We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Kirova str., Minsk 220030, Belarus   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 36 hotels in Minsk
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

I had to travel to Minsk at the very short notice in December, and found this hotel via the Internet. I was pleasantly surprised how good the hotel is - well renovated, clean and modern. I was especially impressed with the staff who was very friendly and helpful. The bellboy even walked to the railway station to get train tickets to me, which was very welcome considering it was -20 outside. The location is good - at the city centre and close to the railway station. Very good experience indeed.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    79
    27
    11
    7
See reviews for
8
21
22
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

I stopped staying at the Hotel Victoria because I grew tired of the prostitutes in the lobby. This time, I tried the Crowne Plaza, and I have been very pleased. The property is clean, the rooms are very nice, and I even had a plate of fresh fruit waiting for me in the room. Aside from annoying loud rap music in the lobby bar (this is Eastern Europe after all) I found this place to be MUCH better than Hotel Victoria. I'll definitely stay here again when I come back to Minsk.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

While the hotel was clean and in a good location serving good breakfasts & desserts, their bathrooms in particular room 316 that this hotel claimed to being adapted for the disabled is dangerous. Their description of this room being adapted on their website is totally misleading. The marble flooring, which is slippery when wet, the lack of handrails, poor lighting, no non slip mats, and an inadequate walk-in shower flooding the whole floor - luckily I did not bash my head open but instead fell on my side it was a horrible shock. The management of this hotel found my fall amusing which is simply disgusting, did not take the matter seriously, and thought that by offering me a 20% refund on my next stay was an acceptable response. Shame on you, Crowne Plaza Minsk, I would never stay there again and would urge anyone with disabilities (and even those without) not to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

I would like to start this review by saying that we didn’t actually stay in Crowne Plaza hotel but we did use one of their facilities and that’s what happened. During our recent trip to Minsk we were celebrating our fifth wedding anniversary and after a great meal in the restaurant we decided to continue our night in one of the night clubs. As it was a Friday night the choice of venues wasn’t great and one of my friends suggested Next nightclub that belongs to Crowne Plaza Hotel and as it was very conveniently located next to the restaurant, we decided to check it out. Six of us: my husband, myself, my brother and three of my girlfriends, all in the late twenties-early thirties, very well dressed and well behaved entered the establishment at around midnight. This nightclub is very new and none of us has been in it before, so the first thing we’ve asked if it was possible for one person to have a quick look inside just to observe what type of clientele this nightclub had and what type of music DJ was playing. We were refused in that request and were told that if one person wants to come up there is no problem but only after buying a ticket. For the establishment that promotes and positions itself as a high end entertainment venue in Minsk, especially being so new, I don’t think it is an acceptable attitude towards customers. So I decided to buy a ticket and to have a quick look inside. I did like the atmosphere of the club and came back to my friends with the intentions of all of us buying tickets and going inside and enjoying the celebration of our anniversary. But before getting in we had to pass a “face control” – a guy, without name badge and who refused to give us his name, looked at my husband and said that unfortunately he can’t come into the nightclub as he doesn’t satisfy the appearance policy of the club. I was in shock to hear this as all of us were very well dressed and if you saw the attire of some of the girls passing by- you would understand why I was furious. What made me even madder was the actual look that the “face control” guy gave to my husband, it was so humiliating. My husband and I are well travelled people and were never refused admission anywhere around the world. As my husband doesn’t speak Russian I asked to speak to the manager; administrator (supervisor) Victoria Chernaia came down to speak to us (very negative experience, even after her apologies for misunderstanding and inviting us all into the club). I won’t go into any more details but I felt so ashamed for the country I was born in. Only few months ago we stayed in the hotel Europe and had such a great experience, the service was so amazing that it was more like staying somewhere in Europe and that time I said to myself- WOW, Belarus is becoming so much more civilised but this time all my illusions about customer service getting into European level felt apart. Until the likes of Victoria and a “face control” guy are employed in the hospitality sector- Belarus tourism industry has no future. Personally I felt like back into USSR rather than welcome to E.U.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

I'm a great fan of Priority Club PointBreaks, so a four night trip to Minsk was too good a deal to resist. Our room was superb, very comfortable, warm, super bathroom with seperate tub and shower. A flat screen TV had channels from most of Europe, one odd thing was all light switches were master switches - even the bedside switches turned everything on and off.

