We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outside of center, but close enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Unica

Hotel Unica
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Unica to your Saves list
Hotel Unica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hamdije Kresevljakovica 42, Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 59 Hotels in Sarajevo
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outside of center, but close enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have been there twice now and both times we were happy with the service. Rooms are not big but good enough for a city hotel. Good bed sheets. Small parking available (if reserved). Breakfast area on the 4th floor is nicely designed. Location is great: not in the hustle and buzzle of the center (our second time was during the Sarajevo film week), but close enough. Just 5 min walk over the bridge to the national theater. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My company booked the hotel for me. It is very close to the bars and stores, and I felt safe, as a solo woman traveling, walking around, even at 2 AM. The room was okay, about 3 stars. Breakfast was typically, but glad t was included in the price. What really stood out was the customer service. Although the hotel maybe 3 stars, the staff are 5 stars. They were able to give me some recommendations to hang out and eat, although the directions were an adventure (could be because of me). However, I had an over night in Banja Luka (sp?) and thought I would have to completely check out. Nope, they were nice enough to let me keep my room and my things in it. So, all I had to do was bring an overnight bag. I would recommend this hotels to my coworkers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We booked a room at the Hotel Unica after finding that the rooms at the hotel we originally planned to stay in smelled totally smoky. This was not the case at Hotel Unica, although there is a smell of smoke in the hallways (so many people there smoke!). All of the people at reception were very friendly and helpful, and the rooms and common areas were nice and clean. Our room faced an alleyway and was very quiet. Breakfast included a wide variety of good options, and great coffee. Plus, this hotel is centrally located. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

A simple hotel, very close (some 500 m) to e.g. the Delegation of European Union or the German embassy. Very nice service, staff always ready to help with smile. The rooms are clean but basic. Do not expect any fancy shampoos, hair conditioners or other body milks. No stationary either, even not a ball pen. The breakfast is very simple. 15 minutes walk to the historical centre. If you can get a corporate rate or other best rate in the Europa Hotel, the latter may be a better solution, more centrally located and with "full service".

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
599 helpful votes 599 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

This is a smart, clean and central hotel. I have stayed there several times and have enjoyed each stay. The staff are friendly, helpful and coped well with my colleague's humour.

I am surprised by some of the criticisms on this site. I am not overly-slim but still managed to cope with the Bosnian sized shower. I have had better breakfasts but not in Bosnia. I would recommend the narrow-minded to watch Al Jazeera on the hotel satellite TV - it is an international news channel and it may well broaden narrow minds.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

Stayed with wife for a 3 nights in the end of September 2008 on the 1. floor toward parking. Almost new, very nice, clean and quite hotel in a center of Sarajevo with very friendly staff. Room little bit small and limitied breakfast. Everything is a just enough.
Have been other places and think a little bit expensive for a value but so long that is same price for the most of the others as well.
At the end, had nice staying, not regreting and will probably choose the same one again.

  • Liked — cleanliness, location, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Breakfast, price
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

I was a bit skeptical about this place, since I couldn't find any online reviews about it (it's brand new from what I can tell), but the website looked pretty good and I was recommended to stay here by the people who had invited me to Sarajevo in the first place.

My first impressions were that it was quite small. The rooms especially are very compact, although decorated very tastefully (minimalist certainly applies).

If you're even slightly overweight or even over-sized, you can forget being able to use the showers at all, since they are clearly designed for skinny people. I can barely manage and I am pretty skinny by anyone's definition of the word.

The breakfast is simple although adequate. I had to go to the supermarket on the corner to pick up low-fat yoghurt and milk, but the coffee and other pickings are not bad. I don't think you'd get an omelet if you asked for it though.

The management of the hotel (that is to say the guys behind the reception desk), are friendly enough, although they seem to be a but amateurish when it comes to such things as getting more than one laundry form delivered to your room at once (which means you have to ask each time).

Laundry seems a bit slow, i.e. you can forget same-day service, but they do promise 24-hour service for both laundry and dry-cleaning.

The rooms are well air-conditioned, although the air-con only seems to have one speed (full blast), so you have to choose whether you want to freeze or simmer, and there's not much in between.

One real advantage to this hotel is the free high-speed internet in the rooms and the free wireless up on the fourth-floor lounge area.

CNN seems to be the only international news channel available so, as usual you get the same three stories over and over again throughout any one news cycle. But the hotel also shows Al Jazeera, so you can tune in to that to see footage of western hostages being decapitated.

The hotel's location seems to be quite good, considering one is in walking distance of most government offices and the main pedestrian retail thoroughfare.

The hotel doesn't have any gym or pool or other such amenities, but is within ten-minutes walking distance of a pretty OK gym called FIS, which allows you to use it on a casual (walk-in) basis for the equivalent of about EUR 2.5. each time (not bad when you consider Fitness First will charge about USD 30 to 35 for the same privilege).

All in all, not a bad place, but at EUR 80 per night, which right now is worth almost USD 130, for which price I can get a really nice room at the Grand Hyatt in Jakarta (now that's a nice hotel), the value for money is questionable.

In short I would say this place is fine for a brief (3-day max) stay for someone here on government business. Otherwise, the Holiday Inn might be a better bet.

  • Liked — The free high-speed internet
  • Disliked — Slow laundry service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Unica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unica

Address: Hamdije Kresevljakovica 42, Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 59 Hotels in Sarajevo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Unica 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Unica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Unica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.