We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good and warm welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'etranger

L'etranger
ul. Tsar Simeon 78, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
0887523376
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 451 restaurants in Sofia
Price range: $19 - $39
Cuisines: European, French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The oldest running French restaurant, established in 2001
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Really good and warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I don t eat meat , the cabillaud with vanilla sauce was great , the price not expensive for this cool quality!!!!
The goat cheese salad was amazing , Bravo Olivier!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    47
    20
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good food but not that cosy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The food was delicious but the atmosphere is really bright/light so not that cosy. The menu is only in Bulgarian and French.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bistrot l, Propriétaire at L'etranger, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Sir,
Thank you for your review.
We'll try to modify the lights as fast as possible, regarding to your comment and others feed back about the brightness of the restaurant.
We hope to see you again soon!

Olivier ROCHE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good french restuarant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I had dinner with two colleagues. The food was very good. One of my colleagues ordered entrecot steak 'medium' but it was not cooked sufficiently for his taste. Tip- if you prefer 'medium' steak order 'medium to well done'.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vratsa, Bulgaria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“IF YOU WANT FRENCH CUISINE BETER VISIT FRANCE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I visited this bistro with my husband. It supposed to be a romantique st valentin evening ,but it wasn`t. they gave us a table downstairs, in the basement where the kitchen and WC were.Our clothes absorbed all the smells. the atmoshtere- nothing special, nothing romantique.And the cuisine overpriced!!! Not tasty and really very expensive. Wines- to begin with a bottle of rose, the only one in the winelist -awful. we did not drink the whole bottle. The second was a bottle of french red wine recommended by the waither. Nothing special , but one of the most expensive.There are many bulgarian wines much better than this one. But when the bill arrived i could not be more disappointed. We paid 230 lv for the dinner. It is not Paris for goodness, it is Sofia.
so if you want cosy atmosphere and reasonable prices choose another place in Sofia. let the french cuisine to be taste in France and pay less money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bistrot l, Propriétaire at L'etranger, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Sir,
We really are sorry that you didn't enjoy your Valentine's evening at our place.
We hope you'll be able to travel to France next year to give us some advices for the places to go!!!

ps : for information to the travellers who are reading this review, 230 leva are for a 10cl Chivas, 2 bottles of French wine, 3 starters( foie gras), 2 main courses, 2 desserts...chosen by the client himself
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Tres bien”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Charming bistrot, very French, every course as it should have been. And fantastic vin by the glass. Don't know where they're getting their supplies from but I was genuinely surprised by the range of ingredients and execution. Five stars!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'etranger also viewed

Sofia, Sofia Region
Sofia, Sofia Region
 
Sofia, Sofia Region
Sofia, Sofia Region
 

Been to L'etranger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'etranger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.