We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent summer caffè spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europe Sarajevo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Europe Sarajevo to your Saves list
Hotel Europe Sarajevo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vladislava Skarica 5, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 59 Hotels in Sarajevo
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent summer caffè spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Aside of very good hotel accommodation, hotel has excellent summer café garden placed on top of archeological site... The main advantage of the café is that you can enjoy your coffee in a calm atmosphere and Ferhadija, the most vibrant street in sarajevo is just 20 meters away...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    123
    65
    24
    8
See reviews for
17
74
23
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

we have stayed in Sarajevo at Hotel Europe and enjoyed our stay. Hotel is located in very center of town, adjacent to Bas Carsija with all small shops, cuttleries and restaurants. Also the main musea are in direct surroundings. To see all by feet is absolutely possible.
Hotel is very clean, staff very friendly (especially with advice for sightseeing and restaurants), correct service and (still important - own secured garage). Breakfast is extend yet choice of bread is rather poor. For a coffee there is a choice of Nescaffe or filter coffee for local bosnian coffee there is additional charge (?).
Price is correct yet for the standard of Bosnia quite high !

Room Tip: chose room towards bas carsjija
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarsdale, ny
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Sarajevo is not a city overflowing with first rate hotels. The front desk was overwhelmed at check-in but proved to be quite helpful after I discovered that the air conditioning in my room didn't work. Eventually I was given a different room that was far superior to the one I vacated. The location in the center of the old city is fantastic. Everything worth seeing was minutes away on foot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Before the war this was THE hotel in Sarajevo, and it is still the place to go for a touch of European grandeur. Particularly in the ground floor Viennese Cafe or out the back in the Mozart patisserie where young children bring out the Charlie Chaplin in the waiters. Staying there is a slightly different story. Redecorated (rebuilt?) since the war the hotel is already wearing out. The decor is eccentric to the point of potential annoyance (zebra patterned timber panelling), the plumbing indifferent, the lighting inadequate and room facilities sometimes broken or missing (eg no iron, kettle). But despite that it is still worth the stay -- views, spacious rooms (if you ask) with sofas, chairs, desk, a kitchenette in some, location as central as it gets - next to the old bazaar, one block from "that" bridge and most of the older parts of Sarajevo a few minute's walk. It is a timely reminder that BiH is a poor struggling country with a barely functional government and this Hotel is not the only thing that doesn't work as well as they'd like. But BiH welcomes all the visitors it can get, it has lots to offer and Bosniaks are, in our experience, delightfully courteous, friendly and helpful people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Modern, clean hotel with Great service.

Pros:
Very good breakfast, large, quite room. Good, location in the city centre of Sarajevo, with walking distance to almost everything. Nice pool in the basement, and a large outdoor terrace/café. The hotel has very high western european standard.

Con: when we arriverad we first got wrong type of room, but we could easily change to a bigger room after complaining at the reception.

Can highly recommend staying at this hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
383 helpful votes 383 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Europe for 2 nights as part of an Insight Vacations Tour in June 2013.
Our room was huge, with a large sitting area with 2 sofas, and king size bed. However, the good ends there. We were only given one room key. There was no iron or ironing board, or clothing press. We went to put some items in the "safe" and found instructions for the safe, but no safe. When we inquired at the front desk about the safe, we were told that there was a problem with the safe and that it had been removed, and no they did not have a replacement safe for us, and no we could not change rooms, and no they do not have a safe at the front desk. Definitely not a 4 star or a 5 star hotel, but then there is more! Our room was on level 0, which meant it was below ground with our windows looking at the feet of people sitting at the cafe outside. Our room was cold (odd for June, but it was cold), after playing with the thermostat for a while and not being able to figure it out, we called the front desk for help. We were told that they turn the heat off in May and there is no way to turn it on in our room. When we decided to go to bed, we were surprised to find that the large king size bed only had 1 double size duvet on it under the bedspread! So we look in the closet and did find 1 extra single size duvet in there, so we used that. But the room was still cold, so we ended up piling the bathrobes on top of us too to keep us warm at night. Crazy! Then there is the shower...they have instructions next to it, which don't help. All I can say, is just keep trying and you'll figure it out eventually. The best part of this hotel is the location. It is within walking distance of many things you'll want to see. There is a bank, grocery store, and pharmacy all across the street from the hotel. Its about a 5-10 minute walk to find the tourist shopping area and many restaurants.
We had 1 buffet dinner and buffet breakfasts at this hotel compliments of our tour. Dinner was ok, but nothing special. Breakfast was interesting because half of the items out for breakfast were leftovers from dinner the night before!
If I had my choice, I don't think I would want to stay here again, but if the American tour groups that come through the city are staying here, then you know it must be one of the nicer available hotels...I can't imagine what the other hotels in this city must be like!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We selected this Hotel based on the Trip Advisor ratings. Too bad we did so before reading "Four Star masquerading..." That describes our experience quite accurately. We had been traveling throughout Slovenia and Croatia and Sarajevo was our next to last stop. The only thing I can say about the room is that it is large. It is also dark and dreary. Operating the shower requires an engineering degree and there is no way to avoid drenching the entire bathroom. Linens and towels leave much to be desired (the towels were in the closet, not the bathroom). The lighting is poor, the air-conditioning is miserly, the lobby chaotic and the service indifferent or incompetent - hard to tell which. I have NEVER been restricted to one plastic key card to be shared with my husband (we do sometimes separate!) or charged for failing to return the plastic key card. It was impossible to sit in the cafe/bar because of the cloud of smoke. The outside cafe was nicer but closed early. The only good thing about the hotel is that it is well situated. We had booked two nights as we were arriving in early evening after stops in Medjugorge and Mostar on our way from Dubrovnik. We decided to leave after one night, and reduced our tour of Sarajevo to that evening and the next morning. There may not be better options in Sarajevo, but at least if you go in with the idea that it is a three-star hotel, the disappointment is not so overwhelming.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Europe Sarajevo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europe Sarajevo

Address: Vladislava Skarica 5, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 59 Hotels in Sarajevo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Europe Sarajevo 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Europe Sarajevo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europe Sarajevo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.