We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ciry hotel and even more...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Sofia

Save Saved
You added Hilton Sofia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Sofia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Bulgaria Blvd, Sofia 1421, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €66
Ranked #4 of 121 hotels in Sofia
Sofia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent ciry hotel and even more...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The hotel is spotless, the service is good, breakfast - also, just be aware that the transfer from the airport is not free. We've been charged 60 euros for that - better take a taxi next time.
The hotel benefits an executive lounge and the food and refreshment drinks offered were great - thumbs up for that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sreiter, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear guest,

We were extremely delighted to receive your kind comments about Hilton Sofia. Thank you for taking time to share them via TripAdvisor. We will be very happy to welcome you back under our roof, on your next trip to Bulgaria!

Yours sincerely,

Stephan Reiter
General Manager
Hilton Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    214
    34
    9
    4
See reviews for
30
98
63
299
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

As far as business hotels go this is fine - good large clean rooms and all the amenities you would expect from such a hotel, and also the staff are professional and friendly. Not the most central location, but by no means miles away from the city centre. I wouldn't stay here again though as it's a cookie cutter business hotel and doesn't have any real character.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sreiter, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were glad to receive your evaluation of the Hilton Sofia services and facilities. I am sorry that you perceive our property as a strictly business hotel, our aim is to cater to the needs of the leisure travelers as well. Certainly we are unable to change individual taste and requirements; we are only doing our best to meet the expectations of our guests. Thank you for taking time to share your opinion about our performance via TripAdvisor!

Best wishes,


Stephan Reiter
General Manager
Hilton Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed in Hilton from Sep 29 to Oct 6. I was attending a conference and my company booked my stay here. had a wonderful experience staying here for a week. The hotel staff was very helpful and cooperative. I had a great time staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sreiter, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure to read your kind comments about Hilton Sofia! Thank you for taking time to share them via TripAdvisor. We will be very happy to welcome you back under our roof, on your next trip to Bulgaria!

Yours sincerely,

Stephan Reiter
General Manager
Hilton Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here while on an organized tour of the area. The Hilton is in a convenient location for sightseeing and has the amenities expected of a high end hotel. Rooms are immaculate, comfortable and tastefully decorated; the stylish lobby is a great place for people watching. Staff were polished, professional and exceptionally friendly. The breakfast buffet was second to none with a wide variety of hot and cold dishes, pastries, made-to-order omelettes and coffee that could awaken the dead. The area is known for its yogurt and this is definitely worth a try. The cost of in-room wifi is steep, although it's free in the lobby. We are hopeful that in-room wifi will be included the next time we visit. Bravo to the staff and management for this lovely oasis in the Balkans.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sreiter, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive observations about Hilton Sofia via TripAdvisor.
We were extremely delighted to receive your kind comments about the Hilton Sofia facilities and services.
Your positive feedback about the whole team makes me feel very proud of everybody here.
Thank you once again for highlighting the hotel location, the guestroom ambiance and amenities and the breakfast buffet! I am very happy that we managed to provide a memorable stay for you here at Hilton Sofia!
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back under our roof, on your next trip to Bulgaria!

Yours sincerely,


Stephan Reiter
General Manager
Hilton Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Very nice hotel & large & spacious room, kind and welcoming team, not in the center of town, can walk 15 min if weather permits, cost ~4 Euro with Taxi. NOT having free WiFi in room is surprising !!!- more than 20 Euro for a day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sreiter, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments about Hilton Sofia via TripAdvisor.

Further to your comment about the Internet service, I would like to let you know that we do offer free Wi Fi Internet in our public areas on the ground and mezzanine floors, including the hotel lobby. Please rest assured that we have considered your feedback about the in-room Internet.

Once again, I thank you very much for your feedback and will be very happy to welcome you back under our roof, on your next trip to Bulgaria!

Yours sincerely,

Stephan Reiter
General Manager
Hilton Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed for one night visiting a conference which took place in the hotel's premises.
It's a rather large building in a park not far from Sofia 's downtown. I don't like the architecture of the building. But the hotel and the room was very pleasant, spacious nice bed and linen.
The breakfast was great, huge choice and nice omelettes.
I will happily return to this hotel for business purposes but I would try to find something with more atmosphere if I came for leisure with my wife.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sreiter, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you very much for sharing your observations about Hilton Sofia via TripAdvisor.

I was gratified to know that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and remained satisfied with the hotel services and facilities, especially with the breakfast variety and guestroom ambiance.

We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back under our roof again, soon.

Yours sincerely,


Stephan Reiter
General Manager
Hilton Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

First, this is a business hotel - so if you have a conference, this is the place. Not a bad location - a bit of a long walk to central Sofia. Our room was moderate sized with a king, comfortable bed. Very quiet room (ie, doors sett to close quietly, and little noise from hall - however, there is a little traffic noise, and if you are on rt side of hotel in lower room there may be noise from conference/party center)/ l There is a very small pool, and nice spa(no Jacuzzi)-but pool too small to swim laps. Restaurant nice for dinner and nice buffet. TV has a couple of English news channels, there is a small mini bar and water heater/coffee/tea in room. 3 elevators are adequate and fast enough except in am when large groups check out - BUT - do NOT walk down or may find self locked outside in back of hotel (I did!). Room clean, as was bathroom (lg, with separate shower stall and tub). Was very surprised that there was a substantial charge for wifi in rooms - 1 hr was free in lobby, but about $10/hr was initial charge in room, but staff friendly and helpful in explaining this.

Room Tip: try for higher floor to avoid noise from conference ctr
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sreiter, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear guest,

We were extremely delighted to receive your kind comments about Hilton Sofia – from the location to the guestroom features, the Health Club with indoor relaxing pool and the restaurant offers. Thank you for taking time to share them via TripAdvisor. We will be very happy to welcome you back under our roof, on your next trip to Bulgaria!

Yours sincerely,

Stephan Reiter
General Manager
Hilton Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sofia

Address: 1 Bulgaria Blvd, Sofia 1421, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sofia
#2 Family Hotel in Sofia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sofia 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Sofia has the perfect location in the heart of the city, opposite the Sofia Congress Centre (National Palace of Culture), surrounded by the South Park and overlooking the Vitosha Mountain. Hotel guests are near the commercial district and government offices. Boutiques, restaurants and nightclubs are within walking distance, while Sofia International Airport lies 13 km to the east, an approximate 20 minute transfer. With 245 rooms on 8 floors, equipped with the most modern in-room facilities, 2 Executive Floors and brand new Executive Lounge, Health Club with in-door pool and 24/7 Fitness by Precor, Hilton Sofia is the perfect choice of the modern traveler. Spacious, stylish and modern venues, resplendent with natural light, provide you with an unparalleled environment in which to work and relax. From the daily airport shuttle to the multifunctional meeting facilities, creative food service and elegant dining: enjoy the Hilton Sofia experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sofia Hotel Sofia
Hilton International Sofia
Sofia Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Sofia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.