We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean, cheap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Lavele

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Lavele to your Saves list
Hostel Lavele
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   14, Lavele str., Sofia 1000, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Sofia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, clean, cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Just a couple blocks from the Sveta Nedelya church, and beyond that, all of the downtown landmarks and churches. About a 30-minute walk from the train and bus stations, or you can take one of the trams. My room and the shared bathroom were clean, staff was friendly, breakfast was good. Unfortunately the wifi didn't work on the third floor, but you can use it downstairs when you need to.

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    40
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
30
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed at Hostel Lavele for one night, paying £27 for a private twin room with shared bathroom, don’t be put off by the exterior of the entrance – this hostel is more like a guesthouse, our room was basic but really large which made it feel bright and airy, spotlessly clean with comfortable beds and free Wi-Fi. Despite being a big tour group staying the same night, we slept well and the hostel was really quiet. I’m always apprehensive about shared bathrooms and this one was very compact but always clean, we never had to wait as it was only shared with three other rooms and there was always hot water.

The staff were friendly and helpful, our room wasn’t ready when we checked in but they let us store our bags and suggested we take the free Sofia walking tour which was the highlight of our stay (http://freesofiatour.com/). The location is great, just off the main shopping district with plenty of restaurants and bars and all major sites/points of interest within walking distance. We arrived from the bus station taking the tram and found the hostel easily using the directions from our booking email but also found taxi’s to be really cheap.

Overall I’d definitely recommend Hostel Lavele when visiting Sofia; I’m just disappointed we skipped breakfast after reading other reviews!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metripgo
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

clean hostel, very helpful staff but beware that hostel rooms has no private toilet.
if you choose their apartment option you get private bathroom but you don't have wifi since its located in the block next door to the hostel.
Their breakfast is well presented and tasty.
Overall I was happy with my staying

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the hostels 'Apartment' in January 2012.

The apartment is in a separate building a few doors down from the hostel.
It is very spacious with bedroom, living area and kitchen and a bathroom.

The kitchen was unusable with no cooking facilities - this was very disappointing as we weren't able to cook. There was also no rubbish bin any where in the apartment.

The bedroom was fine however there was only one thin blanket, which was inadequate with snow outside.

The lift was horrifyingly scary and we dreaded using it (very very old and fast) but being on the fifth floor there was not much choice.

The location is superb and couldn't get much better.

Breakfast was ok. Yogurt, bread and coffee - not much more than that.

The hostel itself had no common room so we had no interaction with other travelers.

For 35 euros it was good value but don't expect to be able to cook or have a social time here.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Lavele hostel in Sofia was certainly a pleasant surprise - it is really clean and cosy, more like a hotel than a hostel (yet at hostel prices). The location couldn't be better - super central, safe and convenient to get anywhere.The breakfast also offered more than we expected. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

The hostel is one of the cleanest and with most beautiful forniture I've ever stayed in. The bed is extremely comfortable and the sheets are so soft.
Breakfast is really HIGH LEVEL, with hand made bread, delicious jams and plenty of food.
Morover, the position is perfect cause you're 5 mins walking from Sveta Nadelia square.

BUT if you're looking for a party.hostel, you'll be disappointed. There are no common rooms and the general attitude is that of a place where to sleep for cheap price in a cozy place but not for having fun.

Anyway, I would suggest it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We have stayed at this hostel with my girlfriend for 4 nights in the summer months and we enhoyed the pleasant atmoshere and friendly staff. Mario & his son have made us feel very welcome. We arrived to Sofia with bikes and could store it for free in the basement! Thanx, Mario!

The rooms are clean, new, some equiped with AC, beds comfortable, but there is no view on the city. The breakfast is OK, with local products and delicious, home made youghurt. The laundry is also available in the hostel.

Reception staff is informative and speak good english.

Defenitely good value for money, can´t go wrong if you are looking for a safe, cheap and centraly located accomodation in Sofia with honest and friendly staff!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Lavele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Lavele

Address: 14, Lavele str., Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Lavele 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hostel that combines the comfort of a budget hotel with the coziness of a guesthouse and the low prices of a hostel. It is located in the heart of the Bulgarian capital, at some 100m from St. Nedelya square, which is the starting point for exploring Sofia. Hidden in a tiny street, it offers tranquility during the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hostel Lavele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Lavele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.