We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Banya Bashi Mosque” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banja Basi Mosque

Banja Basi Mosque
Blvd Maria Luisa, Sofia, Bulgaria
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 59 Attractions in Sofia
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Banya Bashi Mosque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We are Turkish so of course we wanted to see one of the early works of great Ottoman architect Sinan. The inside was too much restored so it was quite disappointing for us but worth to visit to see a 500 years old building, and visit the mineral waters.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    14
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coimbra, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unique place with hot springs.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Amazing !!! In top city center of Sofia have hot mineral springs. Everybody go there and take a hot mineral water FREE !!!
From Alexander Business Apartments show me this place and tell me story about it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An interesting and beautiful place to relax.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Located in the city center, next to Largo. Nice garden with refreshing fountain. Nearby there is hot water and pouring everyone drinks and free. Great place to relax after a long walk.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very interesting place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

It's great to have restored this beautiful building. Next to it has hot springs and everyone goes there and get free mineral water at home.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Not so impressed by architecture”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I was told that this mosque was build to look like a miniature of the blue mosque in Sultanahmet, Istanbul. I did not see great similarities.

Maybe the sole minaret had something in common.

I see everywhere nicer mosques than this.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banja Basi Mosque also viewed

 

Been to Banja Basi Mosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banja Basi Mosque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.