We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, convenient and good value hotel in Sofia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budapest Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Budapest Hotel to your Saves list
Budapest Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 A Budapest Street | ul. Kozlodui 4, Sofia 1202, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 124 Hotels in Sofia
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, convenient and good value hotel in Sofia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

Driving around Sofia, looking for a hotel can be a bit of a nightmare. Stumbled across this one near the Main Railway Station and it ticked all the boxes immediately. The big plus was being able to park outside, without the usual worry of on-street parking. Staff were really friendly and helpful and took care of the car. Room was nice and comfortable with pleasant 6th floor view of Sofia.
Breakfast included, basic fare but sound.

Room Tip: Suggest upper floor rooms are quieter due to traffic noise during the day. Although it's not a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    89
    16
    0
    3
See reviews for
23
63
28
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

We visited Sofia for a short vacation of 4 days and staying at this hotel was part of the good experience. The hotel staff were remarkably gentle, providing assistance even in advance of our trip.

The room was quite spacious and clean. The buffet breakfast was abundant and the choice was good. One comment for improvement is that the hot dishes could have been warmer. The hotel is also located very near to the city center (around 8-10 mins walking distance), therefore the location is also good.

Hospitality is clearly a strong point of this hotel. All in all we had a very good stay which we easily recommend..

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

We stayed 4 days there and as far as i can say it was a very pleasant experience.
+Clean room and bathroom.
+Extremely kind and helping personnel.
+The food in the restaurant was simply mind blowing.
+Easy access to public transportation
+Fresh design and spacey rooms
+Close to the center
+Excellent Internet connection (cable reached up to 80Mbps)

-No cable tv (kinda hard to watch tv shows in bulgarian)
-I would like a bit more variety in breakfast

Room Tip: Try to get a room in higher floors to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaskalevTr, Director of Sales at Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2015
Thank you so much! We are glad that we've met your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

I was in Sofia again for a week at the beginning of December and stayed at the Budapest hotel as usual. I've stayed there about six or seven times since discovering it three years ago. Every time I've stayed there I've had nothing but good experiences in this hotel. The staff are all friendly, courteous and very helpful. Rooms are large, extremely clean and comfortable. Plenty of choices for breakfast and of good quality. Food in the restaurant is very good and some great 'specials' at lunchtime during the week. It takes about !5 minutes to walk down to the centre of Sofia or less by tram from almost outside the hotel. It's very near to the Coach and rail stations. Can't say enough good things about the Budapest and will continue to go back there whenever I visit Sofia, a city I've become very fond of.
John B
London

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaskalevTr, Director of Sales at Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2015
Thank you very much for the nice words! We are expecting you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed two nights here, while in Sofia for football. All the staff were great, very clean rooms and public areas, wifi perfect, and just outside choice of trams or trolleys for the 1 BGL journeys to anywhere. Only a 15 minute walk to centre, five minutes to bus or trains. Highly recommended, we paid €50 av per night, twin room.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaskalevTr, Guest Relations Manager at Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2015
Thank you! We hope we'll see you back next time you visit Sofia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottenlund, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

Nice hotel in city. Few Hundreds meters from the city centre. Very nice and clean rooms and very polite and helpful staff. Good breakfast. And all for a quite good rate. would stay here again. PS. use only the OK taxis with met
er when you go around. Enjoy

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaskalevTr, Guest Relations Manager at Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2015
Thank you for comment! We hope to see you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

there's not a lot to say really, this is a superb hotel the staff were brilliant, very helpful and went out of their way to help us. the rooms were clean comfy and a reasonable size. we didn't find the trams on the main road a noise issue at any time we were there. the garage was excellent, safe and secure for the motorcycles. the food was well cooked and really tatsy, (recommend the chicken and bacon) town is a short walk away and is worth a long look around

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaskalevTr, Guest Relations Manager at Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2015
Thank you very much for your opinion! We are looking forward to seeing you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Budapest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Hotel

Address: 92 A Budapest Street | ul. Kozlodui 4, Sofia 1202, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
#22 Business Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Budapest Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the small street running throughout almost the whole downtown of Sofia on which Budapest Hotel is located and at the same time with walking distance to important transportation and business venues.The hotel consists of 31 standard rooms, 22 deluxe rooms, 6 corner rooms, 3 studios and a Presidential Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Budapest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Hotel Sofia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budapest Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.