We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Hotels in Sofia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Sofia

Save Saved
You added Hilton Sofia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Sofia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Bulgaria Blvd, Sofia 1421, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €66
Ranked #4 of 121 hotels in Sofia
Ramat HaSharon, Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of the Best Hotels in Sofia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great hotel with great location.
Not in the middle of the historic center of Sofia, but it is a 10-15 min walk (to Vitosha Blvd.)
Comparing to western properties, in is somewhere between 4 and 5 stars.
Renovated rooms are really nice and cosy, and you get separate bath and shower.
Service is superb, staff is very friendly and helpful.
Overall value is great.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. Choose a high floor corner room, you will get a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sreiter, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you very much for sharing your positive observations about Hilton Sofia via TripAdvisor.

I was gratified to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and remained highly satisfied with the hotel services, especially highlighting the friendliness of our team members. It was great to find out that you appreciated the view over Sofia and the 2000 m high Vitosha Mountain.

We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back under our roof again, soon.

Yours sincerely,

Stephan Reiter
General Manager
Hilton Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    215
    33
    9
    4
See reviews for
31
98
63
300
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have just stayed here for 3 nights and were really impressed by the staff and hotel room. The room was everything you would expect: clean, comfortable, decent toiletries, quiet, good size. The staff were excellent - really helpful and ready to assist.

When we arrived I was a bit concerned about the location as it seemed to be a little way from the centre. But we soon enjoyed walking across Bulgaria Square as it is a combination of park, square, cafes and bars with lots of people enjoying time there. As an aside I would recommend stopping off at Cafe Momento on the outside of the National Palace of Culture for a pre or post dinner drink.

We didn't go for the breakfast option when we booked and can only say that it is very expensive if you decide to take it when you arrive (we didn't).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sreiter, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you very much for sharing your observations about Hilton Sofia via TripAdvisor.

I was gratified to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and remained very satisfied with the hotel services and facilities, highlighting the guestroom ambiance and the helpfulness of our team members. Last, but not least - thank you very much for sharing tips about the interesting surroundings of our hotel.

We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back under our roof again, soon.

Yours sincerely,


Stephan Reiter
General Manager
Hilton Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Everything is really good, by the courtesy of the staff to the quality of the service. I stayed in a King Hilton Deluxe room: the room was really nice, well decorated, clean and fragrant. The breakfast was very varied and the food quality excellent. The maids, were professional but very nice friendly . I was really very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sreiter, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear guest,

We were extremely delighted to receive your kind comments. Thank you for taking time to share them via TripAdvisor. We will be very happy to welcome you back at Hilton Sofia, on your next trip to Bulgaria.

Yours sincerely,


Stephan Reiter
General Manager
Hilton Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

if you are looking for the best hotel in sofia, you must go to hilton sofia. the hotel is based on the heart of the city' best breakfast in the city.the rooms are very nibig and nice.the service is one of the best i know for a lot of hotel i visit.

Room Tip: in the heart of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sreiter, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your kind feedback, shared via TripAdvisor!

I am extremely delighted to learn that we were able to provide a memorable hotel experience for you here in Sofia! On behalf of the whole Hilton Sofia team – thank you very much for your praising comment.

We are all looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Stephan Reiter
General Manager
Hilton Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, Brazil
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I always wanted to stay in a Hilton hotel, but I thought it was better then it is.
I stayed in a DoubleTree hotel in Romania and i liked better, I got the same amount of points in Hilton that I got in DoubleTree even when I paid for 2 rooms in Hilton. (from hilton honors).

Room Tip: in my room on the 9 floors was noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sreiter, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your observations about Hilton Sofia via TripAdvisor.

I am sorry that your Hilton Sofia experience did not come up to your expectations, but will be delighted to welcome you back under our roof, if you would give us a second chance to show that we could indeed do better next time!

Yours sincerely,

Stephan Reiter
General Manager
Hilton Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

An acceptable stay over 3 days/2 nights. Upgraded to a bigger room as a Gold Hhonors member, the new room was not spectacular, but was on a corner of the building at the end of a corridor and thus servered its purpose well, certaily very quiet but not on the Exec floor though. The Exec lounge was something of a disappointment, both in it's style and amenities. There were some drinks in the evening but the food was minimal and really not what you would expect by comparison to other Hiltons.

The staff were terrific though, very friendy and helpful in every regard. Would I stay here again, probably. Would I try another 5* hotel in Sofia first, probably.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sreiter, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. I was gratified to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and remained overall satisfied with the hotel services.
In reply to your comment regarding our Executive Lounge. I would also like to inform you that we have already redesigned the space in order to give it a refreshed look and feel. We added brand new furniture and a new buffet area (you might want to check the photos in our picture gallery) – with beers and other refreshments available all day.

I hope our brand new Executive Lounge will be meeting your expectations and will be looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at Hilton Sofia.


