We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wouldn't go back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tower House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tower House to your Saves list
Tower House
Hadzisabanovica 15, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Sarajevo
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“wouldn't go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The owner was friendly and helpful - talked a lot about what to visit. 10mins walk to the old town but quite a steep walk back up to the house. We were a couple with 4 more friends and had booked 2 rooms, one double room with a private bathroom and a room with 4 beds with a shared bathroom. When we arrived the owner asked us if we wanted the double room with the private bathroom or if we didn't mind another room with the shared bathroom so he didn't have so much cleaning when we left (???) - we said no and when he showed us the room we had booked it was totally different from the photos and there wasn't even a double bed for a couple so we stayed down stairs in the room with the shared bathroom but the double bed was a very very uncomfortable and small sofa-bed, and because we booked on booking.com we had to pay the price of the double bed with private wc which was more expensive of course. In the morning the hot water finished after 2 showers (we were 6 so 4 cold showers).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    4
    6
    13
See reviews for
3
18
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubrovnik, Croatia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

for what it costs the hostel offers everything you need. a bed to sleep in, a clean room and a bathroom, security and proxymity of Baščaršija which is the heart of sarajevo. the staff is talkative and will give you advice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painswick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hostel has a good location, albeit up a huge hill! Because it's uphill though it gets cooler at night which was a Godsend for us. The staff are very friendly - we nicknamed them Grandpa and Uncle! They gave us vodka shots and beer and great conversation. It's very safe as the door is always locked and they have a camera over the front door so you have to knock to be let in. The room layout was weird as people had to walk through our room to get to their rooms and the bathroom and the bathroom was by the front door and our room like a corridor. To be honest it was awful and we tried to get a room change but no luck as they were very busy. One night i had to go down in my pyjamas and ask the people laughing raucously and talking very loudly outside our window to quieten down so i could sleep. The rooms themselves were good though; wardrobe, blinds and curtains, comfortable beds. I would stay here again but make sure my room wasn't a walkthrough for others!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were very dissatisfied of this "hostel" with many of rules and no service. They state that there is 24h recption, but we experienced one morning when we were forced to knock and ring for someone to open us the door. That was the morning after one awkward night, when the guys running the hostel got to conflict with one guest and they were shouting for at least 45 minutes. We felt unsafe a discomfortable, because we didnt know, if they will throw us to the street or not, or whats happening, because they spoke in bosnian language and were really angry. We couldnt sleep and the next day was very exhausting for us. We didnt except very much for that price, but at least some professional and polite behaviour from the stuff. I believe, that in Sarajevo you can find something better for the same money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

There were positives and negatives...

1) Location: The location is good, just a short (maybe 5-10 minute) walk downhill to the bascarsija, which is a great place to spend the evening.

2) Rooms: We stayed in a double room with a private shower, and although basic (to be expected from a hostel so no complaints) it was clean. I can't vouch for the dorm rooms but we did have a sneaky look at the shared bathroom as it was next door to our room and it was really a shower head over a toilet...but looked clean.

3) Pick up: They offer free pick up and we rang without prior arrangement and they picked us up from the train station within 10-15 minutes. True to their word they did this free of charge and we were impressed.

All in all we had a good stay, however we were quite taken aback with how much you had to pay for any extras (there was a list in our room). No towels are provided and you have to pay to hire. There is a note saying that you cannot use their phone for any reason. If you want to use the kitchen you have to pay something like 10 euros a day which is a lot considering everything in Sarajevo is so cheap, you could eat out for less. None of this was a problem for us as we didn't need to use anything extra, but it may be for people who are planning to cook for themselves.

We were a bit surprised the day we left at the attitude of one of the guys that runs the hostel. We checked out early as we wanted to fit in a museum before our bus left so we asked if we could leave our big rucksacks at the hostel for a couple of hours, everywhere else doesn't seem to have a problem with this. However, it seemed to be a real issue. Although he said it was ok, he made it clear that we could only leave them until 12 or he would have to charge us 5 euros...this in effect meant that that he was only keeping our bags for us 1 hour later than check out (and they were left in the garden anyway!). His reasoning was that otherwise people use the hostel as a base and leave their bags all day and then come back and use the toilet etc...which is fine, but just not an overly helpful attitude.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Well, our experience was not as bad as bibi_75006's but the staff was quite rude and annoying, speaking out loud just beside our door in the middle of the night and so. The bathrooms are actually toilets with a shower hose, which I don't mind per se, having been at see numerous times on small sailboats, but without any mop available it's difficult to clean after you for the next guest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hostel was the cheapest in Sarajevo when I was there. I knew I shouldn't expect high standards and it's fine cause I'm used to travelling in low comfort places...

So I decided to stay in the girls dormitory. Which is actually not one. There are no doors to the dormitory, so some guests have to cross it to go to their room, and you can hear everything that is happening in this part of the hostel (you can hear quite well people having sex in their rooms for example - and it happends often, as it's hollidays you know).

Then, there is only one very little bathroom/toilet place to share with people of the dorm AND other people that were staying in an other room but no idea where and how many. The bathroom kept being occupied and people had to queue in front of the door or just decide not to take a shower or going elsewhere to pee.

Then, they say there is Internet, but there's acutally just one 2002 computer that is so slow you can go to take your shower and come back, the page will still not be loaded.

But all this would be fine if it wasn't for the atmosphere. It looks like the owner thinks he's ruling a Uni's dormitory. There's so many laws you have to obbey to, like not wearing shoes in the hostel or not eating in you room or not using your cell phone in your room... it's written in big and put up in a serious frame in each room.

He speaks to you as if you were a child, and not his guests. Like when he saw I had a small backpack when going out, he strongly advised me to put it in front of me and cross my arms on it.

And they were not very keen on helping. I asked for help to find info on a train because everything was in Bosnian language, the guy at the reception laughed asking me if I was really expecting him to call for me with his phone and pointed to me the guest dinosaury computer... of course in all the other hostels I've been to, people considered it as obvious to help you out in this kind of situation.

It's just worth putting 2 or 3 euros more and going to an other hostel.

Room Tip: haven't seen the rooms. The dormitory is in the attic, opened on the stairs. Some private room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tower House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower House

Address: Hadzisabanovica 15, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Sarajevo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel offers best price for budget hostel rooms in Sarajevo. We also have on-ground camping place for small and midsized tents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Tower House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.