We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Bar & Grill

Happy Bar & Grill
Georgi Rakovski Street 145B, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria (Oborishte)
02 986 14 49
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 553 Restaurants in Sofia
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Oborishte
Paris
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had a quick lunch at Happy Bar & Grill in Rakovski street because we just happened to pass in front of it and it looked pleasant and busy. The decor is a little old fashion but in a nice way; I liked the boots near the large windows overlooking the boulevard and a theater. The menu is quite extensive, in Bulgarian and English, with photos of the dishes which makes the choice easy. There is a good selection of salads with two types of portion, small and large, I choose the Caesar salad, with chicken and the small portion was big enough for me. It was quite good but the bread I ordered (here they don't bring a bread basket like in France) had a lot of cheese in it which I didn't like. My husband took fish'n chips which was not bad but the sauce accompanying it in a tiny cup was not very nice and the dish came without lemon. When we asked for a piece of lemon, the waitress didn't look "happy" but it is not an eccentric request with fish. The waitresses are all young, pretty, thin, in very short red skirts so this might contribute to the success of this restaurant! All in all, we had a pleasant enough lunch at a reasonable price but this is not a place for a special occasion or a romantic dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    123
    65
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Overhyped!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

From the outside it looks great. The ladies are dressed in a very sexy way BUT they dont know how to serve you and are quite careless while doing it. The menu is diverse and expensive for the country's standards. The portions are small but tasty. The toilets are quite ok. Booze is cheap as in any eastern country. There are other places to eat that offer bigger portions of local food for less money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Whats not to like at Happy?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

For me the ONLY complaint is it's tilted heavily towards Meat in the menu. There is sushi, including tempura sushi for those that don't want raw fish; there is American style dishes, there are all sorts of decent enough choices, some nice salads. Generally you'll pay 6 to 8 levs per item, some in the chain give weekend discounts for children under 12. They deliver for takeout, and the décor is amusing if a little racy at times. I think you could satisfy even the prudes next to their jazz memorabilia; they have a fair number of old pictures and quite a few modern ones with a 70s or 80s décor. I eat here with my family, sometimes nearly weekly, so I must think its a fair deal. Hopefully, so might you.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The toilets were the best part”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stopped by here after walking around Sofia. It took forever to get a waiter and my husband's food came out WAY ahead of mine. As a matter of fact, he was finished with his food (only ate four bites) AND beer before I ever got to take one bite of my lunch! The food was so bad we left and ate at a small cafe. The beer was good though.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Okay...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

well, first off, the uniforms of the waitresses are too short. As we all know this is no Hooters, so why this image of a cheap girls place when they are targeting families with kids as well? The clients are all disappointed when they see the way the waitresses dress and flirt with clients. There must be a stop to this because it is too much, indeed. It only adds up to the negative reputation of Bulgaria of a cheap girls country. This should stop asap and women should be more respected and not exposed there. So, in order to attract more families with kids, change their uniforms and invent some code of attitude perhaps... Not flirting.. All my foreign friends have made comments about how intimidating the waitresses are and that this is not a dating club but a place where people want to eat just. So, take these things into consideration to improve yourselves. The clients are not your friends to flirt with, they are strangers who want to eat. Have some respect for them and especially for their kids and wives. The waitresses SHOULD NOT touch the cutlery with their fingers. There are special trays and napkins for such things. Maybe some additional training against fingerprints would be useful. Clients could get food poisoning from dirty hands, etc. So better keep the hygiene up to standard.

Second, the leaves or ijsberg or whatever green leaves in all salads are too much compared to the rest of the food in them (such as meat or other vegetables and cheese). There must be fewer leaves and more other types of food in the salads.

As it comes to delivery: FIRST OF ALL, NO customer retention methods used. Why? Only discounts every now and then? Why not gifts and other types of retention techniques for loyal clients? Otherwise whats the point of being a loyal client to them if they don't appreciate this? You better go to another food chain then.

The sushi is great! The cream cheese inside is a great idea!

Another improvement point is related to the fact that when you order something online, there is a possibility of removing certain ingredients of every meal and pretty much customizing it. However, since I don't eat pork, i ordered A Happy Salad but without the ham and bacon in (since I hate pork). However, they still put ham inside although I stated many times I don't want any ham and it should be removed from my salad. Therefore, I had to remove it on my own, which was disgusting. PAY ATTENTION TO THE ORDERS BETTER AND TO THE CUSTOMERS WITH ALLERGIES, etc, because you should deliver exactly what's asked from you and not what's easy and convenient to you - you lose clients this way.

Another point to mention is that once after I ordered a salad with four or three types of cheese, there was a spider inside the salad. So pay attention to the hygiene as well and re-check the food before you deliver.

Maybe it is wise to add other drinks in the menu people can order online from besides fresh juices, soft drinks and alcohol. How about other brands of juices such as Cappy or whichever other juice brand, which is popular in Bulgaria (such as peach, cherry, pineapple, apple and other juices).

Why don't they also offer watermelon and other fruits online that they normally offer in their menu on the spot? Isn't this a bit strange?

Inside the restaurant- the same songs shouldn't be played all the time, since this really becomes annoying and maybe some more song diversity is a wise thing to do?

Anyway, many improvement points..

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Happy Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.