We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent traditional restaurant inside the Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bujtina e Gjelit

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bujtina e Gjelit to your Saves list
Bujtina e Gjelit
Rr Don Bosco, Tirana 001, Albania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Tirana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent traditional restaurant inside the Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is an amazing Hotel- not luxurius-a converted chicken farm,looking so different....
The owners proudly grow their own vegetable while the meat prepared on an open fire place over charcoal is simply amazing.We had the best tasting bisteca Fiorentina,a freshly made spinach pie and an amazing bottle of red Riserva wine by Kallmet.
This dinner at 25 euros per person was not cheap but the wine alone cost 18 euros and it was divine. Worth every penny!

Room Tip: I would go for the restaurant rather than the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worldwide Traveler :)
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Whenever Im in Tirana, I'm at Gjeli's (The Roosters Inn), it is simply amazing - very nice staff, great mixture of luxury and traditional albanian style and the food,... ah the food... Best best best...

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I spend a lot of time in Albania for both business and pleasure, I only wish I would have found this hotel on my first trip. Bujtina e Gjelit is the perfect mix if you are looking at balancing luxury with a splash of Albanian tradition and culture. This is a family hotel built by hand with every little detail considered creating a unique feel throughout. The rooms are beautiful with huge comfy beds and mini balconies. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming and the food is exquisite, all locally sourced or grown on the hotels private farm. Walking around the hotel you will find a number of surprises including a range of animals and even tortoises ambling past as you have breakfast. You really would not think you are in the centre of a big city. Cannot recommend enough!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here for the last days of my 14-day Albanian tour and this was definitively the most compliant to western Europe standards. The hotel itself is a charming Ottoman style house with a high quality restaurant and swimming pool. The Rr Don Bosco is a lively small street with lots of shops and small markets, cafes and fast food. The hotel is a bit hard to detect from the street, because of the brick wall surrounding it but it also gives it good cover from the street noise.

Rooms are cleaned daily and they are quite large and beds are good. The bathrooms are of good size too and they have a tub and a shower, which worked ok. Like in most of the places the TV didn't actually work very well and the channel palette didn't really offer anything, but TV is usually irrelevant. You can hear some noise from the inner yard in the evenings, especially if there are some performers at the restaurant. But it lasts only until midnight at most. The free WiFi didn't work very well in the room but was good by the pool side.

The pool is quite small, but deep enough and with a kind of children's side. It was cleaned daily. Overall the place was tidy. A curious addition to the place were the ducks and chickens in their pen on the small front yard and the tortoises by the pool. The building was in good condition, but especially the small front yard the facade could use some touching up.

The price range was well below western Europe but more expensive than many hotels in Tirana. The restaurant was surprisingly good, but a bit expensive. The live folk music at the restaurant on some evenings was nice, though it could be a bit annoying if have an early morning the next day. This is a quality hotel with very good service, surroundings and location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had a wonderful trip to Tirana. The hotel was attentive and very friendly. Great atmosphere, great food, great help
Can find security recommend this hotel to others. Yours is one of the "crazy" Norwegian supporters

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gjeli, Manager at Bujtina e Gjelit, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for the nice time we spent together and the awesome review.We are looking forward to see you "crazy norvegians" again!Best wishes,have a wonderful time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

A great hotel. I stayed here for a weekend with wife and friends. Been visiting Tirana very often and know it's noise, but at Bujtina e Gjelit you don't have the feeling you are in Tirana, it's more like you are somewhere in Theth or Valbona, it is so quite and relaxing.
The staff was very lovely, very nice and polite, they were as courteous as the owners. The food, rakia and wine are incredible tasty and delicious. It is a very clean and neat place. Free wi-fi, very clean Pool.
I would recommend this place to y'all planning to visit the most lovely and welcoming country/nation on Earth, ALBANIA.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel. I stayed here for about a week, the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is relaxing despite being in the middle of the city. The food was one of the best parts of the stay. There is always something delicious available and everything is made in house. They even have gardens across the street where they grow many of the veggies and greens that you eat in the restaurant. It is pretty close to the center of town so there are quite a few things walkable in the area, just be careful crossing the streets. Albanian drivers are...very brave.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bujtina e Gjelit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bujtina e Gjelit

Address: Rr Don Bosco, Tirana 001, Albania
Location: Albania > Tirana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Tirana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bujtina e Gjelit, envisioned and constructed in 1994 by a family with strong connections to the Albanian art and traditional values. Shingled roof, iron, stone and wood works in fine details created in an artisanal manner by the Albanian masters. Folkloric suits and traditional home interiors make all even more special. For many years, we have tried to faithfully transmit to our costumers, the architectonic and culinary values of the Albanian and Balkan tradition.Gjeli restaurant (outdoors/indoors)Taste the Albanian cuisine. Rotisserie piglet, Oven lamb, ember cooked sausage, traditional baked pie, are some of our chef’s original specialties. Our traditional way of cooking by the oven brick and the warm familiar feel would not escape your senses. We follow rigorously our guests’ needs and tastes, always trying to outdo ourselves on perfection and quality of serving. Gjeli hotelA characteristic construction with shingled roofs on stonewalls, balconies and wooden stairs, narrow corridors and room interiors designed by perfectly combining the old with the modern, take you on a journey of hundreds of years back in time. It includes a total of 18 rooms and 1 residential suite. The rooms include: Satellite TV, Wireless Internet, private bathroom, minibar, blow-dryer, alarm system and, of course, room service.Conference room with a capacity of 80 people offers Audio/Video system and Internet service.Outdoors pool (free for our clients)Parking (free for our clients)Gjeli Farm:Gjeli’s Farm is located near the Dajt Mountain, 24km from the city of Tirana. The farm is built near a small lake, in the middle of wilderness and clean air. It provides ideal conditions for planting and cultivation of all our produce we use in our restaurant. Everything on your plate is biological/organic, without any artificial compounds. Seasonal activities, such as hiking, barbeque, fruit picking, are organized accordingly.Hotel Restaurant Bujtina e Gjelit is located between the Airport “Nene Tereza” and the city center, 15mins from the airport and 5mins from the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Bujtina e Gjelit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bujtina e Gjelit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.