We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, average room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hayat

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hayat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Hayat
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Abdesthana 27, Sarajevo 71 000, Bosnia and Herzegovina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 51 hotels in Sarajevo
Gilbert, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good location, average room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were booked onto the Hotel Hayat as part of a package tour. Location was only a 5 minute walk from the main attractions in the old city.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful, and the common areas were generally neat and clean, although some touch-up painting would improve the overall appearance. Wifi reception was strong in most areas of the hotel. The breakfast was simple, but adequate; however, the coffee was quite weak and we ended up ordering cappuccinos instead.

Ours was a corner room (603) on the second floor. It was an odd-shaped room, sort of triangular, and it contained a double bed that was comfortable enugh and a single that we had to use as a place for our bags. There was a large wardrobe with only a few hangers, small tv with English channels, no aircon or ceiling fans. Again, some paint would be in order to improve the appearance. Bed comforters seemed clean, but with a few set in stains.

The bathroom was tiny and poorly illuminated. There was a crack in the sink which allowed water to spill onto the floor, the shower did not drain well and also had a good deal of mildew around the base. The 1970's era, white towels were threadbare and torn on edges.

Since the hotel was fully booked and we were with a small group we did not press for a different room. Although this was not the nicest hotel we've stayed in, it was far from the worst. Overall, it was an OK place in a convenient location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    24
    30
    19
    21
See reviews for
8
30
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel is located on the hill above Baščaršija the old town of Sarajevo. There is about a 3 to 4 minute walk to Baščaršija. The rooms are small but very clean. The people on the reception were very nice. The car parking is on the street by the hotel so you must leave the car keys on the reception ift hey need to relocate the car. The prices are are pretty good so I can only recommend the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I was in Hayat, sounds like Hyatt but its not :-)
the rooms were clean, bit small but newly refurbished, beds comfortable really ok for sleeping. dissapointing was i had to wait 20 mins for a warm water in bathroom. Hope it was a coincidence.
the best thing is the location of hotel, just few steps from Bascarsija, famous street in Sarajevo.
Lookin at all, very fair price and nice service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Right now they offer their rooms at 25 euros for a single person (but it's a double room). The room is excellent, with cable TV incl TV5, Eurosport, CNN. The breakfast is simple. It is a better price than all the other places in the area, some of them refuse to let their rooms as a single.
Excellent location near the old town. Also an Internat computer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

the hotel is well located, just 200 meter from the old city
it can be a good choice for only one night stop.
breakfast is of poor quality
you have to leave your passport as warranty as the car key (carpark is on the street)
it's located just behind a mosquee so it's perfect for early bird (as you will be awake by the Muezzin call) but it's part of the city spirit.
Wall are very thin and you can ear everyhing of what happens in the hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We spent one night at this hotel. It was a short (3 minute?) walk up the hill from all the stores and restaurants in the downtown touristic/historic area.

The hotel itself was very clean with modern ikea-like furnishings. If I recall properly, the room was a little warm (we were there late august) and I dont think we had AC so we cracked the porch door open to get fresh air. That did the trick, but we got some street noise as a result.

While the location is very good for tourists, we had a little trouble finding the hotel when we drove in at night - we had a GPS system but it didnt work for this location, so we drove up the wrong street and got a little lost, but eventually found the hotel, which is tucked away down a small alley. The parking is across the road and convenient enough.

Overall, it was a clean, modern hotel with a good loation for a relatively cheap cost (we paid just 50 euros a night) and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I have been here with my girlfriend for two nights in the room No. 107. The room is small, nothing luxurious, however clean and solid one. If you seek for a nice cheap accommodation which is at 150m up to the hil from Bascarsija (center of old city), then I can say that you can find it very comfortable. Breakfast is included, until 10 o'clock in the morning, nothing special but good enough. Check out is until 10:30. The hotel has their parking lot with camera's so you don't have to worry if you are coming.by car. Also, there is no need to drive a car, because you can explore the city going on foot.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Hayat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hayat

Address: Abdesthana 27, Sarajevo 71 000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 51 hotels in Sarajevo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hayat 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hayat is a modern 4 stars hotel located at 27 Abdesthana Street. In less than a couple of minutes easy walk you arrive in the most attractive part of the city-Bascarsija. Hotel has 110 beds -43 rooms and 3 suites fully equipped with the newest and highest standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Hayat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayat Hotel Sarajevo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hayat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.