We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nightingale Hostel and Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nightingale Hostel and Guesthouse to your Saves list
Nightingale Hostel and Guesthouse
Yanko Zabunov Str 3 A , apt 17 | Square P.R. Slaveykov 2 A, Sofia 1408, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Sofia
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I stayed there for a few days in July 2013. I stayed in a 4 beds mixed dorm. The dorms are ok, the bathroom are clean and the breakfast is ok too. What really made the difference is the atmosphere. The staff were very helpful and provided me suggestions for places to see and go. Besides that, they are always available to chat and share ideas about everything. The people I have met were very friendly and it was easy to find people to hang out with at night. Last but not least, the location is safe and convenient, close to the underground.
I would definitely go back if I am around.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    15
    5
    10
    4
See reviews for
2
16
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Good service. great location at the very heart of Sofia. Nice atmosphere. Even though its frosty outside in the winter, inside its cozy and warm. There is an option to cook, or a great chef is present (Sasha), either way she caters to your every need.

Room Tip: Room No. 6 has a balcony, all the others face the square and have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarigerme, Turkey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

His hostel has a nice homey atmosphere. Everyone that works here is super helpful and attentive to the guests needs. Sasha, the manager, would also make home made meals that were out of this world. The rooms are roomy and clean, what more could you ask for?? Especially for the great price. Overall my stay here was beyond my expectations!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I am really glad to have find this hostel, I hitch hiked for a long time in Europe and couldn't find better to chill in Sofia. It is goodly situated in the centre but the best is that I felt home right at the beginning talking with Sasha, she gave me a lots of information and advice, and coocked some lovely homemade jam It is like a little community, there is also a big TV room and computers, and it is clean and comfortable for a small price. definitely a positive friendly mood.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bistritsa, Bulgaria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Heard about this hostel through very positive reviews on another site which were all right!
The beds are comfortable, the hostel is clean and Sasha the receptionist is really lovely and helpful. She even made us some pancakes and homemade jam ;)
There is wifi and two PCs, a TV/common room (including a guitar, which is now tuned) and a well equipped kitchen for self catering and a clean bathroom/shower.
Altogether a very charming, practical and comfortable place to stay in the city centre within walking distance of the main attractions and with lots of information available. Cheap too and no problem with noise.
I slept soundly and comfortably and was happy to stay :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I was welcomed by a friendly and helpful staff that provided useful information and answered all my questions about the big city that I felt a little lost in. Free unlimted internet use was a plus for people like me who still don't have a computer. I had a comfy, clean bed (no loud clubs next door so a good nights rest was easy to get) with nice view from my dorm window of the funky book bazzar stretching out on the cobble street below. Also conveniently located within walking distance of many of the cities major monuments made this a great and cheap place to stay. The kitchen was well equipped and while I was there one of the staff made bluberry jam to share and it was very tasty. You win Nightingale Hostel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Taxi couldn't even find the place to start, owner was nice to organise and pay when I arrived. The owner is lovely and can give you good local history in the morning! However this is not really a hostel..just an apartment with some beds. Glad I got a bunk, some were in the floor. Pretty sure a homeless man was staying in my room, very scared for my stuff. Breakfast was not much. Shower was cold. Was not comfortable staying here. No real common area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nightingale Hostel and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nightingale Hostel and Guesthouse

Address: Yanko Zabunov Str 3 A , apt 17 | Square P.R. Slaveykov 2 A, Sofia 1408, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nightingale Hostel and Guesthouse is located in the top historical center of Sofia downtown. We are in a house on 1st Floor. We share a common entrance with a Pub 'Krivoto'. You can expect totally renovated place where you will find 6 rooms, a common room, 2 Shower places with 24 hrs hot water, 2 toilets,an equipped kitchen, Free Wi-FI internet, a tourist desk, lockers in dormitories, key card access system and 24 hrs front man.From 8.30am to 10.00am we provide a complimentary free breakfast with a choice of cereals, milk, tea, coffee and sugar with Check In after 1pm, Check Out before 12 am noon. You can use our luggage room for free if you come earlier or you want to leave for a couple of hours your backpack.We provide theme nights to learn and taste local drinks - rakia or wine, workshop Martenitza, an introduction in Balkan history.If you want to take part please send us a mail after reservation. NOTE!We accept cash in local currency BG Lev and collect a 10 Eur/20 BG Lev security deposit which is refundable upon check out.You can use the kitchen for free 15 min only from 11am to 9pm.After 11pm you should put down the noise and drink out of a hostel.For travelers with artistic abilities and if they want to make performance for other guests we offer a free nights stay. Enjoy your stay in Nightingale Hostel and Gueathouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Nightingale Hostel and Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nightingale Hostel and Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.