We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, good services” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4, Narodno Sabranie Square, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria (Formerly Radisson SAS Grand Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #13 of 124 Hotels in Sofia
Vevey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect location, good services”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

It doesn`t matter if you are a business or leisure traveler, this hotel offers perfect location for both cases. Although located in the heart of the city, the transport from and to Sofia Airport is for approximately 15min.
As a leisure traveler you are 5-15 min walking distance from the most important monuments and historical places to visit.
As a business traveler the hotel provides excellent services and facilities for meetings and conferences.
The rooms are a little bit smaller for 5* hotel, but cozy.
The range of the breakfast buffet was not as big as in other 5* hotels but the quality of food was on a high level. Coffee/Tea service provided.
The staff are very fiendly and helpful. Know their job very well.

Room Tip: Higher florrs, front side rooms (view to the Parliament)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    168
    47
    6
    7
See reviews for
25
81
49
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

As a part of a group tour I spent a couple of nights here in early October 2013. This was my first time in Bulgaria. I found the location to be very desirable because I could walk to many of the attractions in the city. The included breakfast buffet was excellent. My room had a nice view and was comfortable. Front desk staff were pleasant and spoke excellent English.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here last month while on a tour with over 40 fellow travelers and were very pleased with the comfortable, clean rooms. The manager of the hotel astounded us as he always called us by our names and not just sir or madam. The hotel is very centrally located to all the historic buildings and is right across the street from the Parliment building. Good restaurants are very close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qingdao, China
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Having been in Plovdiv for a few days on business. (Fascinating old city. Go and see!) i neeeded a hotel in Sofia before an early flight. Only half a day so wanted to be in city centre. Pleased with the choice of Radisson Blu Grand Hotel.. It is right opposite the government congress building and only 15 minutes walk from the main shopping/ outdoor restaurant street. Comfortasble clean rooms. Had read mixed things about Sofia regarding safety, but atmosphere welcoming with a smile on everyones face. And very good value for money.
Hotel careful to ensure I was not ripped off by taxis which was much appreciated.
Overall I really enjoyed my time in Bulgaria. The people are their own biggest critics and dont seem to take themselves too seriously .But the place has great potential.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The personnel of this Hotel truly understand the meaning of service. Everything we requested was attended to and followed up with the question of how else can we help you? Location is right in the heart of the city and easy to get around.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I will remember Radisson Blu, Sofia as the most inexpensive stay I have ever had in a five star hotel.

My preference for hotel booking mostly depends on the location and this one did not disappoint at all. The top historical sites were all within short walking distance, with the Parliament building and the dome of Alexander Nevski Cathederal vividly visible from the room. Sofia university, Russian Church, Hagia Sophia, Art Museum, Ethnography Museuem, Archaelogy Museum and the Natural History Museum are all located within very close proximity.

The room itself was fairly large and comfortable - the high point being the sitting arrangement for two (rarely found in hotels) where we (wife and I) spent long quality hours together; something we miss back home. Staff were very friendly and accommodative (except the bell desk).

Amongst few things that I did not like about this hotel - the bell desk is bit of a rip off (they are certainly not on the side of the hotel guest but on the side of the local taxi drivers); compared to the room tariff breakfast at 15 Euro per person is expensive; the facade of the hotel does not do justice to the architecture around and the elevators continue to be a problem.

Notwithstanding the above my overall experience was quite satisfactory and I will stay at this hotel on next visit to Sofia.

Room Tip: Ask for room on top floors facing the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiril R, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear lovayager,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback via TripAdvisor. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you would come again. However if you would like to share some more information about the bell staff please do not hesitate to contact me directly on kiril.radoev@radissonblu.com and I could assure you that the matter will be investigated further.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back at our hotel when your travel plans bring you back to the area.

Best regards,
Kiril Radoev
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed here a couple of weeks ago and was very happy with everything about this hotel. The staff were extraordinarily helpful, with most of them having good English, the rooms were large and very comfortable and the the breakfasts were great. The rooms across the front of the hotel have great views of the gorgeous Alexander Nevsky Cathedral and the hotel is a short stroll from all of the main sights of Sofia and the shopping/restaurant district.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiril R, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear amcwam,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Grand Hotel Sofia and for your feedback shared via TripAdvisor.
It is really nice to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us and had great time in the city.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back at our hotel in the near future.
Best regards,
Kiril Radoev
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia

Address: 4, Narodno Sabranie Square, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria (Formerly Radisson SAS Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Sofia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
#7 Business Hotel in Sofia
#8 Family Hotel in Sofia
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia Hotel Sofia
Radisson Sofia
Sofia Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.