We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place you do not forget.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofia Hotel Balkan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofia Hotel Balkan to your Saves list
Sofia Hotel Balkan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Sveta Nedelya Square, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 124 Hotels in Sofia
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A place you do not forget.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The first time I visited (Sheraton) Balkan was in...1966. It has been of course renewed since then, but the actual management is very clever to preserve the atmosphere of this hotel, which is unique in Sofia. Very central location, very friendly and helpful staff. Very large and confortable rooms (in the upper category, 111 for ex). We come every two years to Sofia and no doubt that, next time it will be Sheraton Balkan again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to share with you that I am really happy to see you have enjoyed your stay with us and the members of our staff have fulfilled your expectations.

It is through responses like yours that we can evaluate our services and I thank you once more.

Your positive comments will stimulate our staff to maintain and even evaluate the excellent quality of service and I thank you once more.

Sincerely Yours,

Athanasios Pantazis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    189
    101
    31
    10
See reviews for
26
81
56
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have stayed here before but it’s still in my book for location, grandeur and a favourite for the metro and shopping. We stayed in the new wing which is quiet but rooms are a little on the small side.

Breakfast is still very good. My wife visited the spa and said the massage was the best she’s had in a long time.

The chambermaid service was a little disappointing as we asked if we could have our room made up as we were expecting guests to visit our room but chambermaid did not oblige in time and we had to make bed ourselves. Overall, it may not be everyone’s cup of tea, but as a frequent visitor to this vibrant city I think it’s worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable comments about the services and facilities at the Sheraton Sofia Hotel Balkan, especially the chambermaid services.

It is through responses like yours that we can evaluate our services and I thank you once more.

We were pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay, beside the chambermaid incident with us at the Sheraton Sofia Hotel Balkan.

Sincerely Yours,

Athanasios Pantazis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean and location is great however service wasn't anything special and they asked €20 for breakfast which is ridiculous when you know the most expensive one would cost you half of that in Sofia. Also parking was expensive; should be free for SPG members...

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

In references with the comments about your breakfast and parking experience for which I need to inform you that is a company not related with our hotel,I would like to assure you that I have taken notes and addressed the mentioned issues to the all concerned departments for immediate reaction and would make sure the special attention is paid.

It is through responses like yours that we can evaluate our services and I thank you once more.

Thank you for the time taken to share your thoughts concerning your experience at the Sheraton Sofia Hotel Balkan through Trip Advisor.

Sincerely Yours,

Athanasios Pantazis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

First of all - very friendly and helpful stuff - they are not only always ready to fulfill your requests, but care enough to provide useful advices about activities in Sofia and close regions, actually they are best stuff I meet in European hotels so far. Location is great too – exact center of the city, yet within 10-15 minutes drive from Sofia airport. Breakfasts are at least fine. Rooms quite big (we have stayed in the suite) and comfortable. Yes, building may look a bit outdated inside, not a top-notch high-tech/modern one, but it certainly possess warm and fuzzy luxury of the classic era. Highly recommended. I’ll be glad to visit this place once again sometimes.

Room Tip: Better get an inner yard room - front ones a little bit noisy because of intense tram traffic in fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing your positive thoughts and feelings regarding your memorable stay at the Sheraton Sofia Hotel Balkan.

I was very pleased to read that the members of our staff have fulfilled your expectations and you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel.

It is through responses like yours that we can evaluate our services and I thank you once more. Let me assure you that your sincere and kind comments have already been shared between all our team members.

Sincerely Yours,

Athanasios Pantazis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veroia, Greece
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The Sheraton building in Sofia may be impressing, the chandeliers and the carpets in the main entrance may be huge and (look) luxurious, but the place is nothing more than a 4 stars hotel. Our room (the standard one) was just ok, cleaning was so & so, bathroom was nothing really special. This is an old and tired place and nobody does anything to hide this fact.
Breakfast was really poor both in variety and in quality. I saw that the people who came for breakfast after 9 found just empty trays and the waiters did nothing for it....I had to ask for green tea (as there where only black tea lipton tea-bags available), to find out that the water (offered for the tea) was not even warm... You can't make tea with warm water... I would also except Ronnefeldt teas from a Sheraton instead of Lipton...
One might think that one shouldn't expect a lot from a Sheraton situated in Sofia (this is not my way of thinking though), but -in any case- I have stayed in Kempinski Zografski in Sofia and it was a real 5 * hotel.
So, if you just want to say that you stayed in a Sheraton, go for it. But if you really want to stay in a Sheraton... try somewhere else...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments through Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us.

I take very serious note of your comments and let me assure you that a detailed corrective action is already been implemented. I am sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and that you have found us overpriced in comparison to what we offer.

In references with the comments about your breakfast experience, I would like to assure you that I have taken notes and addressed the mentioned issues to the concerned department for immediate reaction and would make sure the special attention is paid.

Finally together with my deepest apologies I would like you to consider giving us another chance. I do hope to get in touch with you and would be privileged if you stay with us again and give us the chance to provide you the expected quality and service. Rest assured that next time we will make it up for you.

Sincerely Yours,

Athanasios Pantazis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The best about this hotel is its location. Right at the start of Vitosha street, and within walking distance of all attractions in the center and subway station.

The hotel itself looks a bit dated, reminding of the grand style of famous hotels in other world cities. It is not run down or anything, it's kept clean, but it's just the style that is a bit dated.

In general, staff is attentive and helpful, and the stay was pleasant. Food prices though are completely out of touch with Sofia reality, even in comparison with other similar hotels in the city. But you are so close to restaurants and bars that there is really no reason to eat in.

Room Tip: "Smart Rooms" provide a lot of additional space, like a mini suite. Bathroom is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you, for sharing with us your thoughts about the services and facilities experienced during your stay at the Sheraton Sofia Hotel Balkan. Your valuable comments will contribute to our team’s ongoing efforts to monitor and improve our service standards and help us in our continuous search for excellence.

I sincerely hope that during your next stay in Sofia you will choose to stay again with us.

Sincerely Yours,

Athanasios Pantazis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

we stayed at teo nights at sheraton Sofia Hotel Balkan between 15-22 march 2013.You could feel the touch of luxury Collection chain.Everything was good enough.The hospitolity of executive lounge was great.I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing your positive thoughts and feelings regarding your memorable stay at the Sheraton Sofia Hotel Balkan.

I was very pleased to read that the members of our staff have fulfilled your expectations and you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel.

Let me assure you that your sincere and kind comments have already been shared between all our team members.

We really look forward to welcome you again in our Hotel.

Sincerely Yours,

Athanasios Pantazis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofia Hotel Balkan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofia Hotel Balkan

Address: 5 Sveta Nedelya Square, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Sofia
#8 Family Hotel in Sofia
#18 Business Hotel in Sofia
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofia Hotel Balkan 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated Hotel in traditionally styled, 5-story building located at city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sofia Hotel Balkan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sofia
Sofia Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofia Hotel Balkan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.