We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice indeed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halvat Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Halvat Guesthouse to your Saves list
Halvat Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Kasima Ef. Dobrace 13, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 83 Sarajevo B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very Nice indeed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

It was a very Nice experience to stay at the Halvat Guest House in Sarajevo! It is a small intimate place with only 5-6 rooms, and they full you up with eggs, pancakes, juice and coffee in the morning. The staff were helpful and welcoming. Recommended!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halvat, Manager at Halvat Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
It was great to meet you as well ! :)
Hope your sore throat stopped so you can fully enjoy the rest of your trip!
Best wishes, kind regards and hope to see you again,
Valida, Ema and Halvat staff :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    39
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
73
43
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We (two couples) spent 2 days in Sarajevo at Halvat - would stay there again without looking elsewhere if we return. The owners are smart, energetic and friendly - breakfasts incredibly good. The Halvat is located close to almost everything you want to see in Sarajevo - walking distance.
Sarajevo is a life-changing experience - in the center of millennia of history - this villa is right at the heart of that history - beautifully maintained and managed in a tight urban environment.
Thanks again to Valida, staff and family - highly recommend.

B/K Crane Spokane, Wa USA

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halvat, Manager at Halvat Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
It was a pleasure to meet and host so nice group of people!
We wish you all the best in future and, of course, to come back to Sarajevo some day in future :)
Thank you so much and best regards to all of you!
Valida and Halvat staff :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Staying with Valida and Momo at their tastefully furnished, perfectly located guest house was one of the highlights of our trip through the Balkans. Both exude a genuine warmth and kindness and I cannot recommend the experience highly enough. From a price perspective, value for money was exceptional. We were also very grateful for the airport transfer they organised. Sarajevo too, is a fascinating city; a unique blend of European and Turkish influences. Make sure you try the local borek; a Bosnian pastry filled with mince, spinach, potato or cheese. Sac is the best restaurant in town for this, and is invariably packed with locals.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halvat, Manager at Halvat Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
We have no words to express how much we appreciate the fact you decided to be our guests and for taking your time to time write so nice review! It was a great to meet you both and we honestly hope you will come back soon! :)
Best wishes,
Valida, Mumo and Halvat staff :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My wife and I started a month-long European visit in Bosnia-Herzegovina, selecting Sarajevo for our base for four days. We were received warmly by Valida who made us immediately comfortable. She had arranged for our pickup at the airport (Excursions and Tours a Sarajevo, Fehim Spahic, whose excellent service we hired also for a day tour to Pocitelj, Buna and Mostar) and gave us sound direction for sites to visit, walks and restaurants. Her breakfast pancakes/crepes are outstanding as are the omelette, toast, and other accompaniments. As an added note of great service, on our departure by van for Belgrade, I left my cell phone at Halvat Guest House - Valida had contacted our travel service and worked with them to have the phone delivered late that evening to Belgrade! Amena and Ema, Valida's assistants, also provided top-notch service. Without question, we will return to Halvat Guest House shall our travels find us again in Sarajevo.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halvat, Manager at Halvat Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you soooo much in the name of all of us! It was a pleasure to meet you and to be at your service! After all- it is why we are here for- to make our guests feel comfortable and to do as much as we can so their holiday can stay in wonderful memory!
Hope to see your wife and you again!
Best wishes and kind regards,
Valida, Ema, Emina and rest of the Halvat team :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Halvat is as close to Baščaršija as you can get without being in it, and just steps away from restaurants, shopping, and a grocery store.

The rooms are comfortable, the beds bedecked with an obscene amount of pillows. It's nice and quiet, too.

Contributing greatly to our stay was helpful advice from Amina, the front desk attendant, who gave us a bunch of terrific restaurant and nightlife recommendations. Her help really improved our trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halvat, Manager at Halvat Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to meet and host you, and of course- thank you for writing so nice review, we truly appreciate it!
Best regards from Halvat and Sarajevo,
Valida, Ema and Emina :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I have nothing but good things to say about my experience with Halvat.

The location is perfect, the room was clean and comfortable, the service helpful and friendly, the breakfast delicious, the prices reasonable. There is a little bit of street noise because it's a central location but nothing terrible. All the positive reviews are true!

They were also very helpful with my questions prior to the trip. When the protests broke out in Sarajevo in February, the international news made it look very bad so I emailed to get a better understanding of what was really happening. Valida was reassuring but honest.

I'm sure there are lots of other great places to stay but I can't recommend Halvat highly enough. All the positive reviews are true -- you won't be disappointed.

(As a sidebar recommendation: just around the corner is a neat little bar, Birtija. Very cozy and friendly -- worth going for a drink or two.)

Room Tip: Great view from the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halvat, Manager at Halvat Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
We are so glad you did not give up on your trip :) and it was our pleasure to help you to understand and enjoy Sarajevo as much as possible!
It was great to meet and host you! Hope it was not for the last time... :)
All the best till we meet again!
Valida, Emina and Ema :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

A comfortable guesthouse, close enough to reach Sarajevo's lovely oldtown as well as a tramstation within three walking minutes while at the same time just offset enough to enjoy a sturdy sleep without traffic noise.

Due to the small number of rooms the guest house is providing a very homey atmosphere, especially since the owner is not just running the house but at the same time chef de cuisine
(go for her omelettes, they're great).

Thanks a lot for comforting me throughout the week. I did feel at home away from home.
Be sure to give them a visit on their website <http://www.halvat.com.ba/>
You think this sounds a little to good to be true ? Check out the other reviews or just check
out Halvat Guesthouse. Enjoy.

Room Tip: For the light sleepers the room right next to the reception is probably not the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halvat, Manager at Halvat Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you so much!
Knowing that you felt comfortable as if you were at your home is the best prize we can get and one of the most important thing to us!
We wish you all the best and hope we will see you some other time again!
Kind regards from Halvat,
Valida, Ema and Emina :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Halvat Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halvat Guesthouse

Address: Kasima Ef. Dobrace 13, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Sarajevo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Halvat Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, family atmosphere, great breakfast, warm welcome, NON SMOKING hotel :)) Looking forward to welcoming you to Halvat - your home-away-from -home :))) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Halvat Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halvat Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.