We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spring 2015” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4, Narodno Sabranie Square, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria (Formerly Radisson SAS Grand Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #19 of 124 Hotels in Sofia
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“spring 2015”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First stay in this hotel, although we have stayed other Radisson Blu. Well situated near the centre and easy to drive and park. Modern hotel of a high standard, friendly staff. However we were disappointed on this occasion, the spa area and gym were closed for refurbishment, why not tell us when we booked?!! The alternatives were not acceptable with an off site gym. The business class lounge was soulless and not attended. Not the best experience hope they improve.

Room Tip: Some businesses class rooms have been refurbished nice view of mountain at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    178
    54
    8
    7
See reviews for
27
82
50
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 2 nights for a conference which was also in the hotel. Overall a good experience.

The reception was friendly and efficient. The room itself was spacious and had everything that you would need, including a trouser press and safe. The bathroom was nice too. The free WiFI was quite fast, although it did drop occasionally.

I had a first floor room with a view of air conditioning units, although it didn't really matter, since this was a business trip. The only thing I really didn't like was the fact that the air conditioning was weak. It worked, but only just.

Otherwise the hotel staff were generally friendly and helpful, although the service in the restaurant/breakfast room was slightly grumpy.

Overall a good hotel, at which I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasteras, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hotel was really nice. I stayed in the Business class rooms on the 6th floor. The rooms on one side of the hotel face the square with a great view. On the other side the rooms have balconies facing the city and mountains. Fresh, spacious rooms with modern bathrooms, i wish i had taken more photos as the current ones on this site seem old. Saying that there might still be rooms that have not been updated, as my colleague was upgraded to an apartment suite. That suite was huge but had older furnishings.

Breakfast was also good, im biased here as there was a frame of fresh honey on the table. Possibly the best thing you could give me in the morning

I would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Get a room on the side facing the mountain, if the weather is good then you can sit there and enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudzeele, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I was one week in this hotel, for a business conference.
The food was excellent the staff were very helpfull and friendly;
The hotel is located in the center of the city.
Nice big rooms with nice bathroom and good services overall.
Pleasant stay here.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful hotel situated in the heart of Sofia near all the attractions of this city. Rooms large and spacious, cleaned daily. Breakfast good, however drinks priced much higher than elsewhere in Sofia. I'd recommend eating and drinking in the adjacent 'Happy' bar, very cheap and cheerful. Venture outside late at night and expect to be confronted with hookers and their pimps. Would not recommend going anywhere on your own late at night. The staff in the hotel are friendly and attentive and make the stay very pleasant but do nothing to deter the 'business' outside. I wouldn't choose to visit Bulgaria again but for a business location this hotel meets the mark.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiril R, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Watchkeepers,
Thank you for your review and for sharing your recent experience at Radisson Blu Grand Hotel Sofia. We appreciate feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We are sorry to hear of your unsatisfactory experience outside of the hotel. It is unfortunate when situations like this arise and they are beyound our control.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back when your travel plans bring you back to Sofia!
With kind regards,
Kiril Radoev
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very clean, staff are excellent, rooms very clean and an excellent position to get out and see Sofia.
When I visit Sofia again I will definitely return to this hotel and Bulgaria is one of my favourite destinations, food is also excellent
Can't wait to return

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiril R, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Garry C,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Grand Hotel Sofia and for sharing your feedback via TripAdvisor. I am really glad that you had a really great stay with us and you enjoyed the facilities of the hotel.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back when your travel plans bring you back to Sofia!

Best regards,
Kiril Radoev
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice and clean hotel that sits in the heart Sofia. For the quality you're receiving it's not expensive. If you stay on the upper floors you have excellent view of National Assembly Square with Alexander Nevsky Cathedral in the background.

Room Tip: Fourth floor is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiril R, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Christopher B,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the Radisson Blu Grand Hotel Sofia.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again when your travel plans bring you back to Sofia!

Best regards,
Kiril Radoev
Front Office Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia

Address: 4, Narodno Sabranie Square, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria (Formerly Radisson SAS Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Sofia
#7 Family Hotel in Sofia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
#13 Business Hotel in Sofia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia Hotel Sofia
Radisson Sofia
Sofia Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.