January was probably not the best month to visit Minsk, when temperatures can reach -15, but we loved every minute. The restaurants are super and very varied in style, though sometimes difficult to find. There are very few tourists - especially in January - but everybody made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

Crowne Plaza has done an excellent job training its staff as everyone seemed to be genuinely interested in whether my stay was okay. The front desk and concierge speak English extremely well or got someone right away to assist if need be. The cleaners were pleasant as well, as were the waitresses and cook in the restaurant. Sounds strange to be commenting on all this but friendliness can be hard to find in ex-communist countries. Rooms are very large and comfortable; the complimentary wireless still has a few bugs in it at times; and everything was very clean. The only complaint is one that can be attributed to most Crowne Plazas and that is poor lighting. This place will be the place to stay at once the gym and pool are completed this spring. I'll be back.

  • Liked — Attentiveness of staff
  • Disliked — Poor lighting and wireless cutting out
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2008

I stayed in the Crowne Plaza Minsk in December 2008. The hotel has been recently revovated and was really nice. I would recommend this to friends.

As usual, the good, the ok, and the bad.

The Good
- Hotel room was really nice. It was quite large and well furnished. I was not bothered by any external noises, so the walls appeared to be sound proofish (don't know for sure.)
- Clean. The bathroom, bedroom and the entire hotel was very clean. The staff did a nice job.
- Bathroom heated floors. Always a nice touch and well appreciated.
- In room safe. Large enough to store laptop.
- Pillow selection. There were multiple type of pillows available. Thank you Crowne Plaze.
- The room furnishings, again new, but very nice and comfortable. I could work and relax with ease in the room.
Location. Appeared to be in the heart of the city, although the restaurants we patroned were a drive away. In short, I do not know if there are solid local restaurants you can walk to. Likely - but I do not know.

The OK
- Breakfast. The offerings were decent and the service was good.

The Bad
- I scheduled a wake-up call that never occurred. While I had a back-up alarm, there is absolutely no reason to miss a wake-up call. It could have been caused by my fast-paced English, but the receptionist repeated it back to me........
- Payment options. American Express is not accepted, nor are Euros. So, bring your Visa, local currency or USD. I do give the Crowne credit for posting that they do not accept Amex on their website - I.e., the reason I brought Euros. Oh well, will know for next time!

So, overall the room comfortabliness was quite good. Even with the wake-up and payment issues, I would stay there again.

Enjoy Minsk.

  • Liked — Room comfort
  • Disliked — Front desk missing my wake-up call.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel

Address: 13 Kirova str., Minsk 220030, Belarus
Phone Number:
Location: Belarus > Minsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Minsk
#1 Luxury Hotel in Minsk
#2 Business Hotel in Minsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Minsk is a comfortable and elegant hotel for your relaxing, productive, successful trip. Hotel is famous for it's attentive tailor-made service, extensive meeting facilities, surpemely comfortable rooms, equipped with everything you may need for an effective work and pleasant rest. All registered guests are welcome to use free wireless high-speed Internet available throughout the hotel and complimentary access to indoor swimming pool and gym. Hotel Executive Club floor guests can enjoy enhanced services of our Executive Club Lounge. Hotel is perferctly situated at the heart of the city, minutes from the Independence square. Minsk International Airport is just 40 minutes by taxi and you're steps from Minsk Central railway station. Our Empire Restaurant with its fantastic view of the city provides an experience of excellent open buffet breakfasts. All the riches and varieties of magnificent Italian cuisine can be found in our fine dining restaurant"Dolce Vita". You can enjoy a cup of premium coffee, a light snack of a delicious meal in a pleasant and cozy atmosphere of the Lobby bar. We also invite you to find harmony and beauty with our Princess Spa center treatments where relaxing bouquets, natural formulas and ingredients will make you feel restored and full of energy. All registered guests are welcome to use free access to swimming pool complete with whirlpool guns, saunas and jacuzzi, as well as magnificently equipped gym. Don't miss wonderful opportunity to access the adjoining casino from Crowne Plaza Minsk's Lobby for sophisticated fun or shake off the day by dancing to live music at our stylish Next night club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Minsk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.