We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing People, even Better Food! Get the Bison :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sidoniya

Sidoniya
Gotse Delchev RC, Slavovitsa Street, bl.51 E, Sofia 1404, Bulgaria
+359893688884
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #119 of 554 Restaurants in Sofia
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing People, even Better Food! Get the Bison :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Sidoniya is a marvelous chef and the service is top-notch. I can say this in utter honesty, I spent 3-months in Sofia and have seen it all, culinary speaking. In fact, spend more than a week in Sofia and you'l realize quickly what I mean. When service and food are lacking at other places heading to Sidoniya is like an oasis.

Friendly and warm environment and even the occasional celebrity! (I actually ended up having dinner with Haddaway, from 'Baby Don't Hurt Me' fame (think the Night at the Roxbury skit from Saturday Night Live:)

Thanks a lot guys, can't wait to return!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    2
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Varna, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Splendor and delicacies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The best food I've ever tried
If you're a fan of Canadian bison tenderloyn this is the only place where you can try at Bulgari.
When we entered we were greeted by an elegant hostess. She settled into our lovely table in the garden. The service was perfect, with every bite is coming ever closer to heaven. Drinks and wine list were rich and could satisfy the most demanding customer. The quality we got, the price was worth it, the bill was perfectly acceptable and reasonable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Simply Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I visited Sidoniya for the first time and had a wonderful experience. First the outdoor setting in a large courtyard gave us privacy and a nice dining environment. Then the chef - Sidonya herself - visited to introduce herself and get us started. She's a warm outgoing and gregarious woman and a fine hostess. But then came the food - the real highlight. Everything our group ordered was superb, in its flavors, textures and presentation. Sidonya returned repeatedly and made us feel as if we were in her home as her guests. All in all a fine dining experience worthy of much more cosmopolitan cities. I'll be retunring soon - can't wait!

Note that she is no longer located in Serdica area but now just off of Bulgaria Blvd. Its a bit hard to find but your efforts will be well rewarded.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna, Bulgaria
1 review
“Wonderful menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

When I want to eat somethink delicious i know where to go :) Sidonya's restaurant.... The food is prepared with love and is so tasty, but my favorite part is when I eat my dessert.... The desserts are so unique.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

this is the greatest place in Bulgaria with delicious food, perfect service and big choice of wines. I recommended to everybody, who likes personal touch

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sidoniya also viewed

Sofia, Sofia Region
Sofia, Sofia Region
 
Sofia, Sofia Region
 

Been to Sidoniya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sidoniya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.