We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, bad sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Safir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Safir to your Saves list
Hotel Safir
Jagodica br.3 | Bascarsija, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Sarajevo
Cary, NC
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff, bad sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

I really wanted to like this hotel, which is very well located steps from Pigeon Square, and has really excellent, friendly staff. But the most important function of a hotel is to provide a good night's sleep, and I had the worst nights here of anywhere on this trip (two months and counting) aside from Rila monastery.

There was a large expanse of uncovered frosted glass over the door, which let in light from the passage. It's true that I could, and did, turn off the light outside my room, but that didn't stop someone else turning it, or the ones on the floor below, back on. Then one night I was woken at five in the morning by loud voices from another room. True, they toned it down a bit after I complained, but I could still hear one man in particular. And as another poster noted, you can hear phones ring elsewhere in the hotel, meaning that there really is no sound-proofing. Add in a saggy mattress on the bed on the darker side ot the room, and awful pillows, and I just didn't get proper sleep.

The bathroom worked better, and was very clean, but seemed unnecessarily small, given the unused space in the bedroom. Lighting over the beds was excellent, but not so good over the desk, and there was only one, inconveniently located, power point. There was no view and no kitchenette.

The "storage unit" was bizarre. There were two open shelves at the bottom (with the phone and power point), then the TV, at thigh height, and then the closet, with the rail for clothes hangers way up at ceiling height. I think you were supposed to use the hanging rod to pull it out and down, but I found it simpler to stand on one of the two (armless) chairs. I had to use the other as a luggage rack.

The AC unit was mounted above the closet, pointing down. I don't know how well it would work, as it was disabled. (I was there at the end of October.) The radiator functioned for a couple of hours evening and morning, but not every day.

Breakfast was continental - no offer of eggs except the last day - and was fine aside from no yoghurt. The coffee was very good. Although breakfast wasn't supposed to start until 7:00, I was able to eat at 6:00 the day I left and the staff member on duty went out for fresh bread.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    32
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
30
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011 via mobile

A brand-new beautiful little hotel next door to Sarajevo's old town with secure parking in an elevator-operated parking garage next door.

Our room was wonderful with air-con, a small kitchen and some English TV.

The staff were very helpful and the breakfast included eggs cooked to order.

The hotel is somewhat difficult to find, ESPECIALLY since the one and only booking site for this hotel thru Trip Advisor has incorrect GPS co-ordinates (which are over 6 kms off base) - this is a significant error when you are trying to find the hotel when driving a car into Sarajevo.

The correct GPS co-ordinates for the Hotel Safir are N 43.86145 and E 18.43221

Note to Trip Advisor - I have tried to inform your booking site of this error but they have not responded.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Just back from a week's stay at this hotel and I'm really surprised it is only two-star, I've stayed in far worse four-star ones. The location is just metres away from the Old Town with all its attractions and tram stop.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the room rate of 82 Euros per night for a double INCLUDED breakfast, wifi internet use and a very good laundry service. Our room also included a kitchenette so we could've saved even more and cooked all our meals if we'd wanted to.

I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

This small hotel is situated in a very quiet back street close to the old town of Sarajevo. All the interesting sights are within an easy walk, some only 2 minutes away. We were given a most friendly welcome and even given a room upgrade, but we were not sure why we were upgraded! The room was a good size and well appointed in a modern style. The air-conditioning was effective (important as the temperature was up to 37C at times). We had a kettle and a mini kitchen though we did not do more than make tea there. The breakfast was fine though a bit limitted. There is no restaurant on the premises but many nearby - (we recommend "To be or not to be"). The staff were extremely helpful even giving us breakfast about 90 minutes early on one day when we wanted to catch an early train. I would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: Most rooms would be quiet and well furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

This is well-located for the Baščaršija area. The staff were really friendly. There was excellent coffee here and the breakfasts were good. The room was comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Stayed here for four nights in August with my family and had two rooms. The location is great - two minutes walk from old town and in a small, quiet alley which made for a peaceful nights sleep. The staff are super friendly and always smiling. The rooms were bright and clean and had everything that you could need - not especially luxurious but I didn't expect that at such a great price per night. The breakfast was good and plentiful. Would certainly recommend this hotel and Sarajevo itself is fascinating - make sure you go on a tour to the war tunnel and the surrounding hills - Sarajevo Funky Tours took us on a four hour tour and it was brilliant and excellent value - take a look at their website.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011 via mobile

Was thinking that the hotel would be a bit hard to find, but we were really lucky and accidentally found it.

Check in was easy and efficient, and the lady behind the desk was friendly.

Location: perfect for exploring the old town, but across the rd so not to busy and not in the ' new' part, so the neighbourhood still has some atmosphere.

Room: everything u could want. Even has an electric hob and sink so you could make ur own food (although when u can get pie so cheap in the old town, that tastes so good...??).beds are comfortable, place is clean. Cable telly with heaps of english channels.

Everything else: can't fault. Nice simple breakfast, friendly staff..all in all, glad we came to stay at hotel safir.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Safir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Safir

Address: Jagodica br.3 | Bascarsija, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Sarajevo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Safir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Safir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.