We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free Sofia Tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Free Sofia Tour

Free Sofia Tour
Corner of Alabin Str. and 2 Vitosha Blvd., Sofia 1000, Bulgaria (Oborishte)
359886993977
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 43 Activities in Sofia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The free English-language sightseeing walking tour of Bulgaria’s capital. Every day, twice a day - 11 AM & 6 PM. No reservation required. Just show up! Duration - around 2 hours. Start: corner of the Palace of Justice. End: National Parliament.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Free Sofia Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This well orginised tour helps you have a very good approach with this amazing city!
We had an evening tour with Dima and we were lucky to explore the city with her!
Highly recommended to everybody that visits Sofia!
Congratulations

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    614
    45
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“excellent, fun overview of a fascinating city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We didn't expect to come to Bulgaria at all, so when our travels brought us to Sofia, we had no plans or expectations. We were recommended to this tour by Hostel Mostel, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our guide Vanya, was very friendly, personable, and knowledgeable, and spoke perfect English. The tour covered most of the main tourist attractions and historic sites in town, and Vanya provided a lot of fascinating historical information. She did all this cheerfully, all the while steering us safely around protests and police who were in the area on the day. She delicately explained a bit of context around the protests, without getting too political either way, making for a rather interesting context spanning from ancient Thrace through to modern society. Please remember this is a non-profit organisation, and drop a little something in the bucket to keep it going.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I just came back from this wonderful experience-an attractive walk through the history of Sofia city. I really admire Niki's enthusiasm and wonderful sense of humour. He not only introduced us to the main chronology of events but made us live and feel using games and competitions. Well done!
It is something you shouldn't miss if coming to Bulgaria.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic - and don't forget to tip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I found the tour great. The guide was a great resource of knowledge and fun facts. Highly recommend for anyone visiting Sofia. Please do not forget to tip. It says free - yes - but the guides appreciate it!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Excellent tour of Sofia!Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I visited Sofia with a group of friends for 2 days and we decided to do the free Sofia tour in order to see the city. It was a great decision.
Our guide Dima was really nice and friendly. Her command of English was great and she gave us really interesting information about the city and its history. I have done tours in some cities I visited however I can say that this tour was way better than everything I have done before.
Before we took the tour, Sofia city didn't impress us. After the end of the tour we were really amazed by all these buidings we wouldn't have seen on our own. We also had the chance to learn about Bulgarian history and ask anything we wanted to know.
We also had the chance to meet people from other countries and talk about our experiences from Sofia and traveling in general.
After the tour we had a beer in a nice place with Dima and other people from our group.
It is therefore a highly recommended way to see the city while having fun.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Free Sofia Tour also viewed

 

Been to Free Sofia Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Free Sofia Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.