We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great introduction to Sofia!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Free Sofia Tour

Free Sofia Tour
Corner of Alabin Str. and 2 Vitosha Blvd., Sofia 1000, Bulgaria (Oborishte)
359886993977
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 43 Activities in Sofia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The free English-language sightseeing walking tour of Bulgaria’s capital. Every day, twice a day - 11 AM & 6 PM. No reservation required. Just show up! Duration - around 2 hours. Start: corner of the Palace of Justice. End: National Parliament.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great introduction to Sofia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I traveled to Sofia on business and had a few hours to spend. Found this tour and it was perfect. Hit the highlights of the city with a knowledgable guide who obviously looked the region. Kiril not only gave the tour, he also made excellent suggestion for what else to see and practical tips for making going back to see the sites on the inside much easier. If you can only take one tour in Sofia, this is definitely the one!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    45
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Highly recommend this tour. Our tour was lead by a journalist who was quite informative, friendly and spoke excellent English. The tour is completely free, but a gratuity for the tour guide was well-earned and more than worth it. The 6:00 p.m. tour was great because we were able to take beautiful evening photos of the well-lit buildings.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great walking tour in Sofia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Free Sofia Tour was a great surprise. Instead of only walking around to see beautiful buildings and some monuments, we've joined the tour with Kiril, a very knowledgeable student of the local university and learned a little bit more about the city, its history and the bulgarian's habits.
I gave a tip when the tour finished, but it's optional.
I recommend this tour for sure!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A gret start to your holiday in Sofia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012 via mobile

We took the 11am tour on our first day in Sophia to help us identify the sites we would like to visit in greater detail later. The tour was very well planned and went through the various stages of Sophia's history. We visited most of the must see attractions and our guide, Boyko, was very informative and very very friendly with everyone! He also provided a wealth of information on the places we were visiting.

All in all a very good start to our Sophia holiday and keep in mind that it is FREE and runs everyday!!

Very good initiative ! Keep it up !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A superb introduction to Sofia.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012 via mobile

Filip the guide was brilliant. He waited a few minutes for any latecomers and the we were off. He knew alot about the different monuments and was open to answering questions.

A two hour walk around the main sights in the city is a great introduction. You can find your bearings and decide if you want to go back to see more or inside the buildings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Free Sofia Tour also viewed

 

Been to Free Sofia Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Free Sofia Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.