Best wishes,


Stephan Reiter
General Manager
Hilton Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have stayed here many times but this was the first time in over a year and since the previous GM Jacques Brune has moved on. I believe the excellent Scottish Ops chap is still here though.

Unfortunately things have really gone down hill in terms of the amenities for Diamond and presumably Gold members. I was upgraded to an Executive Room, good but most Hilton's now offer Diamonds suites in line with changes to the Brand Standards Manual at the end of 2012. The Executive Suite was available. The free transfer which didn't cost the hotel very much (this is BG after all) has gone.

The biggest disappointment is the lounge. Previously during the day there was beer in the fridge all day, afternoon tea with sandwiches (often mini club sandwiches and macarons the old Executive Chef was French afterall), in the evening a very pleasant hot buffet of perhaps beef bourguignon and cold starters like prawns etc. Now its very basic and looks like a North American airport hotel!

Unfortunately I feel that the breakfast is less generous than it was before too.

I note the current GM Stephan Reiter's explanation for this is the new "brand standards". I don't mean any disrespect Mr. Reiter but this is a lie, and its also a lie to say all Hilton's will be like this because they won't and they aren't.

I've been a Diamond member for 15 years and I know many GMs and managers in hotels. All have confirmed that the minimum standard has been lowered such as cutting down the buffet, no afternoon tea and no spirits, yes there is a new MINIMUM standard, but the hotels are under absolutely NO obligation to lower their standard if they don't wish to. It has been designed to help hotel's control their costs. So Mr. Reiter, please don't lie to your customers and ask your wonderful staff to ply the same line.

For example looking at the UK, Tower Bridge in London (they even have 6-9PM for buffet), Cardiff and Glasgow have all said this is not going to happen there. Any seasoned Diamond member will know this is the case because he just has to look at other hotels in EMEA to see that they haven't lowered the hotel. Take yourself to these hotels Mr. Reiter, go to Prague Mr. Reiter, what's happening here. It's just not true. Mr. Reiter, there are still hotel's I can point out to you that have genuine champagne in the lounge!

Me and my fellow Diamond members are not putting up with this, we are voting with our feet and taking our business elsewhere. HHonors already made our life hell with the massive devaluation earlier in the year and this is the final straw. You can't pull the wool over our eyes like guests who have never stayed there before and have no clue of the usual benefits!

It's a classic mistake airlines make in cutting costs by cutting the product offering, what happens, the customer goes elsewhere! Look at Air France! Sofia has many 5* hotels all vying for business, this is a very silly decision indeed.

All the hotel's that are doing this have a reputation for being tight, but this upsets me the most because Sofia used to be a fantastic hotel for Diamond benefits and the place to feel valued!

To the rest of the staff in the hotel reading this, you are as wonderful as ever, pleasant and courteous and the rooms are spotless as usual.

What does it cost to have some BG beer in the lounge all day, a decent evening buffet and sprits, basically nothing.

Bring back Jacques Brune, he would have never let this happen!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sreiter, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Hilton Sofia and providing us with your feedback.

I wanted to respond to your particular comments regarding our Executive Lounge. I am sorry if you found the facility did not meet your expectations on this occasion. As with all Hilton Hotels & Resorts properties, our Executive Lounge offers a range of quality hot and cold dishes amongst our dinner buffet, together with a selection of beers and spirits. I would also like to inform you that we are currently in the process of redesigning this space in order to give it a refreshed look and feel, as well as adding brand new furniture and a new buffet area – with beers and other refreshments available all day.

We constantly strive to reward our most loyal guests by enriching each aspect of their stay with us, and I hope you will find the new Executive Lounge achieves this should you be returning to Hilton Sofia.

Best wishes,


Stephan Reiter
General Manager
Hilton Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sofia

Address: 1 Bulgaria Blvd, Sofia 1421, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sofia
#2 Family Hotel in Sofia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sofia 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Sofia has the perfect location in the heart of the city, opposite the Sofia Congress Centre (National Palace of Culture), surrounded by the South Park and overlooking the Vitosha Mountain. Hotel guests are near the commercial district and government offices. Boutiques, restaurants and nightclubs are within walking distance, while Sofia International Airport lies 13 km to the east, an approximate 20 minute transfer. With 245 rooms on 8 floors, equipped with the most modern in-room facilities, 2 Executive Floors and brand new Executive Lounge, Health Club with in-door pool and 24/7 Fitness by Precor, Hilton Sofia is the perfect choice of the modern traveler. Spacious, stylish and modern venues, resplendent with natural light, provide you with an unparalleled environment in which to work and relax. From the daily airport shuttle to the multifunctional meeting facilities, creative food service and elegant dining: enjoy the Hilton Sofia experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sofia Hotel Sofia
Hilton International Sofia
Sofia Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Sofia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.