We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sage Bistro

Sage Bistro
Stefan Stambolov Str. No. 63 | Bistritsa, Sofia 1444, Bulgaria
+359 88 751 9779
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 509 Restaurants in Sofia
Price range: $12 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Sage Bistro is the result of two brothers dreaming of running a restaurant together. One gathered culinary experience around the world on both sides of the kitchen counter, the other as Head Chef of the Kempinski Panorama Restaurant, Sofia. Niki and Ivo come together to bring you the best of delicious food, using fresh products and seasonings, and excellent service in a fresh and comfortable atmosphere. Adj. sage -wise through reflection and experience Noun sage -a plant of the genus Salvia; a cosmopolitan herb. Sage Bistro....wise food! Work Hours 17:00 до 24:00 -Tuesday to Thursday 11:00 до 24:00 -Friday to Sunday
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Extraordinary flavors, a great atmosphere: we have traveled a LOT and this is definitely one of the best places around.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    9
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich uk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We went to he Sage for lunch, it was a good 1/2 hrs drive in a taxi (But really cheap taxis service) from Sofia Centre , the food was of good quality and the host was very friendly. Worth getiing out of town for.The prices were reasonable for the quality of food provided

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick995, Owner at Sage Bistro, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your visit to Sage. We hope you'll be back in the warmer weather for a meal on our outdoor terrace. All the best - Niki & Ivo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Have now been to sage three times and was not disappointed in either the food or service. A little out of the way but worth the trip. The ribs are teriffic and the selection of wines is steller.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Went to Sage for first time... It is really a nice and cosy restaurant. The food was really great... Will definitely go again....

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Katelijne-Waver, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of my favorites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Sage is a place I discovered early last year when I moved to Sofia and since the very first moment I liked the place and has become one of my favorites. The ingredients, the dishes, the staff, the setting and the wines are really top notch and it will be hard to find a better place in Sofia. The menu is limited but whatever you choose will be a great meal. The seafood (seabass for instance) is great, the meat (tenderloin) is juicy, the desert (chocolat soufflé) is to die for. Pick something from the wine selection and enjoy it! What's also convenient is that the staff speaks English pretty well. Don't let the location fool you, this is a great place to be spending the evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sage Bistro also viewed

Sofia, Sofia Region
Sofia, Sofia Region
 
Sofia, Sofia Region
Sofia, Sofia Region
 

Been to Sage Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sage Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.