We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good gastronomy in the centre of Sofia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cactus

Cactus
Hristo Belchev, Sofia, Bulgaria (Oborishte)
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 509 Restaurants in Sofia
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Oborishte
Clisson, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good gastronomy in the centre of Sofia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We went to this restaurant by mistake, thinking it was the one next door, but were very pleased with out mistake!
We both had the duck filet stuffed with fois gras. it was excellent: perfectly cooked with the meat still 'rosé' and the fois gras firm. Served with asparagus and hot bread, the one dish was quite adequate for a meal. The decor was mixed - posters of film stars and more traditional pictures, but the surroundings were overall pleasant. We had a crisp white from 'No Man'sLand': a good wine at a reasonable price. Overall, very good value for money. The service could have been friendlier: it was rather cold and brusk.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    41
    22
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“five stars experience at 3 stars prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This place is a must when in Sofia. We enjoyed our first meal there so much we went back a second time and enjoyed it even more. The food is imaginative and delicious. We had the same waiter both times, and he made excellent suggestions about what to order, both for food and wine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“Gorgeous place. Duck roll with fuagra was delicious. Camembert backed with honey and wholenut was sencasional. I'm definately co”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous place. Duck roll with fuagra was delicious. Camembert backed with honey and wholenut was sencasional. I'm definately come back here!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It might have been good, but I'll never know”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I visited on a Thursday night in September at about 20:00. It was warm so I wanted to sit on the 'terrace' (actually about 10 tables for 4 on the pavement outside the restaurant but there are glass walls and a fabric roof which make it seem like an additional room).
Despite a table being free and another with only 1 person, I was told that it was restaurant policy that outside tables are not used by solo diners when its a busy evening despite none of the tables being booked. I left and went to the restaurant next door where I was allowed to sit at a table on the terrace.
About an hour later after finishing my meal, I walked past and this time saw 3 empty tables and 2 others with solo diners. I wont be back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ynys Môn
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food ... but small portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The food we had was delicious enough, but the portions were a touch too small. The vegetarian menu offering chicken also made me chuckle!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus also viewed

Sofia, Sofia Region
 
Sofia, Sofia Region
Sofia, Sofia Region
 

Been to Cactus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cactus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.