We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in the City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4, Narodno Sabranie Square, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria (Formerly Radisson SAS Grand Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #21 of 124 Hotels in Sofia
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location in the City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights, hotel comfortable, restaurant basic although great selection for breakfast buffet. I stayed in a hotel room front of hotel 4th floor, but still was kept awake late by the noise of night club goers below :-(

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    181
    54
    8
    7
See reviews for
28
82
50
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Radisson for a few nights while in Sofia. The hotel is a great location, in the center of the city close walking within most sights and right near the subway. We were in a Business Class room on the 6th floor, which was nice and spacious with a huge bathroom (AMAZING shower spray!) with nice amenities (all tbe extras). We had a huge balcony that overlooked the city square. The staff was nice and friendy, and there was free, strong wifi available all over the hotel. There are ice macines on every floor (rare for Europe!) and some room rates include a free shuttle to the hotel from the airport.
Just a few one offs-the hotel houses a local, outdoor club (seems to be seasonal for summer only) that made it a little hard to sleep with the thumping of the base all night. Also, hotel gym was closed for renovation...they provided an alternate option at a nice nearby hotel but upon going to that hotel found that gym was also closed for reno. A little annoying. Lastly, the Business Lounge was also under renovation...when asked about it the staff offered no other alternatives for refreshments and snacks. Again, not a huge deal for any of these seperately but just little minor things.
Locsl tips...theres a supermarket right next to the McDonalds in the underground pedway by the hotels subway stop, good and cheap for stocking up on snacks and drinks. Also, if you keep walking through there towards the park, when you get out there is an outdoor eatery that's great for people watching with good food and really good drinks...8 beers, 2 pizzas and fries was 24 USD.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

A superb hotel with a central location in Sofia. The buffet breakfast was terrific and the rooms were both comfortable and clean. However, the best thing about this hotel for me was the efficiency and the helpfulness of its staff. I can say, without hyperbole, that the Radisson Blu was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at during my trips to Europe.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjoerring, Denmark
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Radisson Blu Grand Hotel Sofia boosts its strategic location being located in the heart of the city and a good starting point to discover Sofia.

The ambiance of the lobby is very welcoming. The staff were very willing to help you in any possible way they could. I would like to commend the breakfast buffet of the hotel because they have an array of choices. I have to say, one of the best breakfast buffets I had in Eastern Europe. In addition, the waiters and waitresses at the breakfast area were very friendly and not discriminating. It's nice to start the day with these smiling and friendly people.

Just a simple advice to those who plan to stay at this hotel, always ask the receptionist if you want to take the taxi. In my opinion and experience, it is safer to take taxis ordered by the receptionist that those that are already outside the hotel. It was also convenient that the hotel has its own ATM machine at the lobby.

For recommendation, I would appreciate if the hotel management could fix the shower. If you are not careful with the "angle" when you position your shower, you would be expecting a little "flood" in your bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

It is placed really downtown with a very two very trendy bars downstairs (tequila and bedroom), but that is all about Radisson that is worth it. Had too wait too much time for checking in and the room was below expectations - a really small with tiny bed.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

What a way to start our Bulgarian trip! It was so beautiful and we had such a view from our hotel room of the church, statue of Aleksander Nevski and parliament. The hotel breakfast buffet was delicious and perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nivelles, Belgium
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a great hotel. It is perfectly located in the heart of the city. Our room was a very big suite with two bathrooms, one of which was quite large and beautifully decorated with marble. The king bed was very comfortable and there were plenty of drawers and closet space. There are ice machines on every floor so you don't have to bother with room service. The wifi was free and worked well. At breakfast they will make you a special order at no additional cost. We were celebrating a birthday and they gave us a cake. They also gave us a very generous late check-out. We booked a business class room and their business lounge was closed for renovations, but they brought daily refreshments to our room. It would have been nice to have some English channels other than news and the black-out drapes didn't work perfectly but otherwise this is a really great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia

Address: 4, Narodno Sabranie Square, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria (Formerly Radisson SAS Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Sofia
#7 Family Hotel in Sofia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
#13 Business Hotel in Sofia
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia Hotel Sofia
Radisson Sofia
Sofia Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.