffee was quite nice as well. However, the staff would not fill anything up again, if it went empty on the buffet table, unless asked. That made breakfast a very annoying event for me, as I had to ask for more coffee, more cut up fruit and vegetables, and there was still one hour left of breakfast.

The staff is quite nice, even if some of their procedures are a little strange. When I went to check out, I had to wait to be served, even though the staff saw me standing by the desk, and they were not doing anything.

Overall I would say this hotel is ok, but nothing more.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Perfect location, extremly pleasant and friendly staff. Good car parking options. Nice breakfast. Clean and funcional room, as well as the bathroom. Good value for money. Deserve high recommendations.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Quality hotel and staff. The beds were very comfortable, rooms well decorated, lovely shower. We arrived very late due to delays on our trip, however the reception staff were more than happy to wait for us and even park the car in the secure car park we booked. The breakfast next morning was lovely, great choice and very nice atmosphere in their restaurant. We left the hotel feeling well looked after and ready for the continuation of our journey.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I have not one thing negative to say about Bristol hotel. I stayed here from April 17-23 and could not have made a better choice. It's convenient to everything. Walk everywhere in Sofia from this location. I loved my room even the quirky half ceiling near the window (room 605). Everything was very clean and comfortable and very reasonably priced. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly to the point that one of them not only told me about a couple of tours, but she actually booked one of them for me! I didn't eat at the hotel restaurant I ate everything outside. By the way there's a really good Turkish restaurant called the Soup House right across the street. My first time visit to Sofia was very delightful and most of the credit has to go to Bristol hotel. I'd def stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel was very clean and well-equipped - four-star quality. The staff were very friendly and helpful with luggage etc. I had a very pleasant stay with a great breakfast in the morning. I would highly recommend this hotel - great value.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The room (2 connected no door) was OK. The children slept on the couch (turned to bed) and on an extra bed. The lights in the room could be improved (specialy in the corridor of the safe and for reading (bed lights). Also in the NEW bathroom (perfect) a light on top of the mirrow would be of an advantage. Flatscreen TV in both rooms.

Sleeping / noise = nothing to mention, ok
Breakfast = ok, fresh fruit, eggs etc all there and also refilled for late breakfast.
Staff = ok, very kind and very helpfull.
Distance to city = Walking distance for 5 year old (15min)
Would I stay here again = yes

If you ask they can pick you up from the airport (20€) / very advisable unless you speak
bulgarian !

Eating outside - next to the grand hotel there is a restaurant on the 18th floor - go and eat (lunch/ dinner) there top class restaurant - low cost - great view over the whole city.

General view: In this hotel you come to sleep and have breakfast for the rest you're on the road. If you want to stay in your room for longer periods choose the Grand hotel or Sheraton both much more expensive in everything.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bristol Hotel

Address: 69, Bul. Hristo Botev, Sofia 1303, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 124 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bristol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New luxury Best Western Plus Bristol Hotel is located in the heart of Sofia, ready to meet the sophisticated tastes of every guest with a preference for high class, warm hospitality and international standard of service. The architecture of the hotel is a typical modern urban style, perfectly recorded in the aristocratic part of the Bulgarian capital, Sofia known as the Largo. 7-Story building creates a corporate business style but with a touch of home comfort. The elegant and spacious rooms are designed in classic colors burgundy, green and brown, perfectly combined with white leather furniture and dark wood. The restaurant at the European level, the lobby bar with an English flair and modern conference hall pleasant surprise guests. Best Western Hotel Bristol Plus is a symbol of good taste and iconic luxury, but affordable prices for customers who know what they look for and how to find it. Very convenient location for a hotel near the historical and cultural sites, government and city institutions makes it a desirable destination and starting point for any visitor of modern Sofia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Bristol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.