We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS City Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Stara Planina Str., Sofia 1000, Bulgaria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 124 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kolkata, India
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Centrally located hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Bang in the central area of Sofia. Sightseeing is a breeze from this hotel, you can very well walk to all the sightseeing points in Sofia.
The hotel is a small property, rooms extremely small, barely there is place to keep your luggage, let alone room for walking, the bathroom is even smaller, there is literally no turning place inside. The beds are narrow but cozy, room is kept well maintained and clean, but there is no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. There is always a long queue in front of the lift. But handicapped people should be careful as you have to climb at least 20 steep steps to reach the road as the hotel is situated at a lower plane than the main road.
If you are in Sofia for sightseeing and not picky about nitty gritty of a place, this is the ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    63
    21
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
23
16
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My company conducted a Study Tour to Sofia with participants from 9 countries and this hotel was recommended by one of our partner companies in Sofia. We got a package deal with all participants staying in the hotel, conference room was also provided, catering for coffee breaks and lunches, airport transfer for all participants, etc. It was probably the most organised events, we have ever conducted. The only thing not provided was writing paper and pens for participants. Nevertheless, we were definitely satisfied with the level of service provided by hotel staff.

The hotel is small and consists of around 60 rooms, so we were lucky that we were able to book rooms for all our participants. Breakfast included is adequate and caters to all tastes. Free wifi is provided throughout the whole hotel. The hotel, though not centrally located, it is easy to walk to the center and costs only 4 to 5 euros by taxi.

I can recommend this hotel not only for business but also for pleasure.

Room Tip: Upper floors provide great views and choose rooms away from the street as there is a school nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

I spent 3 days in Best Western Plus City Hotel in Sofia. Generally just to have a place for sleeping the hotel is fine. However definitely, 4 stars is too much for this hotel. Don't know how they get the 4th star?
Breakfast is really not interesting at all. It's good that most of the time I needed to spend out of the hotel, otherwise my opinion could be worse.
If you have little bit mor money to spend, recommend to book some other place in Sofia.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Il
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were on a 2-week tour of Romania/Bulgaria with Adventures Abroad and stayed here a total of 4 nights - 2 at the beginning of our tour of Bulgaria and 2 at the end. We had lovely rooms both times, tastefully decorated. We had rooms large enough for us to store both suitcases. We each had a chair to sit on in our second room. We arrived late morning our first day after an overnight train journey from Bucharest to Sofia. Our AA tour guide arranged for the group to have a late breakfast. The breakfast buffet that morning, and all subsequent mornings, was the best we had during the whole two weeks. We felt that the hotel (at least our rooms) could be rated five stars. The towels, linens, pillows, mattress were excellent. Perhaps we won the room lottery as we could find nothing to criticize. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The hotel is well-located for easy access by foot to all the historic sites.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udine, Italy
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The best Hotel in Downtown. Very frendly and willing staff, perfect and plentiful breackfast, perfect position to reach the center in few minutes by foot. Supervised car parcking in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braila, Braila, Romania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel and quite clean rooms but not a 4 star hotel. Too expensive. The rooms too small and the bathroom alcool. Shower dors not closing, not enough space for the toilett. Breackfast at a 2 star level, poor. All staff is nice while expecting tips. Second time they don' t even see you if you don.t give them enough.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

When I first walked into the room I was a little disappointed. It seemed kind of dated. We had a suite, arranged for us by our tour agency here in Bulgaria. The furniture and carpet was old, and the bathroom was small. But it was comfortable and the beds were very comfortable and we had plenty of room. I cannot comment on the price as it was included in the total package. The location is good - quiet but one block from the Main Street and lots of tourist sites. We found the staff to be accommodating. Depending on the price being reasonable I would recommend it. It is a four star hotel and it is Sofia - not Rome or London!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS City Hotel

Address: 6 Stara Planina Str., Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sofia
#9 Family Hotel in Sofia
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with the brand you can trust. Tucked in a quiet street in central Sofia, Best Western City Hotel delivers the highest level of customer service and attention to detail. The hotel is located only 200 metres from the Alexander Nevsky Cathedral and the Parliament, making it possible to reach on foot the most popular surroundings and attractions in the capital city.61 beautifully furnished rooms and suites, all equipped with free Wi-Fi and high-speed cable internet, provide travellers with the finest of modern amenities.The authentic Italian restaurant “La Vita e Bella” and the lobby bar serve delicious Italian and traditional European meals and drinks.The name says it all – life is beautiful. Right from the very entrance of this fine establishment, you can feel the emotional transition to Italy and its romantic atmosphere. Once seated, just let our friendly staff do the rest for you. Indulge yourself with exquisite meals prepared by our nation-famous executive chef, whose creativity and professionalism have been officially awarded on many occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sofia
Sofia Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.