We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem just a few meters from Bascarsija” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Boutique 36

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Boutique 36 to your Saves list
Hotel Boutique 36
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Safvet bega Basagica 36, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 59 Hotels in Sarajevo
Split, Croatia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A gem just a few meters from Bascarsija”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

In one word excellent!!It is a hotel with just 13 rooms. Our room was very cozy, just enough space as you need. It had wi-fi, satelite TV, breakfast area... Bed was very comfortable and had a good night sleep. It is decorated beautifuly with lots of books, magazines and stuff like that. Bathroom was one of the best i've seen so far, very clean as well. Service in the hotel is excellent. All you need they will do for you. They gave us coffee even when the breakfast time had passed and some ice for drinks. Also called us a taxi whenever we needed it (if you need a cab ask for Kasim taxi driver from Sarajevo taxi company, the best taxi driver in my life). At the check out greeted us like we were familiy. Great small hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    20
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
25
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We chose the hotel because of convenient location close to the centre and parking included in the room rate.
When booking the room, we asked for a double bed and the room on the courtyard (calmer and less noisy) side of the hotel. We booked almost three months in advance, yet we got a twin room on the street side of the hotel. We complained at the reception. First we were told that “our” room was due to be ready the next day, but in the end, it never was. However, they offered us a discount at the check-out.
The hotel really is close to the city center, it takes 7 minutes on foot to get to Baščaršija (the Old city centre).
Parking is not located at the hotel itself, but a couple of minutes down the road. You can stop at the hotel to take your bags out of the car, but there is little room to do so (the pavement is very narrow).
There is no lift, consider it when packing.
The rooms are basic, equipped with AC and but there is no fridge, which could be a bit annoying in the summer.
Tap water is drinkable.
Room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. Shelves with books and magazines in the corridors, breakfast room and rooms add a nice touch to the hotel atmosphere.
Breakfast: basic but sufficient, could improve on fresh fruit/pastries.
Staff mostly helpful and knowledgeable, but could be more considerate as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This small hotel is located closed to the old city, is clean and well-run. The rooms are however are quite small and the breakfast is quite basic. Friendly and helpful environment. The hotel is on the hill, not difficult to walk but the traffic is terrible.

However. the hotel has a mobile phone mast on the roof. Just as I was checking out I saw the antenna and realising that I slept just under the antenna, made my complaint immediately, but got an evasive answer in return. In my next visit to Sarajevo, which is an hidden gem, I will avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are on the attic and is very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

A lovely, comfy, cosy hotel in a perfect location in Sarajevo, just a slow 5-minute walk from Bašćaršija. Some of the previous reviews say it is uphill, one even says you have to walk through the road with no pavement from Bašćaršija to the hotel. Well, it is a little bit uphill, but nothing what would be a problem to anyone and it is on a normal town street with a pavement, but the problem is that the pavement is occupied by parked cars.
The hotel room was of a decent size, furnished modernly, perfectly clean, with perfecty comfortable bed and pillows , with book-shelves full of books and magazines. The bathroom was nice and clean as well. There was no mini-bar. Wi-Fi was functioning perfecly well in the room
The breakfast-room is just gorgeous, modern, full of books about Sarajevo, novels and magazines. One corner is decorated as a traditional Bosnian room. Breakfast itself was good, with OK offer, but they served only sliced bread, which was even a little bit dried (probably from standing in the open), nor rolls or pastry.
The receptionist was very kind and helpful.
We had transport from the air-port to the hotel included in the price.
All in all - I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Boutique 36 for two nights in August 2012. The location is perfect, as it is only a two minute walk from Pigeon Square. The room was contemporary and clean and everything we needed, not a single complaint. The woman on reception was pleasant and helpful and cheery, and sorted out a load of laundry for us at a great price. Would definitely stay again.

Tip #1 - bar called Babylon in the Old Town is great for passing a few hours day or night, either chatting, or playing cards, or even just reading a book. The beer and wine both good, staff friendly and great at their job, and the British style music being played is a great and unexpected treat. Highly recommended.

Tip #2 - the tour to the tunnel under the airport (bookable from the tourist place close to the river right where the famous spot where Franz Ferdinan was shot, opposite the museum) was great - really interesting, and the guide Adnan was funny and interesting and made it a great tour - despite the lack of air con on the bus when we did the tour!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is a fantastic choice of a hotel right in the heart of Sarajevo .

We stayed there for 4 nights in August 2012.The hotel offered us a free transfer from the airport to the hotel. The driver was incredibly helpful and along the way pointed out a lot of interesting sites.

The hotel itself is in a very central location and offers a comfortable standard of accomodation.The breakfast is excellent.

One of the best things about this hotel though is its staff. Everybody was just so helpful and courteous-any questions we had the answered-nothing was too much trouble.

I couldn’t recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at this hoel for two nights in July. The location is very close to the old city, Our room was very good and although it was at the front of the hotel the noise levels were not excessive. Shower, breakfast and AC(very quiet) were good. The staff are all lovely and have excellent english and are very helpful. The hotel is well designed and great value. I would reccommend it highly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Boutique 36? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique 36

Address: Safvet bega Basagica 36, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 59 Hotels in Sarajevo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boutique 36 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Boutique 36, located in the main center of the city, consists of 7 standard, 6 superior rooms and one studio apartment. Every room is air-conditioned and equipped with 100+channels HD cable system and complimentary WiFi. Superior room’s interior follows the latest architectural trends and all 5 superior rooms are equipped with LCD flat screen TV. Price includes: continental breakfast, parking with 24 hour security, internet access, and transfer from airport to the hotel, if desired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Boutique 36 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Boutique 36, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.