We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little out of the way, but worth it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum of Military History

National Museum of Military History
92 Cherkovna Street, Sofia 1505, Bulgaria
+359 2 946 1805
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 59 Attractions in Sofia
Type: Military Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A little out of the way, but worth it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Quite a nicely done museum in a dingy little neighborhood, but very well done. Sufficient English signage to make the history and displays come alive, and do a wonderful job of telling the history of Bulgaria. A large amount of military memorabilia, both inside and out. What to do with some of your old left-over stuff, I guess.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    22
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Velika Gorica, Croatia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“a must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

a little hard to find, this 45 000 m2 (yes, 40000 m2 outdoor+ 5000 m2 indoor space) will leave you breathless... Everything you ever wanted to see + much more!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best day in Sofia, Impressive, Military enthusiasts don’t miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This museum as so much to see, I have to say that we were very impressed about the way everything is displayed. Even if you are not a military enthusiast or do not know anything about Bulgaria military history, the place is fascinating. Starting with the backyard where you will find a huge variety of military vehicle, tanks, canon, helicopter, jet fighter, trucks, anti-aircraft gun, missiles, Inside the main building there is several display on several floors from different time in Bulgaria history, the part of their history we loved the most was from WWII up to today. You will find several weapons, sword, uniforms, medal, flags etc. everything is preserved behind glass. You have to go there for sure and you will not be disappointed. I would suggest hiring a guide because there is so much to see and learn. If you have kids they will love it. The museum is close to Hilton Sofia just take a taxi which are not expensive and be prepare to spend 3 hours minimum visiting this lovely place. Outside you can take pictures but it is not allowed inside. I am already planning to go back on my next trip. Make sure to check the opening hours.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samokov, Bulgaria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lots to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A nicely put together museum, lots to see in well looked after grounds. Entrance was a bit confusing but that may very well have been me!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The place is amazing. Quite expensive (for Bulgaria) but taking a tour guide is worth it.
It iv ery hard to reach with public transport. Take a cab.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Military History also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Military History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum of Military History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.