We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New location alert!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sidoniya

Sidoniya
Gotse Delchev RC, Slavovitsa Street, bl.51 E, Sofia 1404, Bulgaria
+359893688884
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 509 Restaurants in Sofia
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sofia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“New location alert!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

When we made a phone reservation, you'd think they would've told us the new address, but no. After a 25 minute taxi drive around the back end of Sofia we came to their new location, beyond the ring road, beyond Ikea, beyond what any sane person would drive to for a meal. It's now in a glitzy tacky hotel in the middle of an apartment block complex, a typical Bulgarian apartment complex so don't expect great views. The 'garden' is a patio with four tables about 20 meters apart; forget cosy and intimate as the tower blocks loom on all sides. Food? Good, definitely among the better places we've been to in Bulgaria and thank god the menu doesn't have the usual 300 items, but was it worth the trek? No.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    2
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“In theTop 5 restaurants in Sofia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

A wonderful place, specially the terrace where each table is very nicely set up. We were 4 people and we took an italian sparkling rosé wine. The food was really very good. The menu however is not very detailed, so you need to ask the waiter to get some detail or advice. But i would ask directly Mrs. Sidoniya who will for sure give you the best advise. The service was excellent and you can fill that the meals are made by somebody which cooking is a passion! It is still a young restaurant that have the potential to be the best one in Sofia! To get at this level, small details are important!
So for 4 p. we had 2 bottles of wine 3 entrées, 4 main courses 2 desserts and 2 coffees for +/- 250 lv which is about 125€ we had some nice iced limoncello offered as digestives.
I recommend this place for all good food amateurs.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

great restaurant!!!.i live in Las Vegas and was on a trip to BG,so i had a reservation for "Sidoniya" restaurant.My experience was great as the service,the excellent food and the prices! i visited a lot of fine dining restaurants in Las Vegas and i would say that my experience of atmosphere and great taste in this restaurant was no different! Thank you team "Sidoniya"!!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Love the atmosphere, love the cuisine, love the service and the beautiful, helpful lady on the entrance. Great restaurant, great value. Recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Extrordinary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Our dining experience at Sidoniya's was one of the highlights of our trip to Bulgaria. The cuisine was creative, unique and absolutely delicious. The chef, Sidoniya herself, presented the menu selections to us and answered all of our questions. Her passion for food and for her restaurant is evident in every detail. The food is prepared from only the freshest ingredients, and everything is prepared from scratch. The presentation of the food was beautiful and the ambiance is very nice. We had dinner two nights at Sidoniya and both meals were exceptional. One night we ate in the restaurant upstairs and the other night in the garden in a private gazebo. Sidoniya, the chef and owner of the restaurant was the winner of Lord of the Chefs in Bulgaria.
I highly recommend Sidoniya for a 5 star dining experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sidoniya also viewed

Sofia, Sofia Region
Sofia, Sofia Region
 
Sofia, Sofia Region
 

Been to Sidoniya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sidoniya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.