We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Sofia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Sofia to your Saves list
Ramada Sofia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131 Maria Luisa Blvd, Sofia 1202, Bulgaria (Formerly Sofia Princess Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 124 Hotels in Sofia
Varna, Bulgaria
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

although the hotel itself was good , staff helpful and friendly , breakfast excellent , position good ... I was very disappointed with the wrong info on the website it states "

Hotel Features
General
Room Service, Disabled Access, Air Conditioned, Non-Smoking Rooms, Mini Bar, Refrigerator, Cable / Satellite TV, Coffee / Tea Maker, Hair Dryer, TV, Disabled Accessible Rooms, Wheel Chair Access, Bathrobes, Shower, Cots ""

when i pointed out there was NO coffee/tea making facility and empty mini bar ...I was told that was only for Superior rooms !!

another website states ""The Dedeman Princess Sofia Hotel is situated within walking distance to tourist sights and commercial areas of the city, offering luxurious rooms in a modern building. Being 12 km from Sofia International Airport, near to the Central Railway and International Bus Station, the hotel enjoys a convenient location and won the Bulgaria's 2009 Best Convention Hotel prize. The lobby bar has a pleasant ambience and the Meridien Restaurant serves international cuisine. The room price includes free coffee and tea service as well as mineral water. You can use the fitness centre and the indoor pool for free. ""


wrong info ..I suggest you get it sorted as false description of facilities is not only wrong but deceptive..not a good advert for you or bulgaria

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    102
    101
    32
    16
See reviews for
32
49
40
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel entrance and lobby fill you with false promises.
You walk in and think this is a top of the range hotel. However, when you see the rooms, they are extremely dated and do not have the basic facilities most modern hotels have such as no room safe. We had a triple room and the ventilation in the room was poor. A massive window which opens (but depending on which way the wind is blowing - the window makes no difference. The air con vent was 3x6 inches (for a room with 3 beds) and at no point during the 4 days there did we find the air con to be operational.
The toilet flush did not work and you had to toggle it to get the cistern to fill.
If you asked for an iron in your room, they refuse (safety reasons) - however they allow smoking in the rooms - ironic????

We went for a lads holiday and only needed a place to sleep so this was a good choice and the hotel has a casino so also a good point.

Would not recommend for a family/couples getaway.

The door men are very helpful and so were the night staff at front desk but the girls were always very grumpy and rude.

The hotel spa offers treatments and I would definitely recommend the massages - great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I admit I only stayed here because I could walk up from the train/bus station. We did not make it in time to make a connection to Veliko Tarnovo. The reception staff are lovely, and do offer reasonable discount rates to last minute travellers. I would not pay the recommended room rate. Even though we did receive a discount, it was probably a little overpriced as I also had a room in which the air-conditioning did not work. It was extremely hot when we were visiting. The inside of the rooms are showing a bit of age. The bathroom was looking a little worn, but there was hot water (although a bit slow) and all the toiletries you would expect at a hotel at this price. Everything was very clean and tidy. The buffet had a large amount of options.

I would stay here again if I got a room at a good price. The staff are lovely and exceptionally helpful. The wifi was available in the lobby. I did not get a chance to use the pool or any other services. Once the metro line opens up, this hotel will be extremely convenient to access the city centre without the hassle of dealing with taxi drivers. Perhaps some individual air-con units would solve the problems with the central unit, as this appears to be a continuing complaint in multiple reviews.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here for our last three nights in Bulgaria. A couple of the reasons we selected this hotel was it location to the train station and the free transfer to the airport. These factors were irrelevant in the end because we actually arrived by taxi from our previous location and the free transfer to the airport only run at certain times, our time was outside of these. We were departing on a Sunday when there was no service!
On checking in we were given a choice of 2 rooms. A smoking room with free wifi or non smoking room without free wifi. However we would be able to use free wifi in the lobby.
Its location suited us as we enjoy walking and it was about a 12 minute walk from here to the start of the main shopping area. However walking back in the dark could make you feel somewhat uncomfortable for the last 200 metres or so.
Staff all sections of the hotel were efficient, pleasant and very helpful. The only meals we had there were breakfast. This was pretty standard with little thought, limited variety and the same each morning. We were only there for 3 mornings but assume it was the same every morning.
Overall it was above average for the price however for a little extra and effort thought it would be excellent value for a hotel in the Bulgarian capital.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Nice hotel with good services.
It also have one of teh biggesrt casinos in Bulgaria.
staffs are good and offer all kind of services especially if single man travelling alone.
about 10 minutes from main center and close to Bus/Train station.
Rough area!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex O, General Manager at Ramada Sofia, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your positive comment and feelings and I’m very happy to see you have enjoyed your stay with us and that members of our staff have fulfilled your expectations.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts and impressions from your recent stay at the Sofia Princess Hotel.

With Best Wishes,

Dr. Alex Oreshkov

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I tend to stay here when there is a promotion on. I know what I’m getting and I know what it’s worth. On this occasion, I stayed for three nights for 38 Euros per night (price was for 2 people sharing a twin room with a buffet breakfast included, free wi-fi and free airport transfers.) On this basis, this is excellent value and it didn’t matter that the airport transfers were at an inconvenient time – it only costs 14 Leva either way in a taxi. The hotel has a grand and imposing exterior but is pretty basic inside. The rooms are dated but more than adequate. The breakfast is nothing special but there’s plenty of choice, from cereals and fruit to scrambled eggs, sausages and potatoes. The spa and swimming pool complex is a good facility, the pool being 25 metres long, so great for swimming lengths. (Swimmers must wear a cap. Take your own or pay 10 leva for one at the hotel. Or wear the free shower cap from your room – but it’s not a great look!) It takes a good 15 - 20 minutes to walk into the city centre but as it’s only a matter of turning right onto Maria Luisa Blvd, it’s not difficult. Food in the hotel is not cheap. For very good-value, traditional Bulgarian food, in beautiful surroundings, look no further than the nearby Mexhana. Turn right onto Maria Luisa Blvd, heading towards the city centre, then turn into the first street on the right. You’ll see the restaurant about 20 metres along with a wagon suspended above its entrance. Main courses from 7 – 20 Leva. It’s often full of Bulgarians. Few tourists seem to find it.

Room Tip: Higher floors are said to have better internet access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex O, General Manager at Ramada Sofia, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review posted on TripAdvisor following your stay at the Sofia Princess Hotel. I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us as it helps us to improve and maintain our high levels of service. I appreciate your positive comments about our hotel overall but understand that you had some issues concerning your stay.
Regarding your comments about the hotel rooms, I am glad to inform you that a Hotel Renovation Program is taking place in the next few months and we assure you that Princess Hotel Sofia will have an entire new outlook.
The food might seem a little bit expensive compared to local standards but it allows us to maintain the quality and variety that our guests deserve.
We really hope that you will find reasons to come back to Sofia and I would like to assure you that my colleagues will make sure that it would be another worthwhile experience for you.
Thank you again for your comments. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
With Best Wishes,

Dr. Alex Oreshkov

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Sofia

Address: 131 Maria Luisa Blvd, Sofia 1202, Bulgaria (Formerly Sofia Princess Hotel)
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Sofia
#14 Spa Hotel in Sofia
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Sofia 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Sofia is one of the largest hotels on the Balkan Peninsula, offering excellent rooms and professional service. The hotel is located within walking distance from the city centre, 15 km from Sofia International Airport and near the Central Railway Station. In short, the hotel is convenient placed for both business and pleasure trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dedeman Princess Sofia Hotel Sofia
Best Western Sofia
Sofia Princess Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Sofia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.