We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS City Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Stara Planina Str., Sofia 1000, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 120 hotels in Sofia
Evanston, Il
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
136 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were on a 2-week tour of Romania/Bulgaria with Adventures Abroad and stayed here a total of 4 nights - 2 at the beginning of our tour of Bulgaria and 2 at the end. We had lovely rooms both times, tastefully decorated. We had rooms large enough for us to store both suitcases. We each had a chair to sit on in our second room. We arrived late morning our first day after an overnight train journey from Bucharest to Sofia. Our AA tour guide arranged for the group to have a late breakfast. The breakfast buffet that morning, and all subsequent mornings, was the best we had during the whole two weeks. We felt that the hotel (at least our rooms) could be rated five stars. The towels, linens, pillows, mattress were excellent. Perhaps we won the room lottery as we could find nothing to criticize. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The hotel is well-located for easy access by foot to all the historic sites.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    48
    15
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
18
13
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Udine, Italy
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The best Hotel in Downtown. Very frendly and willing staff, perfect and plentiful breackfast, perfect position to reach the center in few minutes by foot. Supervised car parcking in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braila, Braila, Romania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel and quite clean rooms but not a 4 star hotel. Too expensive. The rooms too small and the bathroom alcool. Shower dors not closing, not enough space for the toilett. Breackfast at a 2 star level, poor. All staff is nice while expecting tips. Second time they don' t even see you if you don.t give them enough.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

When I first walked into the room I was a little disappointed. It seemed kind of dated. We had a suite, arranged for us by our tour agency here in Bulgaria. The furniture and carpet was old, and the bathroom was small. But it was comfortable and the beds were very comfortable and we had plenty of room. I cannot comment on the price as it was included in the total package. The location is good - quiet but one block from the Main Street and lots of tourist sites. We found the staff to be accommodating. Depending on the price being reasonable I would recommend it. It is a four star hotel and it is Sofia - not Rome or London!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Well, if you want or need to go to Sofia, then this is a very good hotel to choose.

It's located within easy walking distance of almost everything there is to see in Sofia, and if you like a nice evening on the town - ten minutes' walk, there you are: many restaurants, plenty of bars.

Because the hotel is on a quiet side street, you won't be bothered by traffic noise. Or any other noise, except the occasional plane on its way to the airport - which is at most a 20 minute taxi ride away, costing about 8 Euro in a taxi or 10 Euro for hotel transfer service.

The hotel staff are friendly, polite, and helpful.

The room I had was very nice indeed, modern, with a comfortable bed. The hotel is non-smoking now, but there are a few rooms with small balconies.

The breakfast has a good selection of hot and cold items. There appear to be enough tables for the size of the hotel, although it was quite empty when I stayed. Possibly the only small criticism could be made about the coffee, which comes from one of these machines that (I think) mix concentrated coffee with hot water. That said, I've had much worse coffee in other places in Eastern Europe. If you want "real" coffee, you can purchase it at the bar.

There is free WiFi which provides very decent connection speed.

All in all, if you are on a budget, you could probably find something cheaper - but if you value your comfort for business or pleasure, this hotel can be recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony if you are a smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel is in a very good location, only a few minutes walk from centre. The suite was clean and comfortable, but bathroom small. Staff very helpful and breakfast was good. The hotel placed a complimentary bottle of wine with two glasses on my last day as it was my birthday. Very nice of them. I recommend this hotel to anyone one visiting Sofia.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hotel below average overall. The staff not motivated and not helpful. Bad stains on the hall carpet. Food disappointing. The positives: good location, comfortable bed, cleanliness of the room. Not worth the money paid. Will not come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS City Hotel

Also Known As:
Best Western Sofia
Sofia Best Western
Address: 6 Stara Planina Str., Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sofia
#12 Business Hotel in Sofia
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS City Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with the brand you can trust. Tucked in a quiet street in central Sofia, Best Western City Hotel delivers the highest level of customer service and attention to detail. The hotel is located only 200 metres from the Alexander Nevsky Cathedral and the Parliament, making it possible to reach on foot the most popular surroundings and attractions in the capital city.61 beautifully furnished rooms and suites, all equipped with free Wi-Fi and high-speed cable internet, provide travellers with the finest of modern amenities.The authentic Italian restaurant “La Vita e Bella” and the lobby bar serve delicious Italian and traditional European meals and drinks.The name says it all – life is beautiful. Right from the very entrance of this fine establishment, you can feel the emotional transition to Italy and its romantic atmosphere. Once seated, just let our friendly staff do the rest for you. Indulge yourself with exquisite meals prepared by our nation-famous executive chef, whose creativity and professionalism have been officially awarded on many occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Expedia, Otel and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.